We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfactory meal but a little out of the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong City BBQ

Hong Kong City BBQ
5301 N State Road 7, Tamarac, FL 33319-2919
954-777-3832
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 66 Restaurants in Tamarac
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“satisfactory meal but a little out of the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This meal met our expectations and satisfied the desire for "chinese cuisine" that evening. Made the drive out from the beach on a Wednesday evening. The location could be missed if not looking for it...thanks for the sign on the truck in the parking lot. The highlight of the meal for me was the salt & pepper lobster simply because its not offered on the menu at home. Everyone came home with their bellies full, and satisfied. Would not recommend for everyone, purely due to location. But if you are local, worth takeout.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Average place buoyed by great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very good friendly service. Shrimp dumplings - OK, salt and pepper tofu, large portion, interesting combination. BBQ spare ribs - above average, lean and well seasoned. Yellow flower ( Yao choi) with garlic was very good. Salt and pepper lobster was average. Pepper steak, fried rice, OK.
Doesn't merit return visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“THERE IS HONG KONG CITY BBQ AND NOTHING BETTER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Been eating there for four or five years. High quality food and terrific waitresses. My wife and I have eaten dishes from almost all the sections of the menu and have not been disappointed. Their DIM SUM is great! You have to go there to experience a great place to eat. The owners do not have an attitude like the owners and wait staff at the Silver Pond. Can't say enough about the variety and quality. Go and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Also nice for pickup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

HINT..for dinner takeout.....Have discovered that one combo...extra egg rolls, and wonton soup is enough for dinner for two. Had excellent chicken with black bean sauce with fried rice. Still steaming hot when we got home. quite flavorful... Egg rolls are on the small side. Ask for some hot mustard that is on the tables. HOT HOT HOT....Wonton soup was just OK. Have eaten here several times before and it is always very good. Portions are very generous.Menu is very extensive with unusual also...duck...squid ...prawns...along with the usual Chinatown cuisine

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We had never heard of this place before, and we've lived a few miles away for several years. I saw the great reviews here on tripadviser, and decided to give it a try. Not one thing we tried was less than wonderful. The shrimp toast dim sum was amazing, and the general tso's chicken may have been the best I've ever had. Would highly recommend this place to anyone. They were very accommodating of our 2 year old, which is always a huge plus too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong City BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong City BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong City BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.