We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Date Night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reangthai Thai Restaurant

Reangthai Thai Restaurant
2740 Capital Cir NE Ste B, Tallahassee, FL 32308-4130
(850) 386 7898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 619 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Date Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I took my wife here for a surprise Thai dinner while staying overnight in Tallahassee. The restaurant has a formal, romantic atmosphere which is exactly what I was looking for. We ordered the chicken satay appetizer which was hands down the best either one of us has ever eaten! My wife ordered the panang curry, and I ordered the beef Pad Thai. Both dishes were great and had a different twist than what we were used to at other Thai restaurants! For instance, the Pad Thai had larger rice noodles than the typical smaller ones. The service was also outstanding! Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable whenever we asked him questions and ensured we were well taken care of! The price was a little higher than is typical of Thai restaurants, but it was well worth it! This was a great experience, and we look forward to visiting again next time we're in the Tallahassee area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    22
    5
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Really Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place definitely strives to create an upscale atmosphere and match it with service...For the most part, I think they achieve that....wait staff has obviously had some training...nice atmosphere....However, after recently returning from a trip to Greenville S.C. and Asheville, N.C. where we dined on asian food five out of twelve days, I struggle to give this restaurant the accolades of other reviewers. First, other than spring rolls, the appetizers are very pricey...and the spring rolls get a definite average...their house special red snapper at 34.95 may feed two--but for Tallahassee, that's really pricey...I ordered a curry dish "medium" and it was extremely spicey hot...waitress tried to explain that away, but too spicey is too spicey....all in all, nothing to rave about and no reason to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Best Thai I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Thai is my absolute favorite cuisine. As someone who is gluten-free and health conscious (and I love spicy)- Thai specialties allow me the most menu choices. Everywhere I go in the world I always try their Thai. I have compared Reang Thai with other Thai restaurants from Tallahassee to Miami, and most recently all over France. Reang Thai is still the BEST! I've been going there for years and have celebrated my last 3 birthdays there with friends (mention to the staff it's a birthday and the waiter on staff who is also an opera major will sing you the most fabulous "Happy Birthday" EVERRR! The proprietor always comes out to check on your enjoyment and chat awhile...often sending out special tastes of new menu items on the house. The food is always fresh, creatively plated, and evolving. I <3 Reang Thai!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Drive 90 miles to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I live 90 miles from Tallahassee and my girlfriend and I make a special trip every couple of months (would go more often if we had the time) just to eat here. Some of the best Thai food I have had.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD & SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We love to go and share the special which is always fantastic! The atmosphere is casual yet quite and romantic. The service is always the best. Highly recommend this place

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reangthai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Reangthai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reangthai Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.