We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2726 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee, FL 32303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #31 of 59 hotels in Tallahassee
Tallahassee, Fl
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This Hotel was the second one I looked at upon arriving in town to present a project over the summer. I first looked at hte Red Roof Inn (which is newly renovated, but lacks a free breakdast and is pricey by comparison). The Howard Johnson is surrounded by trees on all sides, and is slightly set back from the road. Rooms face the parking lot, so you do not see the ugly properties nearby. In front of my room was an 80 year old oak tree that they had kept, and added character. On the Front desk, The staff is amazing, and will take care of any issue in less than five minutes time. they have rollaways, ample towels (and if you need more, the receptionist is less than 50 feet away from any room). The rooms have granite counters, separate from the bathrooms, showers with massaging shower heads, ice cold A/C, microfridge, coffeemaker, and plenty of those nice soaps/ shampoos. If you happen to forget toothpaste like I did, they have some at the desk for no charge. The rate included a basic (but quickly replenished) continental breakfast each morning with oatmeal, baked goods, apples, juices, milk, a few kinds of coffee and tea, and cereal. The property has ample parking (even on a busy graduation weekend). I would highly reccommend it to travellers looking for a basic no-frills property with the amenities you need. The only downside is the lack of fitness facilities, and the tiny registration/ breakfast area.

  • Liked — Price/ Front desk Staff/ Housekeeping Staff/ Pool/ Fast Internet
  • Disliked — Lack of Fitness facilities
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    54
    29
    19
See reviews for
75
68
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

This hotel was great for the money. The staff was very friendly and helpful- I got directions all over town! The room we stayed in looked like the bed spreads were pretty new, and the granite counters made it look really nice. Overall, it was a clean room in a quiet area, and I got some much needed rest.

  • Liked — Nice staff and comfortable beds!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

I stayed at this Howard Johnson with my mom and my young child. The room was very clean and the service was simply excellent. It is pretty close to everything, including a shopping mall (about a 20 minute walk).

The continental breakfast included was also fine. If you need to go for work, or even FSU, I would say "Go for it". The area seemed safe to me, and for the price you are paying, you can't go wrong.

I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

This hotel takes pets of any size for an additional $10/pet. Rooms were basic but clean and good sized. There's exterior hallways, so you do get some noise from the street. Linens were clean, but the pillows are thin. There's a microwave/fridge in the room; I used the fridge and it was clean and cold.

We had a room with a king bed; the room was very large, with a sitting area with a small sofa and a coffee table.

There's a free continental breakfast in the morning, but it's not worth walking to the lobby to get it.

Like most HoJo's, this hotel has a little wear on it, but for a good night's sleep after a long drive it's worth the price paid.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2004

It wasn't the best hotel I've stayed in for sure, but it wasn't too bad either. The location was great - close to pretty much everything. The beds were comfortable. The property seemed pretty old - but other than that it was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2003

Horrible, horrible hotel! Smelled of smoke and urine in non smoking rooms. rooms were dirty. When asked for different, better rooms, have to pay extra money. Air conditioning not working in room, no towels.
When we did get our towels we watched as the maid dropped them on the dirty cement before still giving them to us, as dirty and wrinkled as they were. Continental breakfast was very tiny. Only consisted of milk, coffee, about 3 donuts. (and this was before other people could get to it!) Coudn't stand the smell of the cleaning carts, or there cleaning solutions. Would NEVER go there EVER again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, AL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2003

I was pleasantly surprised with the clean and comfortable room I got
especially for the price I paid. The staff was friendly and helpful at
check-in and check-out. Breakfast in the morning was good. Location is
in a very safe area with a lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee

Address: 2726 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee, FL 32303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
Howard Johnson Tallahassee
Tallahassee Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.