We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOOK HERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn to your Saves list
Governors Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I secured a reservation and received confirmation in November 2012 for Parent's Weekend in Tallahasse in October 2013. I booked through the hotel website and received confirmation via email. Ms Kelsey Montes - Director of Hotel Operations - just contacted me and said they would not honor the rate of $139 that is on my confirmation. The new rate would be $389!!!!. She said she has no idea how I made the reservation and that they are not final when you receive confirmation via email!! What kind of establishment is this????? The Florida Attorney General's Office is being contacted as well as the Better Business Bureau and Dept of Consumer Affairs. If the hotel's website allowed me to confirm a rate, you should be honoring it!!!!! I'll make sure to spread the word of your business practices.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    7
    12
    5
See reviews for
21
16
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was testifying in Tallahassee in front of State Senate Committees, and needed a hotel. I was booked at the Governor's Inn by my organization. I don't agree with the reviewers who make the place sound like a horid hovel on the bad side of town. (Aren't state government towns all bad anyway?) The room was small and clearly adapted as a boutique hotel from an existing building. It was clean, but not new, and was overpriced. (I paid $200/night). If it is your only option, do be afraid- go for it. If you have other options, explore them. Upside is that it is close to other hotels, FSU (If you're into that kind of thing- GO CANES!!!!) and the FL state capital.

Room Tip: As far away from the front as possible, high up, but there is no elevator, so bring a small bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

old musty inn!Frankly shocked at the quality of the place.We chose a loft studio .IT was disgusting ,blinds in room was broken .the sink in the bathroom was draining at a snails pace.We requested extra pillow ,which looked like old blood stain.We were sooo disappointed .infact we shortened our stay by 2 days as we could not thinking of stay another night.I would never recommend this inn to anybody!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

While the booking was last minute, and I probably was given whatever room was available, try to avoid this hotel if the only room available is the Governor Brown room - 102. Noisy, dirty and very tired and expensive - $250 out the door for one night. The bed linens were at least 10 years old, the tv is a small 13 inch propped up on top of an equally old and tired armoire which served as the closet. Not only could you hear the people next door, you understood their conversation. Then there's the proximity to the lobby - every conversation could be heard. Might be a great location, but it's no excuse for not upgrading the rooms to more quality standards. There are way better options in Talahasse.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Perfect location in the heart of the capitol, but quiet, peaceful, restful and an absolute delight. Love the loft suites with a fireplace complete with Duralogs. Nice continental breakfast in the mornings, and enjoyable beer/wine/soda happy hour in the small lobby gathering area (not a bar that's open to customers) from 5-6. The beds are to die for, valet parking is very convenient, and the marketing deal with the Jasmine Café (20% off if you show your Gov's Inn room key) right around the corner is a great idea. The only drawback, there are a few small maintenance issues that don't seem to get taken care of between visits--housekeeping just props the bathroom cabinet door back up instead of having repaired, and same thing with the blinds--it looks fine as long as you don't touch it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Governors Inn at least five times, and each time it has been a very pleasant experience. My son, who lives in Tallahassee, asked why I stay there, preferring some of the newer kids on the block- The Doubletree and ALoft. While I have stayed at both, I always come back to the Governors Inn, because it reminds me of staying in a friend's cozy home, rather than a sterile hotel. Having said that, I understand his reservations, because this is a real Tallahassee hotel, where you feel they know you and your comings and goings. One time my daughter and her cousin got locked out of the hotel when returning after 1 AM. So, on the plus side, it is a Southern style hotel, nicely decorated with high beams in the lobby area, free breakfast and happy hour from 5 to 6. I have always looked forward to my glass of wine and the last time I visited, after an 8 hour drive from Miami, I rushed upstairs to change, rushed down, only to be told Happy Hour was over. It was 6:05 pm. Obviously, the right thing to do would have been offer me a drink, but the answer from the front desk was "I'm sorry you missed it." Breakfast is good- coffee, fruit, cereals, breads and some delicious granola. CNN was on TV constantly in the lobby and when I asked the girl if the TV was always on that channel she replied "Yes m'aam. We just try to keep it on something neutral." Uh huh. The rooms are named after Florida's Governors and are furnished nicely. There is free internet, complimentary toothpaste and a coffee maker in the room. The location is great, especially if you have kids at FSU, as it is within walking distance of the campus, as well as other attractions like the Natural History and Science Museum. The capitol is right down the street, but if you want to stay during session or parents weekend, make your reservations way in advance. Valet parking is $10 a day. There are many restaurants within walking distance- Harry's, Andrews and there is a discount (20%) for Jasmine Cafe, a sushi/thai restaurant nearby. On the negative side, on my recent stay, the water pressure in the shower was not very strong, there is no gym, gift shop or room service, although they do have "snacks' for purchase in the lobby. Depending on where your room is located, it can be noisy. Stay away from the street and lobby, and there is no safe in your room. The staff is very friendly (except when you want a drink after happy hour), the valet guy was super nice. I paid $134 a night with my AAA discount, which I think is a good deal for a room in Tallahassee. So if you're looking for service with a smile and a hotel with down home charm, Governors Inn is for you. If you're a workout fanatic who craves privacy, this is not your bag baby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Governor's Inn Hotel for two nights Dec.21-23 and we were both extremely happy with ALL aspects of this Hotel. We stayed in the Governor's Deluxe Room 300 with two very comfortable queen size beds at the very top of the hotel. There is no elevator but the walk up the stairs and to the back was not a hassle at all because stopping along the way to read some interesting history made the walk through the hotel more enjoyable.(Each room is named after a past Florida Governor with a brief history of them in a frame by each door.) The hotel as a whole and the room was so beautifully furnished and very very clean! The hotel only has valet parking at $10.00 per day, which I thought was a little on the pricey side, but is understandable considering there is limited parking in that area of downtown. **Here is a tip though: Parking on the streets on the weekends is free, so if you are staying at the hotel during the weekend and can find an empty parking spot, it will save you some money. The staff was so helpful and unbelievably friendly! The nighttime Manager Phil was so attentive to anything we needed and made us feel comfortable throughout our stay. The continental breakfast was a little sparse but I believe it had to do with the fact that they only put out what they think will get used, and the hotel was very limited on guests that weekend because of the Christmas Holiday. Overall, the experience was very memorable and enjoyable. I will definately stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend the Governor's in to anyone staying in the Tallahassee area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Governors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn

Address: 209 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tallahassee
#18 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Governors Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governors Inn is a 41 room boutique hotel prominently located one block from Florida's Capitol Building in Tallahassee. Guests to the recently refurbished Inn enjoy a complete array of services and amenities, some customary, others pleasantly out of the ordinary. Opening onto our lamp and sky lit hallways are 41 rooms and suites, each named for a Governor from Florida's past. European turn down service, complimentary breakfast & cocktails, daily newspapers, valet parking, Wi-Fi services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Governors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.