We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, horrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Sawgrass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Sawgrass to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8301-A W. Commercial Blvd, Tamarac, FL 33351   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tamarac
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice room, horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at this hotel. We left new items in the room sitting on the couch in our room. Housekeeping claimed that only trash was left in the room but we indeed left expensive items (purse, watches and perfumes). It is hard for me to believe that housekeeping thought those items were trash. We called the front desk to ask for the manager and Alan said there was no manager on property after 5pm. Alan at the front desk said "Your items are gone and never coming back." He called the general manager Theresa for us.She was very rude and told us that we left "trash" in the room. She said that housekeeping took a long time to clean our room, which is of no relevance. She said, "You have to check out tomorrow," as though we were causing problems. When I requested some kind of compensation she very rudely said "Well, that's not happening!" I called the hotel one time two days after I checked out to see what we could do moving forward. She told me that if I contact her again she would consider it harrassment. How could this be harrassment after one call? Especially since valuables are misplaced. I decided to contact the Choice Hotel Group customer service. Even after they talked with her she refused to talk to me or return my calls. She suggested I file a police report, which I will do if this is not cleared up. I have worked in hospitality for a long time and have never encountered a situation like this. At most hotels missing items are always found or compensated for. The customer service I have received is deplorable here. I understand that mistakes are made in hotels on a daily basis but the general manager here is not professional at all.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    21
    18
    21
See reviews for
34
27
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looking at reviews me and my lady was a bit sketchy about the hotel. I must say the from the warm welcoming front desk staff to the cleaners I felt at home the very first day. The rooms are outstanding, very clean and spacious. Bathrooms was very clean and the room jus smelled like new stuff. I definitely will be back for a longer stay than 7 days. You need a hotel thats in the prime of the shops, mall, walmart, restaurants, look no further pack your bag n head to Comfort suits tamarac commercial blvd. You won't b disappointed loved the hotel will definitely be back!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fresh Smell each and every time We walked in the hotel!! Great Atmosphere!! & Clean!! But What blew me away was the Friendly Staff!!!!!! I would recommend anyone to this hotel and I Will definitely be back!!!
:):)!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I have stayed here before but never again!!!

I travel for work about 5 months of the year and have packages shipped to hotels with my supplies. If a package is late it makes it incredibly hard and way less effective to do my job. I had 130 lbs of packages sent to this hotel and a receipt signed by one of their employees Tiffney from UPS. They were delivered a couple days before I arrived. I check in at the hotel and am told that they are in the managers office and she will be in at 7am the next day(which is exactly when I have to leave for my first presentation). 7 am rolls around and a different employee tells me the manager won't be in until 9. So there goes my 1st presentation :(. Before my 2nd presentation I stop by and talk to the manager. She made up excuses like "well if the reservation was booked after the packages arrive then we wouldn't keep them". Guess what... I booked this reservation like a month ahead of time so that excuse fails. But she continued to say that a few times while I explained that didn't make sense. She took my # and told me she would call me back.

Later that day I call again, the manager had left without any phone call back to me. The employee I spoke with was very rude and kept transferring me to the wrong voicemail and cutting me off. I eventually left a voicemail. I decided to give the manager 24 hrs to call me back. Upon no response I called again. And again and again. It has been 4 days since I checked out without any response at all.

Between the 4 packages totaling 130 lbs (I'm not sure how anyone loses 130 lbs of anything) there was a total of $350 of declared value as well as the fact that it cost us $322.98 to ship.

This hotel is horrible. They owe me a total of $672.98 for the loss of my supplies and need to refund me my night as they have made it nearly impossible to do my job for my 2 week stay in FL. I have contacted the better business bureau and have made it my mission to get this resolved. I will never stay here again! For a choice hotels member that spends about 5 months of the year in their hotels I feel they have lost a very important customer.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Let me just start by apologizing to you for any confusion regarding your packages. We received dozens of packages sometimes on a daily basis. If the package that is sent does not have a name or confirmation number on it we wait a day and then return the packages. We were never made aware to to expect packages for you and there were no requests when the reservation was made. Again, all I can do at this moment is to apologize for the poor customer service you felt you experienced while a guest of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Pros: The room was large. We had 2 queens and a fold out sofa/living area. It appeared to be a clean hotel. We used the pool area and ate breakfast there. Located near lots of food and shopping establishments.

Cons: The walls are less than paper thin. We heard everything...I mean everything. We had to call several times to have them speak to the family of 4 adults and 1 grandchild all staying in the room next to us. We could not sleep. We ended up having to move to the 3rd floor at midnight. When I heard someone in another room using the restroom...I gave up. I thought either I had Superman hearing abilities, or I concluded that this hotel has the poorest insulation ever!!!

There is nothing that the staff can do to address this problem. They did take a few dollars off of our bill for the inconvenience of having to move at midnight. I would not stay here again, just because no sleep possible for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time out to write a review of our hotel. Thank you for pointing out the great things, size of room, bedding and location. I am so very sorry you were not able to sleep well because of noise.

I do hope you will still stay with us again if you travel back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I was here for 1 night for business. Fast check in. Clean, appears recently remodeled. Room is a comfortable size, mattress was excellent. Nice breakfast, eggs, bacon, etc.Will definitely use this chain again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind review. I can only hope you will always allow us to be of service to you when you travel to our area.

We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

It was the average hotel, until l discovered baby roaches in the bathroom. As I killed three, I thought where there are babies, parents, cousins, in laws, etc are close by. Sure enough, as I sat on the bed, there scurried mom or dad across the floor. As if that wasn't bad enough, when I opened the refrigerator, there was another baby sitting on top of my water bottle! OK that was enough, thankfully this was a short stay. As I left this morning, mom and dad waved goodbye from the sink in the room. Never again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
I am so very sorry you had such a bad experience with "the family" while a guest at our hotel. This is not an issue we have at our hotel so I was surprised to read this review. I appreciate you taking the time out to write a review of our hotel to share with everyone , but , I can only hope you also took the time to let our staff know of your issue so that we could have addressed it immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Sawgrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Sawgrass

Address: 8301-A W. Commercial Blvd, Tamarac, FL 33351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tamarac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tamarac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Sawgrass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly RENOVATED as of October 2011, COMFORT SUITES SAWGRASS our All SUITE Hotel conveniently located on West Commercial blvd just between University drive and Pine Island road. Comfort Suites Sawgrass is located minutes to Sawgrass Expressway, I95 and Florida Turnpike, location is at its BEST. The REFRESH DECOR of our SUITES brings Comfort, with the finest accommodation at the most competitive and relaxing atmosphere. OUR SUITES are with King or Queen Beds, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing boards. Our FREE DELUXE HOT BREAKFAST AND FREE Newspaper makes a "Great START for the morning. Our Free Internet Access, Business center, fitness room, out door heated pool and hot tub are part of our amenities in making your STAY A Relaxing and Comfort Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Sawgrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Sawgrass Hotel Tamarac
Comfort Suites Tamarac
Tamarac Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Sawgrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.