We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to university” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 West Gaines Street, Tallahassee, FL 32304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel, close to university”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for the FSU spring game. Great value, even on a busy wknd. The rooms were huge and the kitchen was nice even though we didn't use it. Breakfast in the morning was good and I liked the game room they have. Will definetly be back during the upcoming football season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Brian V,

We were glad to hear you enjoyed our stay with us this past weekend. We are a favorite spot for many of the Noles on the home game weekends. The short walk to Doak Campbell stadium makes it fun for all! It was great to hear that you found our spacious rooms accommodating! Hope to see you this fall.

Best Regards,
Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    41
    16
    14
    12
See reviews for
59
17
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel provided our family with great service and a clean, orderly and pleasant hotel room.
They are located near the FSU campus which was a bonus for us.
We had a room with a kitchenette, stove (no oven) and microwave which allowed us to cook/heat up an Easter meal for 5 students.
This hotel does provide a warm continental breakfast with the normal fare of fruit, cereal, sausage, eggs, grits etc.
The only concern was there was some street construction being performed around the hotel, however, that did not slow us down from coming and going through our visit.
I will return to this hotel in future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Mark C,

We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Many FSU parents call us their home a way from home. It is always a nice treat to provide a home cooked meal for your starving students! We look forward to seeing you often over the next several years.

Warmest Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at near FAMU, FSU, or the Capitol area. You've got free breakfast, wifi, and parking. And even light dinner events at the hotel on M-Th nights. As with most places in the Marriott chain it is new, clean, and comfortable. There was some construction on Gaines so the neighborhood doesnt look the best, but it should improve when the construction is done. If you need to be within 0.5 Miles of FAMU, FSU, or the capitol, stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
SlimP,

Our entire team was excited to hear of your experience at our hotel! We appreciate your patience with the construction as our neighborhood is transformed into the latest Tallahassee cultural and entertainment district! We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the Tallahassee area.

Best Regards,
Keith Hoogerheyde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

You can't beat this hotel for the price. First, it's in a great location (better when the Gaines St contruction is complete). Next, each day there's a wonderful hot breakfast provided as well as an evening social that easily could count as dinner. The room has a kitchen which makes snacking convenient. The exercise room and pool area are decent.
But, if you have someone who will be sleeping on the sofa/bed, forget about it. Sitting on it is a challenge because it is beyond "broken in." It has a definite slant to it. As a bed, it's comical.
A definite place to consider as long as everyone gets a bed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Audet,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience created by the sofa bed in your suite. We appreciate the constructive feedback for our team to improve on our future guest stays. We were glad to hear you were able to relax and recharge with our breakfast and evening social. We looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tallahassee.

Warm Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our room was a 2 bedroom suite that was very spacious and had a great kitchen. Bedrooms and bathrooms were very nice and clean however, the living area furniture was very dated and worn. That's really the only negative. Fantastic outdoor area, pool, hot tub. Also a great breakfast and happy hour every day with heavy horsdeovres, beer and wine, all included in the price of the room. Price is higher than a regular room, but good considering all that was included. Very enjoyable stay and super convenient to FSU.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very close to FSU, but was here for hospital meetings at Tallahassee Memorial, short drive. Rooms are new, nice decor, very clean. LOTS of construction around due to FSU building dorms/etc, street noise not great on that side of hotel. Good breakfast, GREAT staff, very friendly and accomodating. I have some peers staying here for over a month and are loving it. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Not street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
MarkB,

Our team was excited to hear you enjoyed your stay at our location. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Tallahassee area! Please let us know if we may assist you with any questions or concerns.

Warm Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager
850/329-9041 Direct
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for one night while visiting FSU. Very close to the university. Big comfortable room with an outstandingly comfortable bed. Our daughter was happy sleeping in the big fold out in the living room. Really clean and well appointed in all ways. This is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol

Address: 600 West Gaines Street, Tallahassee, FL 32304
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're visiting Florida's capital city for a short stay or extended stay, our Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol is a new hotel with a great location. Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol is situated in downtown near the capitol complex with Florida State University and Florida A&M University. This Residence Inn features spacious accommodations, complimentary area shuttle service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities At The Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.