We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run don't walk from this Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn

Save Saved
You added Governors Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Governors Inn
209 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Run don't walk from this Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just returned from 3 night stay at the Governors Inn in Tallahassee. We booked the Governor's Suite and the room next to it. The Governor suite was more like the stable suite in a 1800 Barn, the hotel need a lot of upgrades and just plain maintenance, the paint in the walls and doors are peeling, the plumbing in the bathroom did not work properly, dust was about 1 inch thick on the furniture, the carpeting had seen better days and I don't think it had been vaccumed in weeks, the refrigerator in the room barely cooled 2 bottles off water, the coffee maker sat on a tray with coffee that was very, very old, we opened a package to discover that it was wet at one time and place back in the tray. There were no outlet by the coffee maker and the wood cabinets were is desperate need of repair. We requested the rooms to be made up after the 1st day and that towels and linen be changed, we also reported the problems with the plumbing. We left the hotel, but I had to return to the room unexpected and the room service was there changing the towels, and picking up garbage, the beds were made but linen was not change as requested, the room service personnel left and never returned to finish the cleaning. They had no vaccum cleaner or intentions to clean. Another observation, the hotel is right across from a night club that host various sororities and the noise and parties go well into 2 AM, so unless you are planning to joint the noisy drunks across the street, don't expect to get any rest. The only positive note of the entire stay was the Front Desk and Vale staff, very very courteous and willing to go out of their way to try and help. Other than that it is not worth the almost $250 + + + per night. Go to the find yourself a better hotel.

Room Tip: Find some other accomodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    6
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
14
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here almost 10 years ago & back then it was pretty nice, even got a free bottle of champagne because it was Valentine's. We came back this year for Valentine's, no champagne & the place hadn't changed a bit! For the price, it was sooo not worth it. It was just an old hotel, walls need paint. Either they should remodel or go down on the price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Looks like a nice small hotel. Hotel website made this hotel seem that this was a great hotel. Horrible to none existent wifi, all kinds of excuses from personnel, equipment couldn't handle the internet for the 5 rooms that were booked... Needed to print flight tickets, had to use hotel assistants computer. When traveling wifi is needed. Black mold in the shower/bath area, brick wall view out of window... Loud air conditioner, Personnel nice, room looked clean, bed comfortable. breakfast okay. No shuttle to airport!! Taxi's service disgusting. Expected better quality for the price of the room. Way to expensive for what you get. I should have taken note to the couple that was leaving as I was checking in, they went to another hotel because they didn't like the room for the price... Won't go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Let me say that the valet staff and the front desk staff were super nice and try very hard to make it a good experience. However, the manager doesn't care and the room cleanliness level is terrible. We checked in and first found that the bedspread was dirty - like someone had stepped on it and possibly even bled on it. The front desk staff came and replaced it when we mentioned it, but wouldn't you think that it would have been all set up on arrival?

The room and hotel is old, but has so much potential if there were more care taken of it. Lighting is poor, carpet is old, furniture is antiquish but doesn't fit the room well.

My wife tried to make the best of it and decided to take a shower. The tub was in desperate need of a serious scrubbing. As soon as she started the water, the tub started filling up. The drain was so clogged it was as if the drain was closed. I unscrewed the drain cap and it was all plugged with hair and soap residue. I called the front desk and the front desk attendant herself came with a bottle of bathroom cleaner spray and CLR. She used the CLR to unplug the drain (weird choice). And whatever she did to clean the tub didn't make a dent.

The televisions are laughable. giant armoires with tvs that maybe have 19" screens at best.

Oh, and Wi-fi is so buggy that it's easier to just log on to the free wifi from the Jasmine Cafe next door.

So we chose to leave about an hour after checking in. When we reached the front desk, the manager was there and she didn't even say one word to us to either try to get us to stay or apologize for our dissatisfaction.

Again I must say that the hotel has so much potential. Someone could invest some money and energy and really make it an outstanding property. For now, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I secured a reservation and received confirmation in November 2012 for Parent's Weekend in Tallahasse in October 2013. I booked through the hotel website and received confirmation via email. Ms Kelsey Montes - Director of Hotel Operations - just contacted me and said they would not honor the rate of $139 that is on my confirmation. The new rate would be $389!!!!. She said she has no idea how I made the reservation and that they are not final when you receive confirmation via email!! What kind of establishment is this????? The Florida Attorney General's Office is being contacted as well as the Better Business Bureau and Dept of Consumer Affairs. If the hotel's website allowed me to confirm a rate, you should be honoring it!!!!! I'll make sure to spread the word of your business practices.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was testifying in Tallahassee in front of State Senate Committees, and needed a hotel. I was booked at the Governor's Inn by my organization. I don't agree with the reviewers who make the place sound like a horid hovel on the bad side of town. (Aren't state government towns all bad anyway?) The room was small and clearly adapted as a boutique hotel from an existing building. It was clean, but not new, and was overpriced. (I paid $200/night). If it is your only option, do be afraid- go for it. If you have other options, explore them. Upside is that it is close to other hotels, FSU (If you're into that kind of thing- GO CANES!!!!) and the FL state capital.

Room Tip: As far away from the front as possible, high up, but there is no elevator, so bring a small bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

old musty inn!Frankly shocked at the quality of the place.We chose a loft studio .IT was disgusting ,blinds in room was broken .the sink in the bathroom was draining at a snails pace.We requested extra pillow ,which looked like old blood stain.We were sooo disappointed .infact we shortened our stay by 2 days as we could not thinking of stay another night.I would never recommend this inn to anybody!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn

Address: 209 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governors Inn is a 41 room boutique hotel prominently located one block from Florida's Capitol Building in Tallahassee. Guests to the recently refurbished Inn enjoy a complete array of services and amenities, some customary, others pleasantly out of the ordinary. Opening onto our lamp and sky lit hallways are 41 rooms and suites, each named for a Governor from Florida's past. European turn down service, complimentary breakfast & cocktails, daily newspapers, valet parking, Wi-Fi services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Governors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.