We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch/service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sage

Sage
3534 Maclay Boulevard South, Tallahassee, FL 32312-3914
850-270-9396
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 667 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch/service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stopped by for the first time in early May for a late lunch. Wanted to try something new. Enjoyed it all!! Great service from our waiter. Appetizer, salad, main course, beers, and dessert were all delicious!! FREST fried oysters, wonderful salad, almond crusted trout and shrimp and grits and a fabulous dessert!! Not an inexpensive meal, but worth the price :) Will go back in cooler weather and enjoy outside dinning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great seafood and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Dined here for business dinner with 3 colleagues. Excellent seafood selections and presentation. Very attentive service and overall classy restaurant. Would definitely return next visit......

Tried the linguine with shrimp and scallops. Colleagues enjoyed the salmon. Everything was exceptional.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kent, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Just Short of Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Sage has a slick, modern atmosphere and wonderful service. The food is very good but short of great. For example, fantastic tasting Gulf shrimp and scallops served over linguine were weighed down by a heavy creamy mushroom sauce. Ask a lot of questions and choose carefully and your dinner could be great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Away But Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sage is a wonderful restaurant. Chef prepared food. Seasoned perfect. Limited menu but EVERTHING on the menu is great. Their wine reduction sauce is out of this world. At lunch they have a Quiche & Soup of the day. Quiche is great, large serving with salad. Free refills on drinks. Took a neighbor's child to lunch 1 day, he ordered their Hamburger, said the best ever, we took a bite & agreed, cooked to perfection. Nice Wine Menu. Waiters are very gracious, Seating is nice. Dinner Menu is more Fine Dining & pricey but worth it. A great place to meet an old friend for a long lunch or dinner with friends. Good for a business lunch or dinner. You will not be rushed. Every Date Day my spouse & I go. You will not be disappointed in Sage.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sage is not the rage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife has lunch at the sage every now and then and raved about it. This resulted in my taking fout of us out for a full treatment of Sage cooking. I love sweetbreads done ala menuire. Sage's sweetbreads were more like ala manure- like little charred chestnuts that tasted like dried burned chicken liver. To compound the disaster the sweetbreadss were served on a bed of cold grits. Pardon, Y'all. So much for French cooking. We had wine and shared a desert running the bill up to over $400.00. My guests were not totally enamored with their fare. We would have been better off with takeout from Whole Foods. The waiter was pleasant and apologetic so I left him the full 20%. They fooled me once.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.