We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“functionable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5302 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #70 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“functionable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was my first stay at a Towneplace, i was suprised at the size of the rooms and the full kitchen, very convenient cause i was here for a few days. I was suprised that we couldn't hear air traffic from the airport across the street. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a simple breakfast nothing to write home about. The only issue was staff was a little scare at times. i searched their little pantry/snack area but no one was around so i didn't purchase anything.
overall i believe i will stay here again if I am in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    50
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
31
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night before our flight out of Tampa. The room was ok, but extremely small for two people and two suitcases. Very close to the airport, which surprisingly did not have much air traffic noise. This hotel is also very close to a mall with a few nice restaurants. I would recommend this hotel when needing to stay close to the airport for an early flight. Perfect for a business traveler, but not great for an extended vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSAvion, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I’m pleased to hear that you appreciated the proximity of the hotel to the airport. Also, that even though we are this close to the airport the noise level is non-existent. When this hotel was being built one of the main considerations was to ensure that the airport traffic noise not be a deterrent to our guests. I would like to share that we do offer 2 other room types, our One-Bedroom and Two-Bedroom suites that provide more square footage if interested for the future. Thanks again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Abel Bohorquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on a Friday night for a short weekend getaway to Tampa. The front desk receptionist was friendly and offered up suggestions on what to do and where to eat. We took a quick elevator ride up to our room and got to our room.

We were pleasantly surprised at how much they were able to fit into the room - a sink, stovetop, dishwasher, microwave, upper cabinets, and a 5 foot tall fridge. There was a moderate sized closet for your luggage, coats, etc with some shelving and the iron and ironing board. Then there's a desk area with more shelving space and a moveable desk, a desk chair, arm chair with a foot rest, queen-sized bed with a full bathroom and another closet. The space doesn't feel cramped at all. It is very well laid out.

The towels leave something to be desired. They're hard and have seen better days. The room was pretty clean. There was some hair on the ceiling, which was really odd.

The walls are very thin. You can hear everything and you can certainly hear everything from the hallways.

The breakfast is adequate. They offer some fruits, yogurts, cereals and orange juice.

The hotel is literally across the street from the airport, but you can't hear planes taking off or road noise. A hotel shuttle is available to the Port and to the airport. They even offer park and fly packages to leave your car here.

The parking was fine for us. This doesn't seem to be a particularly busy time of year, though. I can see where the parking might get dicey.

The pool is so long! You could do laps in it and get in a lot of distance. It was too cold to use, but definitely worth checking out when it's warmer. They also have a bbq out back to use.

Oh, and most importantly, they're pet-friendly for a small fee!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place was very fresh and clean. The only problem was tring to find someone at the front desk. I came up a couple of times to buy food and drinks but no one was to befound. I would recommend this plac e again

Room Tip: The 3rd floor 2 room suite was very clean and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. It was quiet and the staff were great. We were able to check in early around noon with no issues. Rooms were very clean, small, but comfortable. Breakfest was just okay, but the price we paid was very good so we were not too concerned about the breakfest. Close to shopping as there is a large mall less than a mile away. Great place to eat at the mall as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nice, clean hotel with a great staff. Location makes it ideal for business travel but not so much for vacation travel. Rooms had a full complement of kitchenware which was clean and useful. Room service didn’t skimp on replacing the coffee either (I am a coffee drinker), another nice bonus. Furniture showed a bit wear and tear but nothing to make you adverse to sit on. The little shop in the lobby has a decent selection of name brand “emergency snacks” at convenience store prices. Both WiFi and plug-in Internet worked like a champ from my room. Check-out was a breeze. All in all I would stay there again with no problems.

Room Tip: Recommend not getting one near the elevator or lobby. The 8pm activities scheduled tehre can get a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had a manager once that refused to stay anywhere except Marriott properties. Now that I'm self-employed and always looking for a great deal, I'm thinking exactly like he did - but for different reasons.

I've found every Marriott property (mostly the lower-end hotels) consistently exceed my expectations.

This one was no different.

We checked in at 10am in the morning - really early, but they found us a just-cleaned room.
I was hungry, and their breakfast had finished a couple of hours earlier. I went to the front desk to ask where I could buy some fruit, and he said "wait a minute" ... went into the back and brought me a couple of apples and a banana. For free.

The front desk help pointed us toward a couple of good, local restaurants that proved very good as well.

Overall - I'm a Marriott convert.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport

Address: 5302 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.