We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid This Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3873 West Commercial Boulevard, Tamarac, FL 33309 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tamarac
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Avoid This Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A well-deserved record lowest ever ranking for the dozens of hotels I have reviewed throughout the years, this hotel cannot be recommended regardless of price. I arrived just before 12 midnight, and the Front Office was closed. There was a wall mounted telephone for after-hours access, but no one answered. There were two other parties with reservations also waiting with me, and like me, they advised their reservations were confirmed for late arrival. After 20 minutes a Security Guard on rounds noticed us waiting and was able to locate the Night Clerk who was a nice enough guy, but none of us who had waiting 30 minutes outside of the Front Office were very pleased. My room reeked of what can best be described as moldy cigarette smoke. The kitchenette counter-tops had cigarette burns, the carpet was thread-bare worn in places, and the bathtub was chipped in numerous places. The gasket seal on the fridge door needed replacing which hindered the door from closing properly. The 26 in. old-style CAT tube TV had a very poor picture and the screen flipped often while watching CNN. Like the carpet, the bed and bathroom linens were severely worn, although they at least appeared clean, but were rough as sandpaper. The bed was marginally comfortable but the pillows were sub-standard. There were numerous ants in the kitchen and spiders in the bathroom, but thankfully no bed bugs were detected upon close inspection. The room’s door card key deactivated after its first use requiring the Security Guard to again locate the Front Desk Clerk so the card key could be replaced at 1:30 AM. I noticed there is both a La Quinta and Holiday Inn Express down the street just a couple blocks, and they surely must be better options because it is not possible they could be any worse!

Room Tip: Do not check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you experienced an longer than usual wait time for check in and that your key deactivated after using it just once. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I have use your feedback to help train all of front desk staff to be more attentive and efficient as well as on ways to ensure our keys are programmed for the guests length of stay.

I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. It would sadden us to know that you chose to stay with another hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at fld@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    9
    13
    39
See reviews for
17
19
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just had a super 8 day stay at the Homestead Studio Suites in Tamarac, Florida. The facility and grounds are immaculate and my room compared favorably with other far-more expensive properties. Samantha and Carli on the Front Desk were very welcoming, knowledgeable, and went out of their way to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Lots of well-lighted parking; quiet, and centrally located to restaurants, shopping, and easy on-off access to the Turnpike and Interstate.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room. They are quieter. A little restaurant that serves the best roast duck i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. A great deal for the price. Excellent customer service! The location was very conveinent to restuarants and shops. It wasnt far from the mall. It was right next too a bank which was also good. The walls were not thin and our room did not smell like so many other hotels i have stayed. The bathroom needed an update but it was very clean and served us just fine.

Room Tip: If you are staying a less than 8 days, they do not provide housekeeping so you will have to exchange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Customer service was exceptional. Unfortunately that's the best I can say about the hotel. The room smelled like mold and mildew. The furniture was outdated and mix mashed. The cable tv, all 6 channels, was broken. The room felt depressing. Never again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On several of my stay I had the opportunity to be assisted by Carli and Samantha and at all times even though they are busy they displayed the utmost courtesy. They explained Policies and procedures with full understanding and knowledge. These two ladies in my opinion are a credit and an asset to this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In Yo Head
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Kitchen- 1 plate, 2 glasses, 2 saucers, 1 bowl. 2 butter knives, 3 forks, 4 spoons. 2 small pots.
Rooms Dont look like the pictures. mine has no chairs or desks or love seats, basically the bed and 2 stools from the kitchen. My 60yr old parents had no where to sit.
Tv- about a 20 inch made in 1997- i looked on the back. THATS 16 YEARS OLD. nice. i bought a 32 inch from the store and returned it when i left.
Most rooms with 1 bed are king size, there's are queen.
Cable channels are what you'd expect from the cheap motels- 24 channels with showtime.
Read the other reviews for info on charges for clean towels and rooms.
Internet is free, but slow unless you upgrade for a fee.
They do allow dogs, for $25 a day

OH AND MY FAVORITE PART, there was a pair of weighing scales in the cabinet with suspicious residue on it. Check out the picture. i disposed of it immediatly, i wish there staff could avoid leaving felony's in the rooms before i stay.
The price good, although i dont know about the valule.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you have a car, and want to be in a convenient location, have a kitchen and prepare your breakfast before heading out, this is your place.
Comfortable beds and quiet, plenty of parking spaces (which is free). Internet speed was ok. Staff at front desk is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac

Address: 3873 West Commercial Boulevard, Tamarac, FL 33309 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tamarac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tamarac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac Hotel Tamarac
Homestead Studio Suites Tamarac
Tamarac Homestead Suites
Extended Stay America Tamarac
Homestead Tamarac
Homestead Suites Tamarac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Tamarac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.