We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Tallahassee University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Tallahassee University Center to your Saves list
Days Inn Tallahassee University Center
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 W. Tennessee Street, Tallahassee, FL 32304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #55 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    17
    22
    49
See reviews for
50
10
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Value for money. Rooms are ok and the people in the hotel are very kind and helpful. The lamps in one of our bedrooms did not work properly and they were repaired immediately. I liked the donuts at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrugeshjp, Manager at Days Inn Tallahassee University Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for complimenting our staff. We are very proud of them.
Your Krispy Creme Donuts will be waiting for you.


Thanks
Mike
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

For a Tallahassee stay of three days in February 2014, I booked three nights at the Days Inn University Center with some trepidation after heaving read the Tripadvisor reviews. The main lure (besides the price of $43.96 a night with early booking discount) was its location - a mere three minute walk to my meeting site at the Florida State University campus. Perhaps because I remember the budget roadside motels from the 1960s and 1970s, this Days Inn is exactly that down to the heat lamp on the bathroom ceiling and the disposable razor blade slot next to the bathroom sink! To first address some of the complaints of previous reviews, I must say that my room and bathroom were clean, the bed comforter and shower curtain brand new, and there was no room noise. Granted, this was a mid-week stay in the football off season so that the crowd staying at the motel was very well behaved. The only mishap during the stay - a low battery on the room lock one morning which did not allow the electronic card key to work - was resolved within an hour by a locksmith called by the wife of the inn owner Mrs. Chetna Patel as I was having breakfast at 7:00 am. The breakfast, by the way, was coffee, toast, and fresh Danish and a Krispy Kreme doughnut. Yes - plain, with no variety, but please remember that hotels costing four and five times as much a night don't provide even that!! This is a family-run operation with Mrs. Patel's daughters (FSU students) at the front desk. A chain operation - with the usual and miniscule Day's Inn soap and shampoo bottle - but run by a family who obviously love their Indian food (as I do!) so that the smell sometimes lingered in the lobby. But, it was comforting to know that the owners always had a presence on site. Would I stay here for a luxury resort visit to Tallahassee - no. But, if I was on a budget and merely needed a place to stay to conduct state government business or university business (on a non-football weekend), I would certainly stay here again. All in all, very pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room (but only if you don't smoke!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Three days later and I swear I get phantom whiffs of the Indian food/body odor/ mold/cigarette stench that permeates this building. There was dried urine on the toilet, it looked like someone had peed on the toilet paper roll and it dried, there was hair/pubes in the tub/bed, cigarettes butts in the hallways and a big bag of Taco Bell food the previous customer had left in the mini fridge. 'Breakfast' was literally Christmas themed snack cakes from Walmart. We would have had a more peaceful night if we slept in our car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Days Inn Tallahassee University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Tallahassee University Center

Address: 1350 W. Tennessee Street, Tallahassee, FL 32304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Tallahassee University Center 1.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to museums, historic sites, plantations, hiking and biking trails. Enjoy fun in the sun on your Florida getaway at Days Inn Tallahassee University Center hotel. Our Tallahassee, FL hotel near Florida State University offers a prime spot off Highway 90, making it easy to reach capital-area attractions that offer a blend of history, nature and culture. Count on value at our pet-friendly Tallahassee, FL hotel. We offer thoughtful amenities, including refrigerators and microwaves upon request. Get each day off to a bright start with free Daybreak continental breakfast. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or beat the heat in our outdoor pool. Free Wi-Fi Internet access makes it easy to check email from your room or our lobby. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Whether you are in town for football or parents weekend, our Tallahassee, FL, hotel is just minutes from Florida State University and Florida A&M University. With more than 28 museums, an abundance of historic sites and the largest concentration of original plantations in the nation, you can spend days exploring the city. Catch panoramic views from the 22nd floor at the State Capitol Complex or get a dose of local culture at Museum of Florida History. See a southern antebellum at Governor’s Mansion or view Native American earthen temple mounds at Lake Jackson Mounds State Archaeological Site. For fun and adventure just 20 miles away, dive into one of the largest and deepest freshwater springs in the world at Wakulla Springs State Park. DINING OPTIONS: Qdoba Mexican restaurant is adjacent to our hotel in Tallahassee. Dig into delicious sushi and vegetarian options across the street at Mr. Roboto’s Tokyo Grill or grab a slice of hand-tossed doughy goodness at Momo’s Pizza. Indulge in fresh, creative dishes on the shaded patio at Food Glorious Food or feast on hand-cut steaks and gulf seafood in an artsy setting at The Mockingbird Cafe. HOTEL POLICIES: During special events and college game days, we are only able to allow one parking space per paid room. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Tallahassee University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tallahassee University Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Tallahassee University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.