We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #71 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The employees in every area of this Hotel were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. From the valets, front desk, wait staff, housekeeping, room service and even engineering! I would especially like to mention Sheila in Housekeeping. She went above and beyond to make our stay more comfortable. She spent a few minutes every morning checking in with my elderly mother to make sure she had everything she needed. Thanks for everything and we will definitely be back to stay.

Room Tip: Riverside and request a balcony room
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle buckets in rooms and energy light bulbs. Can reuse towels etc.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Cod172! Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property. We are pleased to hear that every encounter with our team was a positive and memorable one, especially with our very own Sheila from Housekeeping, whom by the way is our Employee of the Year! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    221
    132
    87
    55
See reviews for
126
159
61
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for 2 nights before a cruise. The hotel was clean and comfortable and we had a room overlooking the river where we enjoyed watching the students with their boats. We ate all our meals at the hotel and were quite happy with the restaurant there. However - after our stay we had a serious problem.
When we checked in - our room had been paid in advance. My husband was asked to give his charge card in case of incidental expenses - which is normal. What happened next was not normal.
His card was scanned and the receptionist stated his card was not working. Since he had used it without problem 15 minutes previously this raised a question in my mind. He immediately pulled out his back up Visa and after he had done this was told - oh no- your card is working properly now. He put his back up card back in his wallet.
We were alerted to a scam going on in the USA before we travelled there - about cards and passports with reader technology being scanned by crooks. To prevent this happening we had purchased covers to protect our cards and passports. The charge card we were actually using to pay for things at the Sheraton was not interfered with - however the back up card had been scanned there when my husband brought it out.
That is a nice little racket - as most people keep a close eye on their regular charge card but not necessarily on a back up card that they do not use.
We were off on a trans-Atlantic cruise and as internet is by satellite and not good usually in mid-Atlantic - it was well over a week before we bothered to look at our bank and charge card information on our computer.
We found to our shock that almost $1000 had been run up on my husband's back-up card starting on the day we left the hotel and boarded the ship. These were items billed in Tampa and other locations in Florida.
We contacted Visa from the ship and told them what was going on. That card was cancelled immediately and the charges have been reversed. All the companies that had billed will now find their payments cancelled and I sincerely hope that they lay charges against the people who were committing the thefts - as that is exactly what it was - theft.
I feel sure the Sheraton Hotel management is not encouraging this sort of activity but be aware that it is going on in that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello Stephanie! We appreciate you taking the time to submit your concerns about your past stay with us. We are sadden to hear about your card number being compromised but can assure you that our team had no part in what is being alleged. Please note, we perform full background checks and that our entire front office team have been with us for quite some time with none of such events occurring before. Once again, thanks for your concern and if you'd like to speak further please feel free to email me at crivera@sheratonriverwalk.com. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The door/valet staff were very friendly and inviting and the lobby is very inviting. We were given a room on the 4th floor. The room was clean and had a warm decor. The bathroom was tiny and the shower head was poop. The main problem was that the window overlooking the street wasn't noise proof AT ALL. We could hear every car that went by, people talking on the street, etc. The ice machine was across the hall and we heard it every time someone used it and it refilled. One night there was a guy in the hall having a screaming match and then he kicked down the door to what he thought was his room. The restaurant downstairs we visited twice. Once for breakfast and it was expensive, but good. We went back for dinner and were ignored by the staff as we waited to be seated and they talked to their friends. To top it off, its a mile or so to the restaurants and shopping in the area. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: river view only and far away from the ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Greetings Guest! Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear that our valet and bellstaff were great throughout your stay. They're a great group of guys and we love having them on our team. It's also great to hear that your room was clean and inviting....just as you would expect with the Sheraton Brand. In regards to your visit to our restaurant, please be assured that we have passed this along to our Restaurant Manager to further look into. Please know this is not the norm in our customer service delivery and hate to hear you felt that way. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see both your wife and yourself again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days on business and found it very hospitable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and whilst my room could have done with a bit of cosmetic attention it was clean and relatively generous. Draw backs were the lack of fridge in the room and the numerous times I found my door key didn't work, necessitating 3 trips back to reception. If you can, get a room overlooking the river, on the other side is a far from attractive car park... Good to see a place with a variable charge for breakfast, it was about $10 for continental, $12 for the hot buffet and (I presume) a higher charge for eggs to order.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Charles! First and foremost, we appreciate the time you've taken to submit a review on our hotel. Most importantly, we also appreciate you staying with us for 10 days straight. It's great to hear that during your week and a half stay with us that you were able to enjoy not only our staff but the view from your riverside balcony room. As you mentioned, our restaurant (Ashley Street Grille) offers a vast variety of options for not only breakfast but for lunch and dinner. In regards to your feedback with the room's condition, we are pleased to share with you that we are approaching a huge renovation that will touch our rooms in particular. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Sheraton. Although the hotel is older, much of it has been kept up to date. The rooms are excellent size and have a sitting area to relax. Beds are good with plenty of linens and pillows. Three complimentary bottled waters are an excellent touch. Room & bathroom were clean.

