We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Horrific” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7774   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors
Ranked #10 of 59 hotels in Tallahassee
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Simply Horrific”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

The staff people were friendly, but that is the only really positive thing I can say about this hotel, besides the location, which is very convenient to the downtown business district.

I stayed there in late March for business, and here is what I observed:

- Elevators were extremely slow and always jam-packed with crowds of people who had waited up to 20 minutes at a time.

- Restaurant food was very bad. The bar is OK, and the bartender lady was very nice, though.

- Way overpriced - paid $229/night for a horrific experience.

- Parking garage is right next to several hotel rooms, I felt extremely sorry for those people staying on the third floor, where they get a view of a car parked outside their window.

- Conference room and meeting facilities were just totally inadequate.

- After being gone from my room most of the day for business, I returned at 5pm to the room being in the exact condition in which I left it - housekeeping didn't even show up, and it wasn't like I had the privacy sign on my door or anything.

- Fitness center - they have like three machines in there and it is the size of a phone booth.

- Everything in the hotel is outdated. I felt like I was staying in some Stalin-era government building in the old Soviet Union.

Horrific

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — virtually everything, poor hygiene
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    177
    97
    52
    28
See reviews for
163
75
50
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

I was booked here by my travel agent when I got stuck overnight in Tallahassee, FL due to cancelled flights. Upon my arrival, the front desk staff was indifferent and ill-informed. Since I was travelling alone, I decided to grab a bite to eat at the hotel. I had a salad that was awful and decided to forgo the rest of the meal. I went on the Internet and found a restaurant nearby called Harry's Bar & Grill. It specializes in Creole cuisine and the food was fantastic. The crowd was mostly yuppie state government employees. There was a decidedly "alternative lifestyle" feel to the place, to the point where it got a little uncomfortable. Back to the hotel. The rooms were large and fairly well furnished. TV's only get about 10 stations. Wake up call did not arrive in the AM. This is becoming a chronic problem at hotels these days. Overall, the experience was disappointing, as I normally have great stays at most Doubletree hotels. The best part of the visit was definitely the warm cookie at check-in, but this does not justify the price of the hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

I stayed at this hotel twice in the past year. The location is convenient if you're in town for business with the State. I think you pay a premium for the location. On my first trip, I had to call the hotel 3 times before the hotel shuttle picked me up at the airport. Breakfast was horrible. I ordered eggs benedict which I had to send back because the dish was not edible. Andrew's down the street is a good choice for lunch. I stayed in a newly renovated room which was nice. Unfortunately, the wrong shower fixture was installed during the renovation process so I had to call the front desk and wait for hotel staff to replace the shower fixture before I could shower in the morning.

I was very disappointed after my first stay at this hotel. It wasn't as bad the second time because I arrived with low expectations. Both of my trips were for business so location was more important to me than service or value. I will consider staying at this hotel again if business takes me to Tallahassee. I would probably stay elsewhere if I'm in town for leisure.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

The only positive about this hotel is the location (near the Capitol, etc.) and one very nice bellman who was very helpful. Everyone else was surly or unhelpful. My room was so noisy (whistling pipe sound that continued all night long), and so were my friends'. We got no sleep whatsoever.

I tried entering two different rooms before I finally got one, on my third attempt, that was unoccupied. Numerous other people came to the front desk saying the same exact thing. No one cared.

I am not sure the convenience is a big enough factor to warrant staying here. Next time, I will just drive and park.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

Had business in downtown Tallahasse - Stayed one night. Hotel is convenient to state bldgs. Nice view from Upper floor ( 13), Bed was very comfortable. The toilet paper in the bowl when I walked in; and the ant that crawled out of the Hotel menu when I opened it should have tippped me off. Hotel is pretty worn down - general stains on carpeting and walls throughout. There was some type of large, free-standing, constantly (loudly) running dehumidifier in my room. Put that next to a fairly loud AC and you get either loud, cool dry room or a warm, humid, moldy-smelling room - pick one. Very small gym 1 cross trainer, 1 treadmill, 1 bike, small universal. Ugly pool in the middle of a 4th floor parking lot. I borrowed a modem from the front desk and was charged $100. They did not remove the $100 from the bill when I checked out. It took three calls and a threat to the manager before it got removed. So triple-check your bill before you leave. Cool Grindz next door is a nice little coffee shop and Andrew's Capitol Grill is 2 blocks down the street - both decent and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Errors on bill
  • Tips/Secrets — Triple-check your bill before you leave.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

I was there for a conference. Stayed 5 nights. Toilet was broken the whole time. I was tired of complaining, so the last 3 days i took the lid from the toilet tank and placed it on the floor and flushed by manually pulling the flapper. So much for water conservation, toilet ran all the time except when I turned it off the valve. This was the 3rd room for me. The 1st wreaked with smoke, the 2nd was next to the elevator and listened to that all night.
Others in my group had problems also: Checked into dirty rooms, elevator noise, and occupied rooms. Our event coordinator complained everyday and got no results either. The staff, including the manager could care less. I never even got an apology. There was even more examples of extremely poor service from personnel, but I am tired of complaining about this hotel. Hilton should ashamed. They need to clean house, starting at the top.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

The rooms are clearly in better shape than they used to be. We found ours to be clean, comfortable, and the view of the Federal Courthouse was nice. A minor complaint (my partner probably wouldn't call it minor as it woke him up throughout the night) is that the air conditioner in the room doesn't allow you to run the fan continuously with the A/C. You have to choose either A/C or fan. The A/C clicks on frequently, making a bit of noise. Light sleepers will have trouble with this, if they want a cool room at night. The staff at the front desk were pleasant but not particularly well informed. They couldn't provide much information about the downtown area, nor did they direct me to the visitor's center, which I found on my own. It's only two blocks away from the hotel and had plenty of maps, brochures, etc. The restaurant food was good, though I eat vegan and there was little to nothing on the menu that worked for me. We made a meal out of sides and a house salad, which turned out to be very good and more than enough to fill us up. We called the front desk on our first morning to report that we had no regular coffee in the room and were told that the hotel had none because it was on back-order. We were invited to come downstairs and get coffee for ourselves. We had regular coffee in the room the next morning but it tasted like dirty water. There is a coffee shop next door, just beside the entrance to the parking garage, that's quite good. My partner reported that the workout room is half the size of a guest room and feels like a closet. Given that we would want to rent a car to get around the city anyway, the central location isn't enough to make us stay here again. We'd look elsewhere next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Address: 101 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
#7 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check-in complete with complimentary chocolate chip cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Doubletree
Doubletree Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.