We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Rooms. Independent Done Right.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hyde Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyde Park Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2105 West Bristol Ave, Tampa, FL 33606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Altamonte Springs, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Rooms. Independent Done Right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've stayed twice now. First for the RHCP concert & the second for Fleetwood Mac. It's located directly behind Sweetbay supermarket so you can load up on snacks & drinks for pre-partying before heading out. The surrounding area isn't 4 star but it's quiet. The parking is free and there seems to be just enough spots or everyone. This isn't the Marriot by any means but it's lovely in it's own right. The neighborhood does have several restaurants, cafes, and drinking spots if you want to stay in that area for fun but when we are in Tampa it's for concerts followed by a trip to Ybor City. It's about a $10 cab ride to the forum.

The rooms are spacious, extremely clean, and the staff friendly. Bonus: There are hardwood floors in the room and ours even came with a small fireplace. We don't even bother with other hotels when we come to Tampa for shows now. Hyde Park is our hotel of choice for concert stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
15
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis,minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Last minute hotel booking for a conference. Nothing available even close toTampa Convention Center/ or $450 a night. This was about $90 and perfect for what we needed - clean,convenient,and saved hundreds as opposed to stay right at the marina. No restaurant, no telephone, limited front desk service but great little restaurants a block or two away. Simple, clean and safe.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Clean although the furniture is hodge podge and it certainly needs some renovating. There seems to be a fresh coat of paint everywhere but some repairs should have been done first. The bed was comfortable, room small but fully equipped. Reservations are made by email, or calling. When you get someone on the phone, or in the office, they are very friendly. But, there will be times when there are no staff on site. Therefore, customer service is not great. The location is perfect for dining at Bern's Steakhouse. There is also a Starbucks right down the road. Very cost friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is in prime location if you're looking to stay within walking distance of delicious restaurants and fun bars in the heart of South Tampa better known as Hyde Park. The rooms are clean and most are a studio with small kitchen as well. If you get a room with two full sized beds like I did, even though I requested a room with one king, the room is kind of cramped because its on the small side but this didn't cause an issue for us. I would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice small boutique hotel, not fancy but comfortable and good price. Very clean, includes small kitchenette with dishes, pots, micro, stove and refrig. Lots of places to eat nearby. Hotel located In the SoHo district of Tampa. Room quiet on first floor. Comfy king bed too. Nice touch with toiletries in bathroom. Parking lot located next to building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Great room, great rate!
Comfy and very clean. Freshly remodeled!
Located in a great part of town for dining. Convenient to a Sweet Bay Grocery Store (with a liquor store) and a CVS.
$15 cab ride to The Forum.
We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

When I got there I wished I spent a little more to get something a little nicer. I chose this place for the proximity to places we were going that evening. It is very close to a number of local bars and Berns. Yet, the bars were mostly college students and not really much of a mixed crowd anywhere in that area that I saw.

The person who checked me in was friendly.

The hotel said it was newly renovated - but it did not seem like it. The bathroom was soooo tiny. The room was pretty small, which I expected. The beds were very uncomfortable. The bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have hoped.

I mean overall - I only paid $100 for one night, but still I could have spent like $50 more and gotten something much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 2105 West Bristol Ave, Tampa, FL 33606
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyde Park Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel, steps to everything you'll need! Shopping, restaurants, entertainment & fitness. Full kitchen ranges, microwave & refrigerator. Free Wi-Fi & Business center scan, fax, copy. Fresh baked cookies. Shoe shine pick up & delivery and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.