We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet the Stingrays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Aquarium

Florida Aquarium
Tampa, FL 33602
813-273-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$22*
and up
Ranked #18 of 211 things to do in Tampa
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This aquarium features a fascinating array of animals and birds found along Florida's waterways.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pet the Stingrays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My grandkids come for a visit every summer and they always want to visit the Florida Aquarium. They love to pet the stingrays !!!! also let the kids wear something they can get wet because after the walk through the Aquarium you have to stop and enjoy the water activities.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    818
    341
    94
    37
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice day out w the family take kids swimwear!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed walking around the aquarium. Then the kids had a blast running through the splash pad at the end. (They serve cocktails at the place next to the splashpad)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a few hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This aquarium was fantastic! The exhibits were very interesting and educational. My daughter, a budding photographer, thoroughly enjoyed all that this aquarium offered. We spent a few hours here and would definitely visit again if ever in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Got the annual - kinda regret it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I purchased the family annual pass and now I have regrets. We went their this weekend and it WAS A ZOO (no pun intended)! They let in all kind of riffraff and enforce no clothing policy whatsoever! We had our 2 year old with us and I am worried about what she saw and heard! The port was very busy with cruise goers and I think they were letting those people in by droves. It was WAY too crowded to remotely enjoy and it was NOT a family environment. Several patrons were getting drunk (did not know they sold alcohol there) and we did not enjoy our time at all. I will probably not go back. The exhibits appeared to be nice - what a shame!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'm a Pisces.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Of course, I liked it! It is a beautiful place but doesn't take very long to see everything. Food is expensive and you don't get a lot for your money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Florida Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.