We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2726 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee, FL 32303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
1 review
“Home away from home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Friendly, reliable service that makes you feel at home. I've been coming to Tallahassee recently to work from out of town, and I enjoy the clean, comfortable rooms after driving all day. Tammy was the last desk clerk that handled my check-in and was very professional and personable as with the rest of the personnel I've encountered. Good room, good price, and good service. My home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    95
    75
    39
    29
See reviews for
103
74
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oss, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

During my 1 night stay, there were a lot of (young) people outside all the time. The kind that didn't make me feel safe. People putting chairs out in front of the rooms, gathering there drinking...
People coming from several rooms, going into other rooms (maybe it was a group, at least they knew each other) Even at 02:30 AM (middle of the night) there were still several people outside. Even in the swimming pool.
Then another thing was the awful smell in my room. Very strong mould smell. I was glad to only stay 1 night, felt it would not be healthy to stay there longer with that mouldy air.
Normally when something smells, you get used to it. But here it was present constantly, so really a strong smell. The room itself was fine, very complete and seemed to be clean. But something must have caused a huge mould (maybe under the carpet floor ?) that they couldn't solve I guess.
Lady at the desk was very friendly. WiFi worked fine.
So besides the smell and the other clients, this could be a good place, but unfortunately it isn't.
I will surely not go back there.

Room Tip: kamers in een ander hotel zijn beter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontotoc, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed one night here July 12th 2014 on out way to Miami, FL. Check-in and Checkout was easy. The lady at the front desk was nice. We had a king room. When we checked in and pulled up to the building where our room was located, as soon as we got out the car some random guy comes out his room and as us for a cigarette. The room smelled a little. The internet sucked. The furniture was old. The tv was old because the pictures didn't show right on it.. At 12am in the morning we heard some woman call out the name Keshia by our door. Even though we wasn't going to stay for breakfast Everything smelled good but there was so many people in that small room to eat in. On our way from Miami we picked another hotel to stay at..

Room Tip: If you are looking to stay more than one night. Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Thought this would be a good place to stay, based on the Howard Johnson name and quality. Not the case with this one! Had the feeling that they possibly rented out by the hour or as an extended stay for vagabonds. The room was poor at best. There was mold in the shower, the blanket had holes in it, the TV picture was all messed up, the telephone was so nasty I wouldn't even use it to call the front desk. . However, worse then that was the noise level, guests would sit outside their rooms and yell to each other across the breezeway, the quests in the next room kept us up till about 4AM. Once we were in our room, the front desk assigned keys to our room to three young men who tried to get in. After that we were on high alert the entire night.

Room Tip: There really are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

When we first pulled in its was a little creepy. The rooms were kind of ok after my husband called front desk n demanded unstained bedding, a phone that worked, a working fire alarm, and after I fell in the shower a bath mat. The staff was very nice and tried the hardest. The pool was nice. We ended up staying 5 days. There was some shady type of ppl there at night but for the cost thats what you get.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee

Address: 2726 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee, FL 32303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
Howard Johnson Tallahassee
Tallahassee Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.