We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Governors Inn to your Saves list
Governors Inn
209 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
london
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice room here only problem was the dustbin lorry which arrived very early across the road, we"ll ask for a room at the front next time. Nice bathroom, well equipped room with wifi and comfortable bed.
Staff very nice and helpful. Would stay here again when visiting FSU, an easy walk to the campus.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    6
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
14
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My daughters and I stayed at the Governors Inn a few weeks ago. I don't normally write reviews but the exceptional service prompted me to do so! Upon arriving we were greeted by Kaleb who was extremely polite and made sure we had everything we needed. We stayed in an executive suite at the far end of the hotel, 2nd floor. He carried our bags, brought extra bedding, served us a complimentary glass of wine (even though we had missed the happy hour by a little bit). We had no problems with noise, as another reviewed mentioned, even though there is a busy restaurant/bar across the street, we never heard a thing. The executive suite was great! High ceilings, plenty of room, 2 tvs, fridge, plenty of extra bedding. The best thing was CEILING FANS! We are from Florida, and can't live without them! For the same cost as a double bed room at the Doubletree next door, we stayed in this huge executive suite, and loved it! Will be staying here again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Front desk and valet staff are above average in hospitality! The location can't be beat if you have any business at or around the Capitol. I was able to walk everywhere I had to go and the room had a loaner umbrella when I left mine in the car!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

There are few hotels close enough to walk 2 blocks to the Capitol, House & Sen. Office bldgs. My favorite among them is Gov. Inn. It's an old fashioned hotel, the rooms are named for each of Florida's many governors and the furnishing/decor is like a B & B. I had a suite on the 3rd floor, which would suck if you had heavy luggage but no problem for an overnight stay. They really could benefit from an elevator. My bed was terrific and the room was spacious, you're not gonna find a 4-poster bed like I had, in a chain motel. The rooms are all different layout and furnishings, no cookie cutter approach here. The bathroom was also big and well designed. It takes a bit for the hot water to reach, no big deal. My only regret was how hectic my legislative visit schedule was and how little time it gave me to enjoy my room. Up on this floor, you don't get any noise from the downstairs bar. The one thing I did notice has been downgraded is their breakfast. It used to feature eggs, bacon, etc. but now it's breads (incl. great asst. bagels), cereal and yogurt. There's also only 1 table for 4 and no other place to sit for breakfast. Luckily, it was just myself and a guy reading his email. I guess the bar would be a good alternate if it's busy. What is still as exceptional as always is the staff & service. They do meet and exceed your needs. The Gov. Inn is not cheap, but neither are the Doubletree or Aloft, their competition. For the $ and the convenience of being close to my venues, it's a worthwhile deal.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best, my room was 302 and there are several more like it on that floor. The rooms close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I always enjoy my stay at The Governors Inn. The 27th annual Tallahassee Winter Festival was this past weekend and though I am a local, I reserved a room at Governors Inn so that I could experience all that downtown had to offer. I wouldn't change a thing!!
I've already reserved a room for New Years Eve! See you soon.

Room Tip: The Loft Rooms are the most unique. There's a real fire place, a private balcony and a spiral st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First off the service was great. The valets and front desk will go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable as well as being nice people any way. The rooms aren't quite as new as some of the other hotels in Tallahassee, but nice considering it was there before most hotels in Tallahassee. If you are looking for something different than your average chain hotel, this is a great small boutique.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We travel a lot and were tired of the big box chain hotels - found Governors Inn - and what an awesome place! History, ambiance and the nicest people we've ever met. Elizabeth, Kaitlyn, Michael and Caleb made the stay very enjoyable. Only complaint is tv's were small in rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn

Address: 209 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governors Inn is a 41 room boutique hotel prominently located one block from Florida's Capitol Building in Tallahassee. Guests to the recently refurbished Inn enjoy a complete array of services and amenities, some customary, others pleasantly out of the ordinary. Opening onto our lamp and sky lit hallways are 41 rooms and suites, each named for a Governor from Florida's past. European turn down service, complimentary breakfast & cocktails, daily newspapers, valet parking, Wi-Fi services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Governors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.