We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, quiet, and interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ybor City

Ybor City
Northeast of the Downtown Tampa on I-4 at Exit 1, Tampa, FL 33618 (Historic Ybor)
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 92 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Neighborhoods, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Nightlife, City walk sightseeing, Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Once the cigar capital of the world, Ybor City is now a thriving community.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Historic, quiet, and interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ybor is the city to learn and feel about old Florida and cigars. We had lunch at the famous Columbia Restaurant and the food as well as the treatment was excellent. We visited museums and different stores and also stop at different cafes to warm up because when we went the temperature dropped to 42. We visited different parks and the Mall. There are new restaurants, cafes and the environment is really nice quiet, clean and safe.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    167
    95
    48
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Attention: Ybor has improved since 2009 !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My last visit was in 2009 before last weekend (April 2013)... what a difference! New restaurants, businesses, and at least 7 more cigar shops and cafe's. The place was totally cleaner and some of the shady/nasty bars-clubs were gone. I heard later they closed them down for good.

People were walking the streets all day shopping, taking pictures, watching cigars being made, what a place! If you are a cigar lover, or you just like history, this is the place for you!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisville
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A must see when in Tampa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The history of the cigar district and the shops....cafes.....cigar shops....and the people make the visit worthwhile. Allow yourself time to take a stroll or one of the guided tours.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ybor, no bore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If your in the area and want to feel old Florida..it's Ybor for you. If your gay , there is a definate gay vibe going on. A little bit of New Orleans , some funk, the potential for fun so what's not to like . stop at a restaurant or bar have a drink and something to eat ..smoke a handrolled cigar if your into it , and do some shopping . While there take the open air Trolley we didn't but next time we will.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love Ybor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Many things to see and do in Ybor. Fun to walk around, take the trolley from downtown, walk the streets, visit the shops and the restaurants are excellent. Nice atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ybor City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.