We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in a hurry to return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 Apalachee Pkwy., Tallahassee, FL 32301-2020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not in a hurry to return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this hotel to visit our daughter at FSU.

Pros: proximity to FSU and to Governor's Square Mall and many restaurants. Friendly service upon check-in. Large refrigerator in the room and comfortable bed, with the exception of the pillows (see comment below). Large vanity in bathroom with lots of counter space.

Cons: bad smell upon entering the property in the lobby, which continued into the room...just kind of a stale smell. The bathroom was old and needed updating and a corner shelf in the bathtub was broken and just laying on the tub rather than being mounted on the wall. Towels were very thin and we only received two of each (2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, and 2 washcloths). Instead of normal bed pillows, the bed had tiny square pillows (the size of throw pillows), which were not very comfortable. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, grits, sausage gravy and breakfast breads...no meat at all, which leaves only eggs for those who do low carb. Cold items included cereals and yogurt.

Acceptable for one night, but I would not go out of my way to return. We go to Tallahassee often to visit our daughter and this is not a hotel I'd book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
35
29
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Front desk was outstanding helping me out with a situation caused by an online service. Not their issue but they went out of the way to help me. Thak you Mr. Bhula.

The hotel is located between a Kohls and Target so it's location was perfect for picking up college supplies. The cost of the room is reasonable since you are in the capital / downtown area.

Good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern States
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here previously, I was hoping this property had not fallen to the "Quality" standardsso many others in this chain have sunk to. This place hasn"t! The horrendous speed bumps are still present. The elevator is slow. The decor seems to be a mismatch of swatch sales, it really makes no sense. Thats it,that is all the negatives. I was warmly greeted upon check in, my room waiting for me. It was on the third floor, the green wall location. When the elevator doors open you are greeted by an entire wall of day glo freen with a few randomly placed mirror pieces. This has nothing to do with the otherwise muted purple, gold and blue. The room had a king bed, firm enough for support but still soft enough for "nesting"/ There also was a standard writing desk, plush chair/foot stool, mcro fridge, flat screen TV. The linens in the restroom were thick and fluffy, while those on the bed lend toward threadbare. There was no comforter or spread, just 2 sheets offering little protection from the elements!!Overall a nicely appointed room. The air conditioning was a beast. I actually had to get up in the middle of the night and turn it up as I was freezing, something that never happens!. Breakfast this morning consisted of the usual dry goods and pastries, hash browns, sausage gravy, eggs,a pretty nice spread Although I did not partake, it was visually and aroma filled appealing. I did not use the gym, nor do I know if one was present. There was a notice in the elevator stating if a key was shown at the WMCA across the sreet, admission was free. Half of the front desk service folks could have been a little more knowledgeable about the area and things around there, as after all a desk clerk is our tour guide! Overall a very pleasant stay, I hope this is my new "regular" hotel in Tally! This hot

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I almost missed the Quality Inn and Suites in three different ways – and all three showed what a great location and bargain this hotel is:

• I almost drove right past it – located a block away from a shopping mall, and right between Target and Kohl’s. With a number of great restaurants and night spots, this is an excellent location, but make sure to look for the green “Quality” sign.

• The hotel is NOT near the interstate – it’s a good ten-minute drive away. That means it’s much closer to the State Capitol, local Colleges and Universities and other state offices, so it’s also a very convenient location.

• All other hotel options in this area are Hilton or Marriott properties…with the rates to prove it! I was looking for a mid-priced hotel with higher-end features and cleanliness – and the Quality Inn and Suites was exactly what I hoped for…

Check-in was a breeze and very friendly. The entire property smelled fresh and clean, and there were no problems with any areas of the hotel that I could see. The room was outstanding – clean, large and included a hairdryer in the expanded bathroom area. An outstanding bed, flat screen TV, in-room coffee and a micro-fridge made this an A+! Perhaps the best two features weren’t noticed until the next morning. A free pass to the YMCA gym located across the street and an expansive and outstanding southern-style breakfast buffet that’s complementary for guests. Finally, the pool was rather large, and provided a cooling relief on this hot August day!

Room Tip: Nice pool and forest views (and very quiet) from the north-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Maybe there have been updates since the poor reviews I see posted here. I travel weekly and typically stay in 3-3.5 star chains. It was actually very random that I ended up in this facility and I couldn't be more surprised. Excellent in this price point! Management has gone above and beyond- my suite is beautifully furnished and squeaky clean. I would recommend this particular property! I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your positive feedback. Yes, I had to step in at Front Desk & fired 2 agents who were failing to meet or exceed the expectations of our guests in delivering an exceptional service that our guests are accustomed to. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and our accommodations. On your next visit, I would welcome an opportunity to meet you in person. Thanks again!!

-Rick Bhula
General Manager
Cell: 850-766-5808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have NEVER had a bad experience at the Quality Inn & Suites. From the Director of Operations and the rest of the staff have always been kind, helpful and will do everything to make your stay pleasant. I TOTALLY recommend this establishment. Thank you again for the Great Value and Service.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Jim,

I do remember our interaction while you were at our beautiful hotel. Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. You are a business owner and understand that it takes a lot now a days to manage staff and establishments. I sincerely appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and as always, welcome an opportunity to serve you again in near future. Thanks again !!

-Rick Bhula
General Manager
Cell: 850-766-5808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is not a 2.5 Star Hotel as Priceline rated it .... not even close. Stay here if you want to be disappointed as they really need to address the facility, the staff, the cleanliness even of the lobby. I'm not sure how they are staying in business with places like the Hampton Inn just down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi there !!

I understand your disappointment but have failed to understand your comments and not sure if you have the right hotel. According to our past guests whom had written on this very website & other sites raving about our exceptional services and accommodations, I don't see a cleanliness issues at all. We have a Property Management Program which we follow everyday. For a period of 2 weeks, we did have a staffing issue but non-performers have been fired and we are back on track to exceed every guests expectations. Call me at 850-877-4437 to verify if you actually stayed at our hotel or other Quality Inn. Thanks!

-Rick Bhula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District

Address: 2020 Apalachee Pkwy., Tallahassee, FL 32301-2020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tallahassee
#4 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Capital District hotel is conveniently located close to downtown and the state capital. This Tallahassee hotel is near attractions like Florida State University, Florida A & M University, Tallahassee Community College, Governor's Square Mall, Leon County Civic Center and the Koger Center. Guests of this Tallahassee hotel are invited to enjoy many amenities, including free full hot American breakfast buffet, free local calls, free weekday newspaper, free in-room coffee and free safe deposit boxes.The hotel also has an outdoor seasonal pool and access to the YMCA activities center across the street.Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, full-service business center with copy and fax services and meeting rooms. The Gallery meeting room accommodates up to 50 people and the Solarium accommodates up to 25 people. Audio/visual equipment and refreshments are available through the sales office.All spacious guest rooms include refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, Serta™ mattresses, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. Be sure to ask about the Spa Suites and Family Suites. Handicap accessible rooms can be requested and all guest rooms at this Tallahassee hotel are non-smoking.Whether traveling to Tallahassee for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Capital District hotel is the perfect place for any guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Tallahassee
Quality Inn Tallahassee
Tallahassee Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;