We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7774   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Had to drop our teen off at FSU's summer camp ... after a 12 hour drive, the Doubletree Hotel in Tallahassee was perfect for a night's recovery before hitting the road again the next day. We received warm cookies at check-in and were able to get a room with two beds, even though the reservation clerk on the phone told me there were only king beds available. The parking garage had ample parking spaces and we did not have to pay the five dollar parking fee advertised on the hotel website. Easy entry from parking garage to our floor. Hallways seemed a little run down, but our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Coffee makers in the room were convenient, but there's also a small Starbucks in the hotel lobby. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. We already have a reservation for our return trip next week!

Room Tip: Great restaurants in walking distance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    219
    118
    61
    31
See reviews for
216
84
59
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

When I got here and checked in the front desk employees were very nice. The parking garage is very tight and steep - hated it. The $6 charge to self park is a bit annoying. When I got to my room it was clean but the cover was left off the air conditioner and was propped against a wall to reveal a dusty AC. Not the best look. But the room was clean and comfy so no complaints there. They charge you $9.95 for 24 hours of "high speed" internet access -- which isn't high speed at all - it's fine for browsing simple web pages but don't bother trying to watch a YouTube video. The view from the room was nice. When I checked out the only person working the front desk seemed more interested in chatting on the phone, and barely spoke two words to me. But luckily every other employee I encountered was very nice. The only way I would recommend this hotel would be if you got it at a discounted rate like I did. Otherwise, I don't think it's worth it for the posted rate.

Room Tip: Use a discount travel site, not worth full price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in room 508. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel to the moment we checked out we were treated like first class visitors. We are a family of 4, 2 kids 10 & 12. My kids say it was the best hotel ever. Helped that they were greeted with waters and the best chocolate chip oatmeal cookies ever! GREAT front desk staff. Remembered your name. WOW! Great porters and housekeeping department as well!! Go here and you will NOT be disappointed with the service.

Hotel close to everything. Capitol, children's museum, FSU. Great farmers market Saturday morning right across from the front door of the hotel, Starbucks in the lobby, ate at Andrews capital grill. Good food, great waiter!

WILL return!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

When I pay the price I did for this room I expect better housekeeping. The carpet was gritty and when I got down on the floor to do my morning stretch I could not believe the junk, trash, and general grundge I saw under the dresser. Doesn't anyone sweep under the furniture anymore? Also, in the dining room, they need to dust the center woodwork between the booths. The lobby was nice and the lobby staff was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTLH, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
On behalff of the Doubletree Tallahasse we would like to apologize for the incoviences you encountered at our hotel. We would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our cleanliness in our hotel is very important to us. The problems you encountered were not up to our standards and we will be making the appropriate changes. If you would like to talk about this further please contact our director of housekeeping, Alma.Sohns@hilton.com. Again, we apologize for the trouble and next time we can assure you this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I decided that Doubletree hotels are a crapshoot - some are clean and well-maintained, some are not. Our family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 11 & 13) stayed here the 2nd week of June. My husband I stayed here 2 or 3 years ago, and I'm wondering, what happened to this hotel?! When we stayed previously, I remember the hotel being immaculate and well-maintained, and we enjoyed our stay very much. This time, no so much! Dirty furniture, multiple stains on carpet, mildewy bathroom, peeling wallpaper, but all these things are maintenance issues, i.e. things that hotels need to take care of periodically, not entirely related to daily housekeeping. Will post photos of examples. We were only booked for one night, but if we were staying longer I would've asked for another room (mostly to see if all the rooms were in the same dilapidated condition!). We won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTLH, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Our number one goal is the comfort and luxury of our guest. DoubleTree by Hilton Tallahassee would like to apologize for the discomfort of your stay at our hotel. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We have recognized some of the maitence issues and are currently in the process of renovating some areas of our hotel. Next time you are in town I invite you to talk to our front office manager, tyler.chesson@hilton.com. At the DoubleTree by Hilton we strive to accommodate our guests in the best possible way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I, too, stayed for FSU Freshman Orientation. Arrival was quick, also got discount for FSU parent, free wi-fi & parking. (But had o call frot desk to remin them of thi a it ws on my bill anyway, they did promptly take care of this.)

Strike #1- had a connecting door which I could hear ALL going on in other room when returned for the evening, until 3AM!!! Got 3 hrs of sleep. I asked the front desk, the 2nd night, if same couple in that rm, not, so kept room, but, even w/ a quiet couple, just talking, you could hear all of their converstions, tv, shower, etc. I've never been in a hotel when this has been such an issue, to the point that I wouldnt return here. We travel a LOT. This is not the norm.

Strike 2- LOW garage, beware. When returned about 930 from Orientation, all parking on levels I could park full, had to park on the street, had to have car moved prior to 8am when meters begin.

Strike 3- Great toilettres, agree, but the bathroom wasnt cleaned well, the seams and under tub molding are nasty, aged. The toilettres and plush towels can deceive.

Not close enough to FSU campus to walk comfortably back and forth so I dont really see the advantage of being this close but giving up the amenities of other hotel which cost the same, are MUCH nicer and w/ a breakfast. Just my toughts....

Room Tip: No free internet or pking unless w/ promo w/ FSU
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTLH, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Congratulations on the recent acceptance of your child to the University. On behalf of the DoubleTree by Hilton Tallahassee, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. At the DoubleTree by Hilton we strive to accommodate our guests in the best possible way and therefore we will be incorporating your comments to our renovations plans. Next time you are in town I invite you to reach me directly at tyler.chesson@hilton.com so that I may personally reserve a peaceful room for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Doubletree Hotel in Tallahassee is a short car ride to/from the Florida State University campus. We stayed 2-nights at this hotel.
My sister and her daughter traveled with my husband and me to Tallahassee, for her daughter's freshman orientation program. The complementary toiletries were great! We all found our rooms to be clean and were spacious and comfortable. The front desk staff was efficient and friendly enough. The cookies were good, too. We used the business center's PC and enjoyed the free service. TIP: If you are going to FSU for the freshman/transfer student orientation program make sure when booking to tell the reservationist. You’ll save approximately $25.00 per night.

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honors Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Address: 101 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#7 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check-in complete with complimentary chocolate chip cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Doubletree
Doubletree Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.