We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Blairstone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Overall Great Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

This hotel is in good shape physically; the lobby, elevators, halls, and rooms are fresh-looking and clean.

I had a whirlpool suite, which isn't really a suite because it's all one big room with no separate areas. It was plenty spacious, though, and well-appointed. The bathroom was well-lit, which was a pleasant departure from many hotels, and the shower head was nice and tall. The bed was very comfortable, although the pillows were way too squishy for my taste. High-speed Internet access was free. The air conditioner is the newer kind that doesn't run constantly, and when it cuts off you can hear traffic from the road below. Fortunately the traffic in that area does die down in the evenings, but if you're a sensitive sleeper you may want to bring a small fan for white noise.

The pool was nothing out of the ordinary, but was clean and in good shape.

I ran into a few problems... I had requested a lower-level room away from the elevator, but was given the EXACT opposite: a top-floor room directly beside the elevator. There was a burned-out light over the whirlpool. The safe didn't work (it was an electronic one that displayed an error message on the screen when you tried to lock it). And most annoying, the shower was SCALDING hot. Even on its coolest setting, it was just about unbearable.

I reported these issues on check-out (I was only there one night), and the clerk at the front desk was very apologetic. She credited me back the price of my and my wife's breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was a nice gesture and something I had neither expected nor asked for.

Speaking of the restaurant... It has a combination of a buffet and cook-to-order eggs and waffles for breakfast. The food was good, but quite a bit overpriced (something like $10 or $11 per person).

Overall, I enjoyed the hotel and would stay there again. It's a solid 3 or 3.5-star property.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
27
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The room and indeed the whole hotel was spotlessly clean and well looked after. All of the hotel staff we encountered were extremely freindly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in good location and has all the amenities needed.
We would definitley stay here again

  • Liked — The staff and the cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Like most Garden Inns, this is a great hotel with all of the amenities you need and none of the ones you don't. The thing that struck me about this Garden Inn was the staff. From the front desk to housekeeping they were all incredibly happy and friendly. It's nice when you see that attitude across an entire staff, and in my experience usually points to a good attitude from management (along with good hiring practices).

A tip for those who haven't figured this out about Garden Inn beds - they're adjustable. If you pull back the bottom sheet and expose the corner of the mattress (near the pillows) you'll find a softer/firmer adjustment. It's basically a sleep number bed without the fancy remote control.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

My husband and I have stayed here several times and it always meets our expectations. We come to Tallahassee to visit our daughter twice a semester and I always look for availability in this hotel first. It's new, it's clean and well-managed. And the location is ideal for us. The beds are comfy, parking is plentiful and the front desk people are very pleasant. We have easy access to a computer room on our floor. Have stayed in lots of places around FSU (on home game days you can't be choosy) and this one is my favorite by far!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

....the best I can say is that we had a roof over our heads. The room is far too expensive here for all of the annoyances we put up with. The first morning (Sunday) we were planning to meet family to go to their church and thought we had plenty of time only to find out 30 min. prior to our meeting time that the clock in the room and "fallen back" a week early so it was 10 am instead of 9 am. That night after returning we stopped at the desk for our complimentary nightime cookie. They were out (it was 9 pm) and we were told we had to pay for a bag of Famous Amos if we wanted any. After getting to the room, we saw that the "tp" had not been replenished and had to wait for over 30 minutes for more before we could go to bed....the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable and the light on my side didn't work. I can put up with a few "snafus"but for $179 a night I think our stay should have been less aggravating!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

This was a great weekend. My 2 daughters, ages 10 & 7, and I spent the weekend. We only live about 45 minutes away and needed a get a away. The hotel staff was very pleasant and personable, even with the kids. The hot tub was great, the beds were great, the showers were great, the food was delicious. It was a weekend of relaxation. It is in a great location, less than a mile from the mall, Target, Kmart, and several other little shops and resturaunts. We will be staying there again.

  • Liked — The beds were great and the staff was very pleasant.
  • Disliked — The heated pool needed to be a little warmer.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

We stayed at this property for 4 days while attending a conference. This hotel is new, and in a location that's ideal (mall across the parkway, restaurants closeby, close to both universities). The rooms are quite small. The door to the bath and the room door CANNOT be open at the same time. Each room does have a micro/frig combo. My biggest complaint was not receiving the room type that I requested and having to wait ~3 hours before we could actually go up to our room after checking-in. Customer serivce at this place needs some work.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central

Address: 1330 Blairstone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all of the best places in town, the Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee hotel near FSU is the perfect base to explore all that Florida’s capital has to offer. Ideally situated just minutes from Florida State University (FSU) and Florida A&M (FAMU), and just two miles from the Florida State Capitol complex and downtown Tallahassee, guests will always find plenty to see and do. Relax in a spacious guest room and enjoy a host of high-tech facilities and conveniences. Enjoy free WiFi and sleep well in a Garden Sleep System® bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central Hotel Tallahassee
Hilton Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.