We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahn Thai Restaurant

Bahn Thai Restaurant
1319 S Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-4308
850-224-4765
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #357 of 619 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Restaurant details
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I love Bahn Thai, it's one of my favorite places to go in Tallahassee. The food is always delicious and the people who own the place are very friendly. The dishes are authentic and are better than the other Thai places in town on a regular basis. I recently took one of my friends who was visiting town from Gainesville here when she was looking for good Asian food in town. I would reccomend this restaraunt to anyone.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwesterner007
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Small family restaurant--some like that, some don't”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is a small authentic family-run restaurant. We had a good experience and found the food to be good, fresh and well-prepared. However, it is small and when we were there, it looked like some of the prep work on the vegetables was being done in sight of the diners. So, some might this as charming and colorful and some might be put off by the informality. I guess it's up to individual taste. We thought it was good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Still my favorite Thai restaurant in Tallahassee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have not been disappointed in 30 years of enjoying their offerings ! From Grad student days on ! Family and friends all agree this is our first choice. Lunch Buffet is always good with varied offerings. Evening meal menu is terrific name your degree of spice and they comply !

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best authentic Thai food in Tallahassee!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Mama Sue has been the proprieter of this restaurant forever. The wonderful flavors in all of her dishes is out of this world! Coconut milk soup; Gulf of Bahn Thai, #104...fantastic!!! I'll be there in a few weeks!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best Thai food in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Ok, I know the atmosphere is not great, but these are real thai people ok. This is the real deal, authentic. Sometimes the service is not good, sometimes you may have to call ahead to order something more expensive on their menu so they have time to get the ingredients, but you will not be disappointed. The food is amazing! I would cry if this place ever went out of business because of stuck up people who are not willing to wait a little bit for absolutely delicious food. Please give it a chance and put up with all the inconveniences to get amazing authentic thai food. I think its worth it.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahn Thai Restaurant also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Bahn Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahn Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.