We had a room facing the Hillsborough River and University of Tampa, which is highly recommended. Their is a balcony with several chairs and sidewalls provide excellent privacy. Below, the boaters and rowers; along with various wildlife, including a dolphin (never knew they came up the river!), were a pleasure to enjoy.

Complementary morning breakfast was excellent with a full spread including grits, several kinds of eggs, sausage, oatmeal, pineapple, melons, yogurt, muffins and skones. Try to get a table next to the window overlooking the river, or they even have a few outside if the weather is nice.

Only major complaint is the parking situation. There are only two real options. Allow the valet to park your car onsite for $10 per day (plus tip); or park your car on the streets of Tampa and feed the meter. You would think that people that stay at the hotel wouldn't have to pay for parking and they would build this into the price of the stay. I also don't like other people driving my car, so I risked parking it on the street. A third option would be another parking garage, but I chose the cheaper meter option. Meters are free on the weekend from 10 PM to noon or 1 PM, so it cost < $2. You can also 'refil' the meter from your cell phone if don't want to go back to the car.

We rode the trolley into Ybor City ($5/person for entire day/night) and that is only two blocks away. Trolleys are always fun.

I would recomend this hotel; especially if you need a place to stay in the downtown Tampa area.

Room Tip: If you have some time to enjoy your room, get one facing the river, even if it costs you a bit extra...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Gatorzman! We appreciate your feedback regarding your past stay. It's great to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay and most importantly your room and our Sweet Sleeper Bed. In regards to your concern regarding valet, as you mentioned there are other options close by for parking your vehicle. Although the hotel charges a fee for valet, please be assured that we are actually priced lower than the other hotels in Downtown Tampa. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Not great but has some positives. I am Gold and you would not know it as they did not upgrade me and I was put in a regular room that was noisy and tired. The ceiling was a total mess and had been patched several times and not that great. Huge crack exposed along the entire wall. The carpet was totally dirty. Doors slammed and made a ton of noise. The lobby has a serious synthetic smell as they seem to be covering something up. Parking staff was nice and efficient. Front desk not all that great just average. Location was good if you want to walk around down town. We stayed for two nights as we were in town for the parathyroid center so it was very convient for that. We did get a room on the water which was nice. Rooms are tired and need better drywall repairs. The shower was nice with lots of water pressure and the in room coffee was a nice starbucks brand and easy to use. The furniture was okay but headboard totally worn on the places where people prop their heads as the paint or leather was rubbed off. The ihome did not work. Not the best option and disappointed in the lack of being treated as I should being a SPG gold member.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Todd! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel based on your past stay with us. We are sadden to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that you were not at all pleased with your stay. Please know that the condition of your room is not the norm and most importantly, that we are approaching a huge renovation that will touch many of the areas you mentioned. I would also like to speak to you regarding some of the customer service issues you encountered as it will assist us in not repeating it. My email address is crivera@sheratonriverwalk.com. Once again thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you being a loyal Starwood guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding. We brought our 4 daughters with us and they accommodated our large family.

Kyle at the front desk made restaurant and beach recommendations to us that were excellent.

The wedding reception was at the hotel. The reception venue, on the water, was beautiful and the food was the best I'd had at a wedding.

They mentioned that they are planning to renovate the rooms but I had no complaints with current accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello bevptc! We appreciate the time you took to submit a review on our hotel. It's always great to hear our guests rave about thier experience with our hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear the wedding went well and you were pleased entirely. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
#55 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.