We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee

GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2735 North Monroe Street, Tallahassee, FL 32303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

You will not get any sleep in this sorry excuse for a hotel. There are a ton of foreignors that live here, and we were so lucky to get put in a room right in the middle of them. The front desk is mostly ran by americans, but it is owned by foreignors. They party ALL night long and it VERY annoying. But who do you complain to when it is the owners' family. The a/c unit does not come even close to cooling the room. It would come on for about 5 minutes and shut off, and no matter what you put it on, it will not come back on for about an hour. The front desk guy said it was becuase they were "energy efficient" units. That's BS. It was broke and they don't want to fix it. Don't get lured in from expedia claiming it's a 2.5 star hotel on their unpublished rate. There's a reason this one is unpublished.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our main goal is to value our customers by providing comfortable accommodations as well as the best services possible. We apologize for this unexpected incident. We are currently working on improving our facilities in order for us to cater to our guests the services that you deserve. This feedback was noted and served as a constructive criticism for us to identify the areas for us to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

When the person who took the reservation refused to give us her name, we should have seen that as a Harbinger for things to come. We asked in advance and received permission to check out at noon on Sunday (we were out of the room by 11:45). But on Sunday the manager said he would never allow that and charged us an additional day. Minutes later a belligerent housekeeper pounded on the door unleashing a vicious verbal assault upon my wife. The room itself was a little musty and a toad hopped across my wife’s bare foot as she prepared to lie down. After I cornered the toad and released it outside, she was able to calm down… eventually. I liked the location but the rest…. Major unaccountability issues. Stay away.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you had during your stay. No one expected this to happen and this is a real challenge. At this point in time, we are currently discussing these issues and accountabilities to those staff members who failed to display the customer service values that we always expect from them. We are also working hard to improve our services so that no other customers will experience that same thing you did. Despite this incident, we still hope to see you again in the near future and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed here for a big football game weekend. We had stayed here before when it was the Cabot lodge and we always enjoyed it , they had a nice happy hour and breakfast. Now that has all changed there were no hot food items on the buffet. When we returned to our room the TV was not working. When we complained to the desk they told us that the cable company was supposed to fix it "yesterday". The bathtub was molded. We also noticed that this place was not at all very full. Previously when the Cabot lodge owned the place on football weekends the place was completely full.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We are sorry for this experience that you had during your stay. Although the name of our place was changed from Cabot Lodge, we still offer a lot of food varieties wherein you can have the luxury to choose from. We would also like to assure you that all these things that you mentioned are currently being taken care. Rest assured that next time that you will come here; you’ll get the experience that you truly deserve. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

The Cabot Lodge on Monroe was purchased by an outfit named Guesthouse Inn, (read "Ghetto House Inn.") The old Cabot Lodge was "rustic" but clean and friendly. None of that survived the takeover! I have stayed there many times for football games, the Springtime Tallahassee Parade and other events in Tallahassee, last weekend was the last! Old is one thing, but old and dirty is another!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee

Address: 2735 North Monroe Street, Tallahassee, FL 32303
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.