We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5302 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #70 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Overall this hotel is what we expected. The price was good for the room we got - a 1 bedroom suite. Many reviewers complain about the lobby, or the hallways, or the rooms not being as nice as other hotels. If you are comparing a Marriott TownePlace to a Residence Inn or Hilton Garden Inn, then you are not comparing apples with apples. According to Marriott's own website, the TownePlace is a mid-priced long term stay hotel. The Residence Inn is higher end, and therefore more expensive. Compared to other hotels in this category, this hotel was exactly as one would expect and we were quite pleased with that fact. It's frustrating to read others complain about things that they could have easily researched beforehand and known what to expect from this hotel brand. You could definitely pay more and get certain luxuries that this hotel does not offer, but for us having a full kitchen, a suite, and a clean hotel at the price we paid was exactly what we were looking for. We arrived in Tampa later in the evening and were leaving the next morning. This hotel was perfect for us for this purpose.

The service at this hotel was very good. We were travelling with twin babies and called ahead to make sure we could get cribs. Though it could not be guaranteed, we were given some assurance by Nancy at the front desk that they could accommodate this request. When we called the day before, we again spoke with Nancy who remembered our first call and again told me that things looked good - and if not, they could speak with other hotels in the area to make sure we were taken care of.

When we arrived in Tampa we didn't know what the bus would look like so we called the hotel and Nancy said she would send the bus. We had to wait about 30 minutes, which was a bit too long in my opinion - which is the main reason I gave this hotel 4/5. The shuttle was free, so that was nice. When we arrived at the hotel, Nancy told me she had already setup the cribs in the room for us knowing our babies would be tired. That was great service and more than expected from a "mid range" hotel brand - something you might not even get at more expensive hotels.

Check-in was quick and easy, and they helped us find a place to order some food in the area. I overheard a lot of people asking where to get food and the front desk staff were equally accommodating with everyone.

The other reason we gave the hotel a 4/5 instead of 5/5 was because the pullout bed was not very comfortable and needs to be replaced. That said, I read in other reviews that they were planned for replacement in 2014, so that will be a welcome addition.

Checkout the next morning was easy and it was nice to have coffee available 24/7. The breakfast was not the greatest and not quite as good as those of the Courtyard or Residence Inn, but definitely served the purpose for the price. Lots of fruit and cereal choices, as well as yogurts and oatmeal. If you're expecting bacon and eggs, go somewhere else.

I don't think I'd want to stay at this hotel for more than a night or two (not ideal for long-term stays), but very convenient to have a full kitchen. The room was large and clean, and the staff was friendly. We would stay here again when flying in or out of Tampa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    50
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
31
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed at the TownePlace Suites in early Dec. Over all the hotel was great. Staff was nice, rooms were large and clean. Location was close to many other things besides the airport. Free shuttle to airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is very close to the airport and convenient to the freeway. The staff was very friendly and helpful regarding restaurant suggestions. We stayed one night prior to leaving on a cruise. The area around the airport in Tampa is unique as you have access to a number of decent restaurants and shopping. The room itself is small and the construction cheap. The breakfast is below the standard for limited service hotels. It worked well for us for 1 night, and the price was right compared to a number of other hotels. I would not have wanted to make this a long term stay though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Staff are friendly - all three personnel interactions with check-in and check-out were excellent. The remainder rates the 2 - poor. The hotel is what you expect when you pull-off an interstate. Location is near the airport next to the Hilton Garden Inn and in a small but underdeveloped retail area. Parking lot is the rear is small, bordering on a "do not enter" storage for the airport, with the remainder of the parking in the retail area. The "lobby" tells you what you are in for. While the hotel may appear new, the interior is dorm hall tired. If you are expecting breakfast, change your thoughts, as it is cereal and banana/apples. If you are expecting a room and amenities similar to a Residence Inn, this is not that experience. The room uses cheap materials, the lighting while appearing plentiful was dulled and muted. Bed pillows are hard polyester and the couch uncomfortable. There was an insufficient number of outlets in the room I had, at least in the bedroom. The below the window heat/air conditioning unit was loud. Good news is that in the 1 bedroom suite you get separate hvac controls. The welcome basket of a water and chex mix is a nice touch and may be your breakfast. There is a small restaurant next door or you can drive elsewhere. The final flaw is the flashing smoke detector light immediately over the bed. There is small pool to the back parking area and a fitness area. There are many choices near the airport for Tampa - look elsewhere or understand what you are getting before booking.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel may catch runway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSAvion, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Ralff,
Thank you for taking the time to respond and share your stay with us. I did want to mention that we are 51/2 years old and will start renovations in June of 2014. This will include new lamps with outlets,sofa sleepers and the lobby carpet. I'ld also like to say Thank You for the kind words in regards to the staff... they are friendly!
Sincerely,
Abel Bohorquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Clean and friendly staff. A cute little kitchen which needed better tools for can opening and wine. But comfy enough & we got it cheap on web. Gym sucks, but a wonderful lap pool. Oh as and they had a lite breakfast for free (yogurts, cereals as and coffee & juice). Not bad at all.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean and newer hotel but workmanship is cookie cutter. Staff friendly, easy to get to restaurants and freeway. Parking is limited, not sure where I would have gone if the immediate lot was full. Walls are thin, there is a trick to keep the air conditioner fan running so cant hear the neighbors. Complimentary tea, breakfast was good. Would stay again for the value and price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I think that this place is REALLY quiet for a place next to an airport. I didn't here a single plane at night when I was sleeping. The rooms are really nice and clean. I give this place 5 stars for everything about the hotel. The rooms,the location,service,and cleanliness

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport

Address: 5302 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.