We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but costly !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Aquarium

Florida Aquarium
701 Channelside Drive, Tampa, FL 33602
813-273-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #19 of 92 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This aquarium features a fascinating array of animals and birds found along Florida's waterways.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice but costly !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went through the Tampa Aquarium at Channelside. It was nice but the cost is high for what you get. There are a lot of different species of fish, but the tour of the aquarium only takes an hour at the most. You can "pet" the stingrays and there is an ice gift shop and cafe, but if can find coupons for the entrance fee, that would help.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    573
    257
    79
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Aquatic Animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We live quite near a terrific aquarium in Boston, so we were only mildly enthused about visiting the Florida Aquarium in Tampa. We are so glad we went! The animals are simply amazing. The manatees, sea otters and penguins were so entertaining we stayed watching them much longer than planned. The sea horse exhibit was fascinating, and the children with us could not believe how tiny they were, nor that the males birthed the babies. There were several "talks" by animal tenders, and we were impressed by their knowledge and caring. Four hours flew by, and we left with our heads full of information and our hearts full of respect for these water creatures. Surely you want to be sure you visit this fascinating place while you are in the Tampa area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Manatees!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Sea Horses, Manatees, Local sea life. Great way to learn about Florida's place in a healthy eco-system. The exhibits were fun and informative. Where else can you touch an anemone? Loved it so much that we got the annual membership. Take everyone!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor management !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am love to explore and see different things, go to different places, i am one of those that doesnt like be at home and is always looking for things to do. Well i can tell you that the Tampa Aquarium is NOT one of those things. We first started by waiting 15 at the parking lot because the parking clerks were changinng shift, normally it would not be a problem but at 2 PM and the aquarium closes at 5 PM not good,... then there were 30 people on the line to get tickets only 1 cashier with all these people.. after a couple of minutes i realize there was a kiosk to get tickets and noone was using it.. so i did and went straight in. i informed the door man SHANE that why was the line so long and if wanted to he might want to inform the people on line .. he didnt move nor did he care.. i then asked him to tell me where is the entrance to the hibit and he told me " THIS IS THE ENTRANCE" extremely sarcastic .. i elaborated by asking the entrace to the hibit as to where should i start !!! he turned around and walked alway .. this was our first expression of Aquarium. If i had not already paid and drove 1 hr to get to the aquarium i would have asked for my money back and gone home or to the zoo ... Noone explained anything to us about the shows- never received a show time flyer which we found out afterwards... just a mess - noone around to complain to - everyone said the manager was else where and i was not going to spend my 3 hours on looking for the managment.. so many people where supposedly on the payrole but noone was doing anything .. especially not helping the guess !!! save your money and go somewhere else where you are treated with respect and value your time and money.. in these hards times business should know that customer satifaction is everything and i guess the tampa aquarium .. still have not figured it out.. I have left several message and i am still waiting for a call back .. why would i assume it would be any different ...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine C, Public Relations Manager at Florida Aquarium, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you again for your feedback David. As we mentioned to you during our phone call we really appreciate you letting us know the areas that we can improve on. The Florida Aquarium takes customer feedback very seriously and in an effort to never stop improving, I can assure you all of your issues have been addressed with and handled by our senior management with the appropriate staff. We hope you will take us up on our president’s offer to personally host you back here at the Aquarium so that we can have another opportunity to showcase The (real) Florida Aquarium to you. We sincerely apologize again that you had a bad experience and we hope to see you here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crest Hill, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“one of the best . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

for its size this is one of the best marine displays i have seen. pricey but good. new stingray tank is awsome for younger visitors. learned a lot on behind scenes touer feeding fish, especially reds & snook. . . a must for fishermen! wetland trail area is excellent too. keep up good work florida aquarium! jim m

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florida Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.