We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Molino for Best Coffee this side of Havanna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ybor City

Ybor City
Northeast of the Downtown Tampa on I-4 at Exit 1, Tampa, FL 33618 (Historic Ybor)
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 205 things to do in Tampa
Activities: Nightlife, City walk sightseeing, Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the cigar capital of the world, Ybor City is now a thriving community.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“El Molino for Best Coffee this side of Havanna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ybor City is a nostalgic trip back in time that is trying hard (but not very successfully) to overcome the sleaze and commercialism found in red light/bar areas, and which worms its way into all nightlife areas. But there are still gems worth seeking out. On the search for a perfect Cuban coffee, El Molino's pungent coffee roasting scent reeled us in from blocks away. The facade is very modest and the inside plain as one might imagine a real Cuban coffee stand was in the day. Only two indoor tables but the coffee is the star and it is worth going out of your way to pause, sip a Cuban coffee and inhale the air of a day long gone.It's as close to Havanna as one can expect to get these days.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    247
    147
    61
    30
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ybor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

loved the trolley ride to Ybor, food at the spaghetti factory was amazing and a great value, Dirty Mary's had the best sandwiches we found on our two week trip!
Disliked all the empty buildings

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Chaos”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I really used to like Ybor; now it is a bunch of drunken fools walking the streets. not a good place to be!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Has gone down hill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A once fun area is not so much anymore. Unless you are in the market for a hand-rolled cigar, tattoo, alcohol, or vintage clothing, stay away from Ybor. It has some nice historic buildings and landmarks, but we left only after walking a few blocks realizing that Ybor is not as hot as it used to be.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reminds me of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was in Tampa on a business trip and had only a few hours to explore the city. On a tip from a customer I my coworker and I made our way over to the historic Ybor City of Tampa. It reminds me of what I would think the historic district of New Orleans looks like. The street is lined with cigar shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. The old Spanish architecture is beautiful and there are plenty of palm trees to line the streets. I recommend getting an authentic cafe con leche in this area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ybor City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.