We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hairball from Hell!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7774   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hairball from Hell!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

After a long day of travel, a very late arrival, two kids very tired. In room, sink stopped up! Pulled stopper, one of the worst hairballs ever seen! Nasty, now how was the roomed cleaned? Contacted desk, sent housekeeping to clean nasty crap out of sink. Had we weren't so tired and the kids asleep, would have left. They were so concerned about us being happy, they knocked $6.00 off our one night, $170.00 bill! Hilton customer care said they would allow the local management address the matter. It has been almost 2 wks, no one has contacted us, so much for customer service!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    218
    118
    61
    31
See reviews for
215
84
59
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've read lots of comments about this hotel, especially about the musty odor, etc. Guess we lucked out because we had a great room on the 13th floor. I've stayed before and always had a nice room.
Only complaint was the breakfast buffet. They claim that it was voted the best buffet breakfast in Tallahassee. It must be the only one! It starts at 6:30 a.m. We were there at 8:30 and already the eggs were dry and cold, the biscuits could be used as hockey pucks! I literally could not break mine apart. Coffee, as always in Hilton brands, was too strong. But that's just my taste. I guess others like it or they would have cut back on the coffee amounts in the pot before this. I would advise that you check out the buffet before ordering. If everything looks fresh, by all means, enjoy. If not, order off the menu and get a hot meal. The fruit was excellent. And staff is just awesome at all levels. We told the waitress about the food and she was most apologetic and went straight to the restaurant manager to let her know. My husband stayed there through lunch and said that meal was very enjoyable. So they do know how to make a good meal.
Great location, close to the Capitol which is nice during session. Not a far walk which is good because there's never any parking around the Capitol.
We will definitely stay there again and just pay attention to the breakfast buffet. We like the hotel and the staff very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Management very accomodating. Room very nice. Lobby very nice. Could use some renovation on floors, ie carpet etc. overall very good

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Doubletree Tallahassee has an amazing location, walking distance to the Capital building, surrounding restaurants and bars. Also you are a less than a mile from FSU's campus. The lobby was nice and the staff was friendly. Besides that, this hotel sucks. Keep in mind this hotel is considered a 3 star hotel. First off, before even getting into my room, the hallway smelled like a mix of vomit and musty air and made me gag just walking through it (try not to stay on the 4th floor...visited other floors and it did not have the smell). Once inside the room, the floor looked disgusting with multiple stains and was probably the dirtiest floor I ever seen in any hotel ( did not even take my socks off when walking on the carpet it was that bad). The wallpaper in the room was pealing due to high humidity (room also had a de-humidifier). As for the bathroom, the shower's liner and curtain had mold and mildew on it and looked disgusting. The room also had a musty odor and did not have that clean hotel room smell. I was glad the bed, sheets and towels were clean and the room did have new looking furniture and television but besides that I was disappointed

Room Tip: ask for a renovated floor and room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTLH, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
On behalf of the Doubletree by Hilton Tallahassee we are delighted to let you know that our top goal is for our guests to feel comfortable. We are happy that you were treated well with our friendly staff. There are certain times of the year where our hotel is busier than others and are sorry that you had to wait on our shuttle. We have a schedule book for departures in our lobby and would be more than willing to take your name down for future departure flights. Our hotel takes our guests comments and concerns very seriously. We are actually in the process of doing our renovations on carpet entry ways, and landing on certain floors, which will help tremendously. We invite you to speak to our front office manager Tyler.Chesson@hilton.com to answer any additional questions you may have regarding the next visit to Tallahassee and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were looking at colleges and decided to stay at this hotel do to its proximity to FSU. Check-in was fast, friendly and courteous. The check-in staff was actually a FSU junior and she provided valuable insight about touring the campus. This hotel has a definite worn out feeling to it. The carpet is a little stained and frayed in the hallways and they kept the hallway lighting extremely low. Our room looked dated and worn and had a slight musty smell. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. The food and service was great! Both are mattresses were uncomfortable and we all had a restless night. Basically the hotel staff is excellent, but DoubleTree needs to update their hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTLH, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
We are always happy to hear that the staff of our hotel was helpful and friendly. Our top goal is for our guests to feel comfort and ease. We always take our guests comments and concerns into consideration and are happy to announce that we have begun renovations on carpet and are in the process of redoing the floors, entry ways, and landing on certain floors. We are so very sorry that you did not have a good night sleep. We invite you to talk to our front office manager Tyler.Cheson@hilton.com regarding a more comfortable room for your liking when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip for several nights. As with many of the other folks who reviewed this hotel, I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. My room was spacious but I also found it to be not so clean--the carpet had some strange smells and in some places there was visible dirt on it. The iron in my room was so caked with dirt that I didn't take my chances with it on my work clothes. Otherwise, the room was very nice, with a lovely view of the capitol.

There is no free breakfast or free wireless internet in the rooms (you have to go to the lobby for that) which is a big downside for business travel. For food, there is a Starbucks in the lobby but the lines can be long and the service very slow.

I used the airport shuttle on my return to the airport, and had to wait a long time for the shuttle (I left 45 minutes later than I had thought we would). Fortunately I left a lot of extra time for getting to the airport, so it wound up not being an issue. However, if you choose to use the airport shuttle, you should definitely plan around this!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

There's a lot to be said for being able to find excellent accomodations at a moment's notice. Even tho we arrived late in the day, the room met our expectations, the staff was friendly and capable, and we had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Address: 101 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#7 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check-in complete with complimentary chocolate chip cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Doubletree
Doubletree Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.