We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel needs to fix some things to improve the appearance and make stay better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3826 West Waters Avenue, Tampa, FL 33614   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Jacksonville,FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The hotel needs to fix some things to improve the appearance and make stay better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took our son to the aquarium and we decided to stay here. The first impression was good at front desk and lobby. Our first room we had to be changed the fridge didn't work. The front desk moved us promptly. The rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. They could use a better selection of TV channels to watch. You could also hear quite a bit of noise from other rooms. Then the pool area was run down and had some safety issues. The rail into pool was very loose. The hot tub light cover loose. You can just tell they need to fix some issues and they don't have much down time between guest stays. Overall not a bad stay not sure if we would stay again when we return to Tampa.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    38
    15
    17
    5
See reviews for
58
32
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Check in was fast and easy. Tiny bugs were crawling around the room and the TV did not work. When I called the desk, someone came to the room immediately to fix the TV but she could not get it to work. She finally returned a few hours later when I called the front desk again. NOTE: I did not complain about the bugs after I checked the bed to make sure they were not in the bed. The next morning breakfast was OK. The waffle irons did not work and they did not have any eggs because they were frozen and needed time to thaw. (???). That evening after returning from our class and needing to use the internet to complete work related activities, the Internet was down and we were told that one had a clue when it would be fixed. ,We had to find other alternatives to getting our work done. We will not return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

First we arrive, had to wait over 30 min. for someone to check us in. Room was so musty and damp. Towels were damp as well as bed linens. Bed linens appeared and smelled like they had not been washed. Lamp shade was falling off, and no hot water for shower. Big speech on their breakfast they serve. What a joke that was. No eggs, waffle mix was soured and yogurt was out of date. Will NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: see room before you spend your hard earned money on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Used reward points for this room. Check-in was extremely slow compared to other LQ properties. Was told that we would be charged $1 on our credit card because of the safe in the room (???). We asked if that would be refunded upon checkout, we were told "I don't think so because there is no way to tell if you used the safe in the room." It was only $1 so we didn't argue. When we received our bill in the AM, this charge had been reversed and our bill showed a $0 balance, as it should with a free night. It was just a very odd thing for them to do, in our opinion. We've never had that before when using points. The room was roomy and clean and the night was quiet. Breakfast area was clean and well-stocked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Reserved a rm for 4-wife, 2 kids, me-with the promise of a king + pullout. The rm had 1 bed. We complained & they said they'd look for another rm. 20 mins later we tried to leave but were told they were still going to charge us! I demanded to see a rm suitable for 4. They refused unless I showed my email confirm-they were trying to prove I'd only reserved a "King room." A horrible altercation ensued. I was stunned & outraged at what a brazen scam they were trying to pull. Total hell, but in the end they didn't charge me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a 2 week stay, due to relocation for a job promotion.
The manager, Mike, was AWESOME! He gave me the best rate, and gave the best guest service ever! Rooms are very clean, and the entire hotel was clean clean and clean! Location is very convinient ... Loved it and will come back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central

Address: 3826 West Waters Avenue, Tampa, FL 33614
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa Central
Tampa Best Western
Best Western Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.