We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip, great price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quick trip, great price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I needed a quick overnight stay and this place offered great rates & stellar service. I had a HUGE room with adjoining side room. Clean sheets & free breakfast. Would definitely stay here again - especially if on a budget. Pedro at the front desk was very helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HITallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are grateful to have you as our guest. Since we are after excellence and the satisfaction of our customers, you can be sure that we will do our best to maintain the quality of our service at its best price. We can't wait to serve you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    47
    50
    36
See reviews for
72
22
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel gives you the illusion that it is nice, but don't let the exterior fool you. It really needs revitalization. The floor we stayed on the air did not work in the hallway and it was morbidly hot and had an odor there. The bed was lumpy and the room were dingy. The breakfast buffet was however the best part of this stay. The staff was friendly and it helped being close to the Applebees.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HITallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience incurred during your stay at our hotel. Since we are eager to make things right at all times, you can be sure that we will address all the issues you have with our hotel, especially our air conditioning, ambiance, room and bed. We are happy that you appreciate our breakfast buffet and customer service. We will be exceptionally grateful if you will give us a chance to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Buliding and rooms are old and worn. The entry farthest from front door is suppose to be key entry only. However, that was broken and anyone could access hotel lobbies anytime. The continental breakfast was bleak with just white bread (no muffins or bagels), eggs, grits, some fruit and some packages cereals. Very disappointing stay. Could not recommend. The only positive was that an Applebee's was connected to hotel and that was nice for a drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HITallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Our sincerest apologies for what you have experience during your stay at our hotel. Since we pursue the satisfaction of our customers, rest assured that your concern regarding our rooms, front door, and continental breakfast will be taken care of. We appreciate your fair review about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our trip round Florida. The welcome was alright, however you could tell they had a busy evening ahead (being tourists we had no idea there was a major football game the following day and everyone had come to Tallahassee for it!!). Our room was fine, nothing special but clean, maybe a little dated to be honest. We went to the Applebee's next door for dinner and settled early, slept fairly well. They provide 'breakfast' in the morning, but when we went along, tables did not seem to have been cleaned and it was very much a free-for-all, 1 of our party is vegetarian and there really was not much for them, as supply's that had ran out were not replenished even though there was an hour left before breakfast was due to finish. Would I stay here again? Yes I would but I would not bother with the breakfast and I would find somewhere else as we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HITallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience you had at the time of your stay with us. We appreciate your fair comment and as we are aiming to provide exceptional service to all our customers, consider that all your concerns regarding our room, dining area, and the supply of our breakfast are noted for our improvement. We are glad you would still want to stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed in August 2013. The hotel is in need of refurbishment every thing is worn. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull. There is an Applebees sports bar connect to the hotel which is a plus. The free continental breakfast is a nice touch but the room was very crowded. there is an outside swimming pool which was well maintained.
Would use again for an over nite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HITallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for a fair feedback regarding our hotel. We are happy to know that you appreciate our customer service and free continental breakfast. Concerning the matters related to our hotel’s ambiance and room condition at the time of your stay, be at peace that we will do our best to address them. As it is part of our goal to bring satisfaction to our dear customers, we will continue to maintain our quality service and improve the areas you are concerned with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

On July 29th 2013 we had the misfortune of staying 1 night in this hotel on the way down to Orlando, the rooms are basic, The rooms(2) were paid for in advance by our travel agent, but despite this there was a bill for $00.00 put through my door ?? ok,
in the morning as we were leaving the receptionest said there is a problem with my American Express card ?? as I don't own one, I told her so then she said "well how you pay" I explained that the rooms (2) were paid for in advance by the travel agent, she could not understand what a travel agent was and as I don't speak Spanish she finally said "ok I fixit"
not thinking that when we booked in she took a copy of my Barclay card, After we left,she charged my card/me for one room for one night, which I didn't find out untill after the holiday and I was back home in the UK, I am STILL waiting to get a refund from them and it's now October, I have been in touch with the travel agent and they are doing what they can,I have contacted Holiday Inn's, so far nothing. I got NO recipt for the credit card bill, so Barclays are limited as to what they can do,
So in the mean time these thieves are getting away with it. So if you have the misfortune to stay there make doubely sure you have EVERYTHING when you leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICapitolCenter, Manager at Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Billy D,
We appreciate responsible feedback from our guests. It seems your overall stay with us was good while in Tallahassee.
This billing situation was unfortunate however the hotel was not able to get an authorization on the TA credit card provided. We have recently obtained the authorization needed and credited your card. Like all business we require payment at the time of service. With the many channels available to book reservations sometimes things don't work as expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this location for 3 nights while moving my son into college. I liked the location on Apalachee Parkway, finding it to be an easy ride to FSU. The hotel was at high capacity at this time which may have contributed to our problematic stay. Examples: Our phone cord would not stay in the base of the phone making it useless. We requested a roll-away when making our reservation and every morning and evening of our stay but one never became available. Resorting to a bedroll on the floor, we had trouble getting the extra bedding and pillows from housekeeping. Every time we returned to the hotel, our key cards did not work and we had to go to the front desk and have them replaced. The room itself was adequate but dated and some trash was missed by the maid from the prior occupants (such as an open lotion bottle behind the wastebasket ).
On the positive side, I was carrying an awkward cardboard box to my room and a helpful employee insisted on carrying it upstairs for me. The breakfast room and front desk staff were courteous and apologetic when we reported our difficulties although ineffective in resolving them. The complimentary breakfast was appreciated and offered a nice combination of hot and cold selections.
Two other general points - the hotel is set up awkwardly with a set of stairs heading down a flight where the main elevator is located. There is a service type elevator to take you down those steps, but the whole arrangement is not optimal. We had a family member recovering from a leg injury so it was more noticeable how difficult it was to have to climb stairs or use the dual elevator system. The second point was the limited parking. There was literally no available parking spots each time we arrived back at the hotel. Fortunately for us, we had a temporary handicap sticker so were able to park in a handicap spot, but otherwise I am not sure where we would have ended up. The first night, before an available handicap spot opened up, the desk clerk was running around outside trying to find us a parking space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear MAbelini,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are glad you found our location convenient. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we let you down on some aspects of your stay. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol

Address: 1355 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.