We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upcoming neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 West Gaines Street, Tallahassee, FL 32304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #20 of 59 hotels in Tallahassee
Toledo
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Upcoming neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very close to FSU, but was here for hospital meetings at Tallahassee Memorial, short drive. Rooms are new, nice decor, very clean. LOTS of construction around due to FSU building dorms/etc, street noise not great on that side of hotel. Good breakfast, GREAT staff, very friendly and accomodating. I have some peers staying here for over a month and are loving it. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Not street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
MarkB,

Our team was excited to hear you enjoyed your stay at our location. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Tallahassee area! Please let us know if we may assist you with any questions or concerns.

Warm Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager
850/329-9041 Direct
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    16
    13
    11
See reviews for
56
17
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for one night while visiting FSU. Very close to the university. Big comfortable room with an outstandingly comfortable bed. Our daughter was happy sleeping in the big fold out in the living room. Really clean and well appointed in all ways. This is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Pros: close to FSU, GREAT breakfast buffet (including hot foods, different each day) large kitchenette, clean. I like the variety of grocery items and ice cream available for purchase. They will grocery shop for you if you leave a list by the front desk by 9 a.m. They have a hospitality time in the evenings from Mon through Thursdays. Very hospitable complex.
Cons; i prefer a softer bed, there is no door to the bathroom sink area, so if two people are in the bathroom at different times, you would wake up the person who is trying to sleep. The shower went from hot to cool at several times during the 3 day stay, (didn't seem to run out of hot water but kept needing to be adjusted) The front desk people were marginally friendly except for the lady when we first checked in on the 21st. She was exceptional.

Room Tip: Request the side away from the trains, or else bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
JoSki32,

Thank you for providing such a great review of our Breakfast and Evening Social Experience. We hope our grocery shopping service helped you rest, relax and recharge while you were staying at our hotel! Please contact my office directly at 850/329-9041 so we may get some additional details to allow our engineering department to look into the water control value issue.

We hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Ketih Hoogerheyde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in the artist section of town and between FSU and FAMU. It's walking distance to the stadium and civic center. Other than a food truck, crepe restaurant and a coffee shop, you'd have to drive to restaurants. The hotel breakfast was quite good. The gym is small and didn't have weight machines, but the overall stay was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Rhonda D!

We were glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at our location. Our neighborhood is undergoing a major transformation. There are a couple of dining choices beyond the mentioned locations and we are looking forward to welcoming many more as the Gaines Street area is becoming a Tallahassee focal point! Thank you for the detailed feedback on our exercise room. We were disappointed to hear the treadmills, elliptical, stair stepper, bike and free weights did not hit your expectations!

We hope to see you soon on your next visit to the Tallahassee area.

Warm Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sincere and helpful staff, fresh and bright decor, good complimentary breakfast and a comfortable bed within easy walking distance to Doak Campbell Stadium, Leon Civic Center and the rest of FSU's campus... Need I say more? Trip Advisor does have a minimum, so let's add: a nice pool, exercise room, pool table in it's own attractive space, and a lobby with a warm fire. There is street noise on the Railroad Ave. side if you're super sensitive. It did not bother us. We had a one bedroom suite. The kitchen was pretty and well equiped. It's well laid out. Neighborhood is upgrading: old warehouses, etc., and construction in the area. The crepe place across the street was very interesting and good. Serves both sweet and savory crepes. I recommend the Russkie crepe.

Room Tip: Sadly, 2 night minimun on football weekends like most area hotels, but I would say the incredible co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We were delighted to hear you found our location so convenient for all the FSU related activities. Our location on the FSU perimeter of the campus makes most all the sporting events with in walking distance! We hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards,
Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel is attractive . Good decor. Check in was a breeze. We stayed on the top floor. We heard the train but it didnt bother us at all. Horn was not as loud as some I've heard. The elevators were speedy, although there was a lubricant scent inside. So perhaps they'd just needed a little oiling all along. Breakfast on the first day was good and although the selection was the same the next day, it was tastier. Better cooks? I actually went back for seconds. Coffee available all day in dining area and there's even a tea station with a selection of teas! Bed was comfortable, rooms are spacious, well designed and attractive. The bathroom sink was slow to empty so I reported it to the desk. When we returned to the room hours later, it was fixed. Parking was fine, even on winter graduation weekend. Wifi was spotty. The library seems best for a good connection. All in all an excellent hotel in Tallahassee in spite of the continuing construction in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The regular rooms are very well appointed; nice wood cabinets and countertops in the kitchen. Flat screen TVs in bed and living area, plus door that separates them. I'd stay here again, though I'd ask for rooms that don't point towards the train tracks. The trains went by at 1:30am and definitely woke me up.

Room Tip: Ask for something as far from the train tracks as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H, Manager at Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
BrooksS,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding you stay at our hotel. Our entire team welcomes the feedback and insight on your experience. The train is several blocks away and does have an erratic schedule, although, mostly during the day with an occasional night run. We apologize for the disturbance. We hope you were able to get out and enjoy some of the new restaurants in our neighborhood! We are very excited about the recent changes and upgrades to our area. Please let us know the next time you are headed to town.
Warm Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol

Address: 600 West Gaines Street, Tallahassee, FL 32304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're visiting Florida's capital city for a short stay or extended stay, our Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol is a new hotel with a great location. Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol is situated in downtown near the capitol complex with Florida State University and Florida A&M University. This Residence Inn features spacious accommodations, complimentary area shuttle service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities At The Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.