We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the whole day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science

Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science
3945 Museum Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32310
850-576-1636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Attractions in Tallahassee
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled within 52 acres of flora and fauna, the Tallahassee Museum is an oasis close to the heart of downtown. The Tallahassee Museum features a working 1880s pioneer farmstead, native Florida wildlife habitat (including panthers and red wolves), cypress swamp, Jim Gary's 20th Century Dinosaurs, and the all new Tallahassee Tree to Tree Adventures (an outdoor zip line and adventure course for kids and adults). Come enjoy the great outdoors with us at the Tallahassee Museum- where nature, history, science, and fun come together!
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spend the whole day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We enjoyed our day so much we bought a family membership. We went zip lining and they even had a course for small children. There is an old plantation house with slave quarters, an old farm, a caboose and more. Food was available. Looking forward to attending their events!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    56
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very interesting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The museum is a great destination for a family on a day which is too hot or too cool.
A very friendly man on reception explained about the venue and we spent an enjoyable hour and half exploring the place. Many of the exhibits are interesting to all ages. Children will love the wooly mammoth on display.
A bonus is the free parking for visitors on the car park next door.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unlike Most Museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Tall. Museum is unlike most any other museum I have ever been to. It has a wide range of attractions including nature trails, animals in their natural habitats and area history. Also the musical events scattered throughout the year are always top notch.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Interesting outdoor "museum"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science is not what you think of when you think of a museum. Most of the museum is outdoors in an expansive area that includes a cane plantation village, complete with farm animals and vegetable gardens, hands-on lab buildings for kids, zoo, amphitheater, a historic plantation home and walking trails. There is also a guided canopy (zip line) walk that looked like a lot of fun for the people we saw doing it. This museum covers a lot of bases teaching about North Florida, and does it well. Our group of 4 adults spent a little over two hours in the park. We did not do the canopy walk or see any demonstrations, which might stretch your visit to 3 hours or so.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“AWESOME as well as Educational for ALL AGES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This Museum has been around for years, and we always took our 2 boys there, and were members....they have since grown up, are now in their 30's/40's have kids of their own, and they continue to do the same -- they take their kids to experience the wonderful outdoors, seeing "real Florida" animals, nature, farm buildings, and learning so much. My son who lives in Talla., is now a member, so the tradition continues, as well it should for a great place such as this. This is truly one of Tallahassee's great assets!! Support the Museum!! It is well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science also viewed

 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.