We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Estero, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were hesitant about booking a room at this hotel because it had not gotten very good reviews. But on the contrary, it was quite nice. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The staff was exceptionally nice. We even met the general manager in the elevator, and she talked with us at great length about what they were going to do to update the hotel. The complementary breakfast in the morning was very good and the woman working kept it clean and picked up and wiped up so it never got messy looking. The only downside we could see was the bathroom, it was not overly large and the bathroom door opened Inward so it made it difficult to navigate. It would also help if they added a vanity somewhere else in the room, since the room was large enough to accommodate that. All in all, a good stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    47
    50
    36
See reviews for
72
22
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The pictures on the internet made it look like a fancy place but once inside it wasn't any different than the last hotel we stayed in that was $15.00 per night cheaper. They did have a better breakfast, that included waffles that you make yourself and bacon, eggs and grits. The woman working the breakfast area was very friendly and helpful. We were only here one night on a road trip . The rooms were inside hall entry with elevator. Nothing special about this place but no complaints either .

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and we are leaving to go to another hotel. Once we walked in the whole room smelled of bleach. There was hair in the bathroom from previous quests or housekeeping and also on the sheets. We even found our tv remote tucked under the fitted mattress set. At least the front desk was nice but besides that, We defiantly will not be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

PAID $260 for this room and it was terrible. The place is in dire need of remodling, but the real issue is the heavy smell of mold. Don't book a room here unless you are desperate. I SPOKE to an individual at the front desk and was told they'd check into it...follow future reviews to see if they have.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Booked hotel in September for FSU graduation. The Holiday Inn became marriott in the meantime. This place is in dire need of a remodel. Our room smelled dank and the carpet felt very dirty. Make sure to wear flip flops at all times,even in the shower. The sink would not drain. The towel rack in the bathroom was very rusty. My son found a spider in his bed. We came back one day and our room keys would not work. Went to the front desk and was told not to put them next to metal or it would make them not work. Really? Funny mine or my husband's keys were not next to metal or magnets. Neither were the people in line behind us that were also locked out of their room. If you have issues with your card keys don't try to pass it off on the guests. A simple apology would suffice. I vote this place shut down for a total renovation.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

When we arrived we had hope - lobby was reasonable and there was an Applebee's attached. We spent three nights here for a conference, and I would not return.

The rooms were dark and dingy. They were far from clean, and there were problems with theft while we were there (not us, but we locked everything up, every day). We were cold at night since there was only a sheet on the bed. When we went to the front desk to ask for blankets (there were none in the room), we were told they didn't have any, and that they were sold out so they couldn't take them from another room. I've worked in hotels before, and I have trouble believing they don't own spare blankets in their laundry room.

We stayed on the ground floor, and there were some VERY loud guests that would return at night and talk in the hallway until at least midnight. Not once did the front desk ask them to call it a night or leave the hall, and every time I had to walk out there in my PJs and ask them to take their conversations elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol

Address: 1355 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.