We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Hockey Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Sheraton.com
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #74 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weekend Hockey Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon looking for hotels close to the Tampa Bay Times Forum this one hit the list high being on the river and walking distance. Check in was smooth and everyone was very friendly. Valet service were professional and careful with my vehicle which sits very low. The room was nice and surprisingly quiet even though we were right by the elevator. Ended up with the city view which provided endless entertainment watching all the traffic infractions and interesting people moseying along in the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello Brandon M.,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent weekend hockey trip. We are just 7 blocks from the Tampa Bay Times Forum and are a convenient option for anyone traveling into Tampa to attend events, hockey or otherwise, at this venue. We're delighted to hear that your check-in went smoothly, that you found our staff to be friendly, and our valet team to be professional. We're also glad to hear that you thought your accommodations were nice and quiet. We hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    181
    121
    78
    45
See reviews for
106
136
59
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a girls trip with a close friend for a night out in Ybor City. They were so nice when we checked in and upgraded our room to a river view for my birthday. Excellent customer service!! The only thing that kept this review from being excellent was that the rooms needed a bit of an upgrade. Still very nice but slightly old. The pool was very nice with a river view. We enjoyed our stay very much, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Rae443,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent girls night out in historic Ybor City. We hope you had a blast! We're delighted to hear that our staff recognized that it was your birthday and was able to provide you with an upgraded riverview room to make your experience even more special. We appreciate you recognizing the excellent customer service that our team members provided you and your guests with and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. As you may be aware, we are currently undergoing some renovations to enhance our guest rooms, event space, and public space. This project is expected to be completed in December. We invite you to return once everything is completed to experience the refreshed Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Pros: The hotel staff were friendly. The valet parking guys and bell staff were excellent. The location was convenient and the price was very reasonable. With aaa, valet parking (required) was comped.

As an Spg Platinum, received Complimentary breakfast at the restaurant.

The negatives are:
The hotel is very tired and worn with the rooms being in desperate need for repair. They are in the process of renovating the property and I'm sure when it's done things will be different but for now the rooms need help.

Another issue I had was: as a spg platinum, I was told upgrade to suite or junior suite was not available even though both were available on spg's site at time of checkin which is supposed to be one of the big perks....

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Greetings Room4Travel,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and the convenience of our location. As you alluded to, we are currently refreshing our guest rooms to address their conditions as well as redesigning our lobby and restaurant. This project is scheduled for completion in December. We are confident you will be very pleased with the results. We truly apologize that you did not receive your upgrade to a junior suite upon check-in and for the confusion with the SPG site’s availability. We only have a finite amount of upgrades and with the number of SPG Platinum guests that stay with us, it’s sometimes difficult to assure everyone receives and upgrade. We truly hope you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It's hard to say this is a three/average. So many things were great about this hotel - the service, the bar, the restaurant, the location. But the rooms - which is really why we go to a hotel - were so tired and in a big time need of a face lift. The sheets were not put on the bed well and so they popped off each night (and I don't roll around much). The carpet frayed. The air conditioning unit did not work well. The furniture all nicked and scuffed. The paint very old - with odd things painted over and then painted over again (like door hinges, etc).

Room Tip: I didn't request it, but I had a river facing room with a balcony. That's definitely the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello catmc1066,

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking a moment to post a review about your stay. We appreciate you recognizing our ideal location in downtown Tampa and the great service you received in our Ashley Street Grille & Lounge. We are happy to share that we have begun a multi-million dollar beautification project that will address the conditions of our guest rooms as well as provide our guests with a fresh, redesigned lobby and restaurant. This project is scheduled for completion in December. We hope you’ll return at the conclusion of the project and that you’ll compare that stay with this one. We’re confident you’ll be able to rate your experience significantly higher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The beauty of this hotel is by far the staff. This visit was highlighted by the front desk...Jennifer is such an asset. She welcomes us like family each time we walk through the lobby. She does treat everyone this way, but it really is special to us. I spent 27 nights at the hotel a year ago while my husband received a lung transplant. We became a family, and everyone from valet, bartenders, wait staff, room service staff all welcome us. I am excited that the hotel is getting a face lift so everyone can experience a positive visit. Perfect location for anything you want to do in Tampa. We are looking forward to our next visit in December!

Room Tip: Riverfront, third floor or higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Greetings KarinB445,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your extended visit last year and for recognizing the wonderful customer service that you received from our staff, particularly Jennifer. We truly hope that your husband is doing well after his surgery and look forward to welcoming you and him back to the refreshed Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The service was excellent. We were greeted by the valet and bellhops who unloaded our luggage and took care of our car. At the front desk we were greeted promptly and had our room key within 1-2 minutes. However once we got to our room we were a little disappointed. The headboard had areas where the leather was flaking off. The love seat was scratchy with what looked like old dog hair on it. I had to place a towel on the seat to make it comfortable. However the pool area was very nice. Also when we realized we had left a pair of shoes in the car, the bellhop/valet got them out of the car and brought them to the room. Whenever we needed it, they hailed a cab or provided transportation with the hotel shuttle. They are in the process of renovating the outside of the building and then will start on the inside. Once the inside is redone we will stay there again.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with the riverview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello MaryCorene,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We're delighted to hear about your romantic night out in downtown Tampa. We appreciate you recognizing the excellent service that our team members provided you. As you alluded to, we are in fact under renovations that will address not only our guest rooms but also redesign our lobby, restaurant, and public spaces. This project is scheduled for completion in December. We look forward to welcoming you back then and hope that we can make every aspect of your stay enjoyable then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a fantastic view of the river and the University. They are in the process of some cosmetic renovation - - - which should look great after finished. I agree that the furniture in the room looks a little worn and do not understand how a decorator could cover the wall with the sliding door out to the balcony with a very very dark brown drapery - - which tends to make the room look smaller. I thought the room was larger than most rooms in other Sheraton Hotels. The beds were comfortable and so was the balcony. It was a great place to watch the boats and rowing-teams going by doing their 'thing'. I think their food was very good and the prices reasonable for a Hotel. The bartender made a great martini and the 'price-was-right'. They will give you a shuttle ride to other restaurants if they are within 3-miles (of which we did not use). I will return to this hotel without any hesitation. Looking forward to the renovation when it is finished.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river-view room with a balcony. Once they gave us a room on the city side witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello billanddoyle,
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. As you alluded to, we have begun a beautification project that will address the furnishings in all our guest rooms, including the dark brown drapery you described. We’re pleased you enjoyed the views of the Hillsborough River and the University of Tampa, and the rowing teams from the balcony of your guest room. We are glad you will return without hesitation and look forward to welcoming you back to experience the refreshed Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa
Address: 200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
#74 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.