We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #71 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
near Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyond expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Although having stayed in the Tampa region at other hotels, from the moment we walked in the door at Sheraton I knew this time was different! I was in town for a conference at the Convention Center, but family accompanied me so we got insight into how the hotel funcitions on both accords. I will never stay anywhere else when in the downtown Tampa region. The location is wonderful in proximity to museums and points of interest family wanted. Their shuttle service is free within a 3 mile radius which takes in Ybor City, museums, convention center and most other points of intererst. It is located near many great restaurants, although two evenings we ate at their hotel because it was so excellent! GREAT experience.

Room Tip: I searched online ahead of time and used my AAA card for a great rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello DeanaK! We are pleased to hear that both your family and yourself enjoyed your time at our hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel is situated in the heart of Downtown Tampa near several family friendly places, like the museums, theater, and aquarium. Not to mention, we offer a courtesy shuttle which can take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Thanks again for the review and can't wait to have your family and yourself back on your next Tampa trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    218
    132
    86
    55
See reviews for
125
157
61
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeBary, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the past month and I highly recommend it. My husband had to be at Tampa General Hospital so it was not an easy visit. The staff could not be any nicer. The rates were good compared to other hotels of the same quality. There is a complementary shuttle that is available to take you to local attractions and nightlife. The beds are the best...so comfortable. I will stay here when ever in Tampa, which will be often because of follow up health care.

Room Tip: I had a river view room...if available it is a bonus to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello Karin! First and foremost, we hope everything with the hospital visit for your husband went well. When traveling for such reasons as that, we can only imagine the stress you are going thru which is why we make it a point to take any other worry away for you. As you mentioned, the staff is great and we offer a shuttle which not only takes our guests to the local hospital but to several areas within a 3 mile radius. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your husband again on your next visit with us. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Tampa general patient discount and pet friendly stay is the main reason we came. The reviews on trip advisor were a little sketchy but our room and staff was nice. The room is updated, not perfect, as it is a pet friendly hotel, I expected some carpet staining. No big deal. Other than that, they provide Starbucks coffee for the coffee pot in the room and a really pretty view at night, which are both nice perks. I dont know what the full price room price would have been but i wouldn't want to pay more than $120 for the room we got. (king deluxe)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello Brook! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on your stay. Although your trip to Tampa was an unfortunate one, we are pleased to hear the stay was a pleasant one. As you mentioned, our hotel is pet friendly and we take full pride in upkeeping our rooms even with pets staying here. Our team delivers great service which far surpasses many hotels and leaves our guests pleased with the experience. Thanks again for your input and we hope to see you again soon...just on better circumstances and hopefully not for another hospital visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

this hotel is right downtown tampa on the river and is a very nice place to stay. There are however a few things to consider. First off the parking in a nightmere. Getting in is a 90 degree turn up a very steep driveway. The only parking is by valet and costs 18 to 24 dollars a night in addition to the room price which I might say isn't cheap. Overall the facillity is very nice, the bar and restaurant are very well done. The staff although freindly are not very responsive to the needs of all guests. In conclusion I would only say that I probably won't stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for pool side, although you will pay a premium for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Gregory, thanks for taking the time to submit a review on your past stay with us. As you stated our hotel is situated along the river which adds to the experience of a waterfront room. We understand your concern about the parking rate of $18 a day, but please keep in mind, we are actually one of the hotels which offers a lower cost in parking in Downtown Tampa. It's great to hear that overall you believed the property and bar/restaurant was nice and that our team delivered great service. Thanks again for your thoughts and we hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I put poor for rating mainly because for the two nights we were there, we had little to no sleep.
Just too much noise for us, Sirens and road noise on city side, and a couple that were arguing till 4 in the morning. Again not the hotels fault. The girl at the front desk did a nice thing and took the 2 days of parking off. So to that I say thankyou. The only thing to knock about the hotel is its age. Things are getting pretty tired in there.

Room Tip: Probably quieter on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello Gary. Thanks for your recent review on our hotel. We are sadden to hear that you could not get much sleep due to some sirens passing the hotel late night along with the couple next door arguing. Please know both issues are beyond the hotel's control but we are glad to hear you were compensated with 2 nights of parking comped. We hope you can give us another shot and see the experience you encountered was an off situation and not the norm for us. Thanks again for your input and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I think some of the reviews on this hotel are a little too harsh. I stayed here for one night while on business in September 2012. Yea, I guess the hotel wasn't built last year, but its still nice. It does show its age in some places, but the tv, bathroom and bed were all modern and/or remodeled. What more could you ask for?

They gave me a room on the street side. If you have the chance, I would request a room on the river side as it will no doubt have a nicer view. On the street side in a moderate size city, there was some city noise, but nothing you haven't heard in any downtown city hotel. Maybe its because I grew up in the city, but I slept like a baby.

The parking was a bit high and they require that you valet. Again, not uncommon in a downtown city hotel. All in all, I would stay here again. Its not the newest hotel in Tampa, but its not the most expensive either. Staff was very nice and bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: If you have the chance, request river side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hello JHN35! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review based on your past stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel from your room to the staff. As you mentioned, parking is offered at the property at $18 a day but it is actually one of the lowest in Downtotn Tampa. You also were so kind to state how our furnishings are very modern like which is also a great perk about staying with us. Yes, our hotel is a bit older but everything within it isn't. Thanks again for the great feedback and we hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, SC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked this through Priceline and stayed for 1 night before our cruise. Overall, it is a great place to stay and is very comfortable.

POSITIVES:
- Great location...right in downtown, 10 min from airport, 5 min from cruise port, right on the river, a few blocks from restaurants
- Pool is right on the waterfront and is nice
- Staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions
- Free shuttle goes anywhere in a 3-mile radius, including the cruise port. This was great for us.

NEGATIVES:
- The hotel shows its age. While everything has been remodeled and is in decent shape, we found several things showing age including cracked lamp shades, burnt out lights in the swimming pool, older-looking shower tiles, worn carpet, cracking paint, etc.
- We didn't bring a car, but parking was very expensive
- No airport shuttle
- Expensive breakfast

While there are some negatives, I would definitely stay here again. Despite showing some age, the property is very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello esd87! First and foremost, thanks for taking the time to complete a review based on your past stay with us. It's input like yours that help us build the hotel to the exceptional level we are aiming for. As you noted there are several great things about our property, from the location to the courtesy shuttle to the superb service. In regards to your concern about our parking, please note that although we charge $18 a day, it's actually one of the lower parking rates in Downtown Tampa. Also, we offer a courtesy shuttle within 3 miles and offer an option for airport transportation thru our third party partner, Blue One at $10 each way- which is more than half the cost of a cab at about $25 each way. We understand the hotel is starting to show it's age which is why we are pleased to share that we are in the planning stage for an upcoming renovation which will touch every corner of the property. We hope this helped with some of your concerns, and can encourage you to give us another shot on your next cruise trip. Thanks again and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 North Ashley Drive, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
#54 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.