We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, giant's beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn to your Saves list
Governors Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, giant's beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a very hot weekend in June while dropping our son off at FSU. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to restaurants, the Saturday morning farmer's market, and - if it hadn't been 100 degrees in the shade - campus. Sunday morning, the valet let us keep our car parked after we'd checked out so we could eat brunch across the street - parking was non-existent.

The staff was top-notch! Courteous, attentive, and friendly. We really felt as if we were returning home when we walked in - a cool respite with friendly faces. The happy hour pours were healthy, and the bartenders did a good job of interacting with the guests.

We stayed in one of the rooms with a porch. The view outside to the bricked courtyard was unimpressive: weedy bricks, an a/c drip line, and the next door restaurant cleaning their kitchen with the door open. The queen beds in the hotel are so high my 6' husband needed a step stool to climb in. Seriously! I've never seen beds so high. Our room only came with one step stool; I asked the maids for another one, but we never got it. The bedside tables were not scaled appropriately for the giant's bed we had. I kept rolling off the bed reaching for things on the table. When I asked about the scale, the front desk staff told me the owners liked to collect antiques. Hopefully, they'll keep looking for a giant's bedside table. (I believe the king sized beds are normal height in the rooms.) The bathroom was huge, and adequately furnished. It was clean. My only moment of panic was a faded stain on the sheets when we climbed in bed that first night. The maids changed sheets for us the next morning.

All in all, I'd gladly stay here, again. I would not spend the extra money for the porch (although the ground floor rooms did not appear to have any windows, so if that is important to you, get the porch!) and I would ask for a regular sized bed height. FSU parent's discount rate was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask about bed height
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We welcome all feedback, good and bad. We are constantly striving to improve, so we will take everything you had into consideration.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you return while your son is attending school at Florida State University. If you ever have any questions or concerns about your stay or an upcoming stay, please do not hesitate to call the hotel at 850-681-6855.

We hope to see you again soon,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    8
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
18
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed here for one night, just some place to lay my head after taking an exam, but they have left me wishing I had another week here. Perhaps it's just the comfortable bed that's allowing me to finally relax from the constant hustle and bustle from the every day life, or maybe it's the extremely friendly staff who talk to you as if you're old buddies, but they sure know how to separate themselves from their competitors. I will most defiantly come back, but for a vacation next time. I have to admit I was not expecting the kind of stay I had! When I left for my exam they wished me luck and upon my arrival back they asked how it went, when I told them I passed I received high fives and a congrats, and since I'm away from friends and family and can't celebrate with them, it was 100% appreciated. I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice room here only problem was the dustbin lorry which arrived very early across the road, we"ll ask for a room at the front next time. Nice bathroom, well equipped room with wifi and comfortable bed.
Staff very nice and helpful. Would stay here again when visiting FSU, an easy walk to the campus.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My daughters and I stayed at the Governors Inn a few weeks ago. I don't normally write reviews but the exceptional service prompted me to do so! Upon arriving we were greeted by Kaleb who was extremely polite and made sure we had everything we needed. We stayed in an executive suite at the far end of the hotel, 2nd floor. He carried our bags, brought extra bedding, served us a complimentary glass of wine (even though we had missed the happy hour by a little bit). We had no problems with noise, as another reviewed mentioned, even though there is a busy restaurant/bar across the street, we never heard a thing. The executive suite was great! High ceilings, plenty of room, 2 tvs, fridge, plenty of extra bedding. The best thing was CEILING FANS! We are from Florida, and can't live without them! For the same cost as a double bed room at the Doubletree next door, we stayed in this huge executive suite, and loved it! Will be staying here again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Front desk and valet staff are above average in hospitality! The location can't be beat if you have any business at or around the Capitol. I was able to walk everywhere I had to go and the room had a loaner umbrella when I left mine in the car!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

There are few hotels close enough to walk 2 blocks to the Capitol, House & Sen. Office bldgs. My favorite among them is Gov. Inn. It's an old fashioned hotel, the rooms are named for each of Florida's many governors and the furnishing/decor is like a B & B. I had a suite on the 3rd floor, which would suck if you had heavy luggage but no problem for an overnight stay. They really could benefit from an elevator. My bed was terrific and the room was spacious, you're not gonna find a 4-poster bed like I had, in a chain motel. The rooms are all different layout and furnishings, no cookie cutter approach here. The bathroom was also big and well designed. It takes a bit for the hot water to reach, no big deal. My only regret was how hectic my legislative visit schedule was and how little time it gave me to enjoy my room. Up on this floor, you don't get any noise from the downstairs bar. The one thing I did notice has been downgraded is their breakfast. It used to feature eggs, bacon, etc. but now it's breads (incl. great asst. bagels), cereal and yogurt. There's also only 1 table for 4 and no other place to sit for breakfast. Luckily, it was just myself and a guy reading his email. I guess the bar would be a good alternate if it's busy. What is still as exceptional as always is the staff & service. They do meet and exceed your needs. The Gov. Inn is not cheap, but neither are the Doubletree or Aloft, their competition. For the $ and the convenience of being close to my venues, it's a worthwhile deal.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best, my room was 302 and there are several more like it on that floor. The rooms close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I always enjoy my stay at The Governors Inn. The 27th annual Tallahassee Winter Festival was this past weekend and though I am a local, I reserved a room at Governors Inn so that I could experience all that downtown had to offer. I wouldn't change a thing!!
I've already reserved a room for New Years Eve! See you soon.

Room Tip: The Loft Rooms are the most unique. There's a real fire place, a private balcony and a spiral st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#16 of 59 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
#14 of 59 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn

Address: 209 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tallahassee
#21 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Governors Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governors Inn is a 41 room boutique hotel prominently located one block from Florida's Capitol Building in Tallahassee. Guests to the recently refurbished Inn enjoy a complete array of services and amenities, some customary, others pleasantly out of the ordinary. Opening onto our lamp and sky lit hallways are 41 rooms and suites, each named for a Governor from Florida's past. European turn down service, complimentary breakfast & cocktails, daily newspapers, valet parking, Wi-Fi services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Governors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.