We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mornings interaction with Giraffes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Busch Gardens

Busch Gardens
10165 N Malcolm McKinley Dr, Tampa, FL 33612
+1 888-800-5447
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Busch Gardens like an insider
Special Offer
$99*
and up
Tampa Bay CityPASS
Ranked #1 of 205 things to do in Tampa
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Busch Gardens(R) Tampa is the ultimate family adventure, offering 297 acres of fascinating attractions based on exotic explorations around the world. A unique blend of thrilling rides, one of the country's premier zoos with more than 12,000 animals, live shows, restaurants, shops and games, Busch Gardens Tampa provides unrivaled excitement for guests of every age.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
kent
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Beautiful mornings interaction with Giraffes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went to BG early in the morning. We booked to go on the safari. There was a talk first then the keeper took us to a large truck (not sure how many of us on it though) It was lovely to see so many different wild animals, (the Baby Rhino was adorable)We fed the Giraffes (one mainly) but the other ones were close bye.We loved the experience and it was well worth the money we paid for it! Giraffes are such beautiful creatures, very inquisitive and loved being fed! We thoroughly enjoyed our day there and would definitely do it again. We enjoyed going on the cable car and walking around to see all the other wildlife, Elephants,Hippos,Birds, lions,cheater,tortoise,gators and many more too! The Christmas Decorations were beautiful! The people that work at BG are so nice and helpful, we stood there for ages chatting to the elephant keepers which was nice. We would definitely recommend it especially if you have a car! We took some brilliant photographs too!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,329
    1,789
    581
    249
    198
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great for boys ages 8 & 11”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had a blast here and so did my boys. Such pretty Christmas decorations and helpful staff. Park was clean and ride lines were short. We went twice over Christmas break. Once 12/26/13 and lines were so short we went on rides 3 times in a row sometimes. Our plan was to enter park go directly to the back and work our way forward. It worked great hardly any lines. They check your backpacks for food. First day I was allowed to bring in chips and water and apples but not sandwiches. Second day we put sandwiches in our pockets and they never checked our pockets so we were fine. We were there all day so we still bought plenty of food and snacks, its just nice to have a few snacks for when you are standing in a long ride line. The shows were nice especially the cat and dog show, so cute. Second day it was raining off and on and again there were not many lines as it wasnt as busy. I cant wait to come back here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place for the day kids loved the rides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

we went here for my daughters birthday on the 21st Jan. We were looking forward to going on the big rides and boy we wern't dissapointed!!!. They were all awesome. in my opinion all the British "thrill" (i use that word very loosely as the UK parks are not the best) rides really do need to take a long look at the parks in Florida as they have overtaken them a long time ago.
The food was really nice and resonable price as well. My only gripe and this is for all the parks by the way is why oh why do they charge for parking? After paying an arm and a leg for the tickets in the first place, why do they have to add insult to injury and charge to park your car. I know there is transport laid on for you from your hotel to the parks, but who really wants to be governed by bus times???

Great park though none the less

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMEL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't leave valuables in your car; we are not responsible for stolen items!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Wow. This place was dirty. It had fun rides. Amazing roller coasters. Just absolutely pails to the level of service I expected. Its a cross between state fair and dollywood. It's just ok. Dont drive far but if your in tampa area..sure, why not. Area is pretty sketchy to boot. No, nothing was stolen but we were quite concerned.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Worth the long drive....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A great park especially for those who love huge coaster rides.......

The coasters here are huge (at least 6-7) and we went at the start of our two week break - i'd recommend going towards the end of you holiday (after Disney / Universal) when the kids are a little more used to coasters. The big loops/drops/splashes/turns/twists are a little more concealed at Disney and Universal and so come as a surprise and the kids have done the scary parts before they realise its scary!! At Busch the rides a re a little more in your face, obviously scary - ours (aged 8 &11) were still a little nervous!

The safari (included in the price) was good but the keeper experience (c$70 for an hour per person) felt like a rip off so we didn't do it.

The rest of the animals were ok, not really that memorable to be honest.

The drive from Orlando is an easy hour on the I4 and well worth it if you're a coaster junkie.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.