We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andrews was a great choice for college town Saturday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew's Capital Grill & Bar

Andrew's Capital Grill & Bar
228 S Adams St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1733
850-222-3444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 667 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Andrews was a great choice for college town Saturday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had not made specific plans for dinner while in town but the staff at Aloft recommended Andrew's for proximity and casual dining. The burgers were great and the outdoor seating was equally great as it was not too hot! We would dine at Andrew's on any future trip to downtown Tallahassee!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food after long day traveling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for someplace to get a light dinner after traveling all day. We had eaten lunch around 3:00 and were staying in hotel up the street (doubletree), but were looking for something other than food there. We decided to scout the neighborhood and found Andrews.it is actually 2 different restaurants: one sports bar,the other Andrews 228( fancier). We went for the sports bar and had a nice salad for dinner. The waitress was very pleasant and went out of her way please my wife with the wine menu from the other side. We never felt rushed. They also have outdoor seating, but it was 90 degrees at 8 pm. We were definitely impressed by this local eating establishment.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Location & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

First of all, you need to order the Farmer's Burger... it's simply outstanding. Basically, it's heaven on a bun... beef, bacon, cheese, and a sunny side up egg on top. The outdoor seating is perfect under the well lit magnolia trees, with views of the capitol building, and just a good overall feeling in the atmosphere. Cold draft beer, friendly staff, and a cheeseburger in paradise... say no more... go to Andrew's as soon as you arrive in the city of Tallahasee!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ghastly food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Because of its convenient proximity to the State Capitol, from time to time a quick lunch there is inevitable. Circumnavigating through the elbow to elbow crowd gets you to the back wall that offers cafeterial food from foodie hell. My elementary school cafeteria offered more attractive and tasty food. The smell alone would cause my ever hungry lab to turn his nose up. Or you can order plates from the menu named after Tallahassee insiders who the owner sucks up to. Believe me, over the years I have tried darned near everything on the pandering menu and taken no more than two bites from any of it. But if you are a political wannabe who prefers to be seen rather than be fed, this is the place for you. If you crave cold soggy fries, dry hamburgers, lousy service and crowds, come to Andrews. If you can stomach all of the sleazy politicians that the food is named after then you just might be able to stomach Andrew's food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Side, Florida
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Feels As Though Andrews Is Slipping A Bit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stopped in after the lunch rush for burger's and and a Ruben sandwich. The burger was mediocre at best, basic fries, and the Ruben was terrible. Was really close to sending it back, but luckily for the waitress, she disappeared long enough for me to get over it, pay the $70+ bill for four lunches and an appetizer (with water to drink by the way), and say bon' voyage to the Andrews Grill that we had enjoyed in the past. They have a good location and the lack of competition leaves little incentive to serve a consistently great product.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrew's Capital Grill & Bar also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Andrew's Capital Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew's Capital Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.