We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Riffa, Bahrain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Slightly Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Yes, it's been updated - new carpet, mattresses, etc. There were still roaches in the bathroom, both tiny ones, and monster ones. The bathtub drain was very slow, leaving one ankle-deep in water after a shower. Ground floor rooms which face the street are QUITE loud, especially if there are rowdies in the parking lot. The first floor is odd, from the lobby you must walk down a flight of stairs... there is *no* elevator. There's a service thing for wheelchairs, but it says not to use it for luggage carts... how odd.

Nice linens, nice beds, coffee was mediocre in the lobby, I chose not to try the on-site restaurant due to other members of my group's reactions. Across the street is a Macaroni Grill.... go there instead.

Pool is pretty, and looked clean. All in all, it's an "old lady" hotel that's just had a budget facelift, but still has old bones. *shrug*

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    45
    50
    36
See reviews for
72
22
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redington beach, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

The staff was consistent friendly and attentive. I was especially impressed with the general manager. He has his desk in the lobby making himself available and accessible to everyone.
For cleanliness and service, I give this hotel a 10.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Mall is across the street. My girlfriend spent entirely too much money.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

Staying here for business is OK...but for a Holiday Inn, the place is below par. The restaraunt has a poor selection of generally bad food. Would recommend the Hampton Inn down the street for better quality and cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

It's major selling point is its closeness to downtown, literally minutes away. The price was adequate for what I received. Sufficient parking but the hotel is built on a hill so to get from the lobby to upstairs floors with your luggage, you need to descend a few steps to get to the upstairs elevator. At the other end of the building, the elevator is on the same level as the parking lot, but you need your room key to enter. Join their membership club before booking and receive a free upgrade to their deluxe rooms which include a microwave and refrigerator which can offset the non-free breakfast.

Exercise room consisted of a cable tv, 2 treadmills and a stairmaster. Free use of Gold's Gym in the next door stripmall by showing your room key. Enough shopping and eating possibilities close by including a Publix grocery store a short distance away on the Apalachee Parkway.

They were in the process of replacing the carpeting on the first floor when I stayed there from 12/19 - 22.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2005

Stayed here while visiting some family in town. It's an older hotel that's seen some better days, but for $69 a night, it did the job. It is right on Apalachee Parkway, and I mean right on it. Above average street noise in the room so bring some ear plugs if you are sensitive. The front desk staff was friendly. We were "upgraded" to the "executive" floor which is the top floor which means a fridge and microwave. The "non-smoking" room smelled quite smoky but not terribly so. The bathroom has just enough room to turn around in it. The room just had this slight mustiness to it. On the plus side, it is very close in to town.

A year ago I stayed here and had breakfast in the restaurant. Don't make the same mistake. Go to Jenny's lunch box on the corner of Park and Magnolia if you appreciate a funky local breaksfast place.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2005

I stayed at this Holiday Inn for a little less than a week--and at first, was a little dismayed by the outward appearance of the hotel. It's a bit older inside and out--but once inside my room, I found it to be quite well kept, clean, and comfortable. I can't say much as to the hotel's amenities, but my stay there was quite pleasant. Great TV service--we're talking dozens of clear channels, possibly as many as 70 or so. I'll probably be staying there again next week, as I'm working locally.

It's across the street from a CVS Pharmacy, Borders, Best Buy, and Office Depot (or Staples, I can't remember which)--and has an Ale House restaurant, Olive Garden, and Applebee's within walking distance. I only wish there was a Grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2005

We stayed here the last week in September. Check-in was quick and easy. Room clean on arrival but housekeeping was "hit or miss" throughout our stay. The first day we left the hotel at noon only to be told that housekeeping had left for the day so our room would not be cleaned. Fresh towels were available at the front desk. Other times housekeeping cleaned but didn't replace all towels meaning another trip to the front desk. We wanted to change a travellers cheque - girl on the front desk didn't seem to know what one of these was!!!! She had to find a manager to ask whether she could cash it! Swimming pool a good size - sun loungers available but again no towels - you guessed it - had to go to the front desk! Parking not a problem - plenty of spaces. Hotel in a convenient location for city centre and local shops. Didn't eat at the Tallahassee Ale House so can't comment.
Probably wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol

Address: 1355 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.