We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny museum that packs a punch in Tallahassee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science

Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science
3945 Museum Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32310
850-576-1636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Attractions in Tallahassee
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled within 52 acres of flora and fauna, the Tallahassee Museum is an oasis close to the heart of downtown. The Tallahassee Museum features a working 1880s pioneer farmstead, native Florida wildlife habitat (including panthers and red wolves), cypress swamp, Jim Gary's 20th Century Dinosaurs, and the all new Tallahassee Tree to Tree Adventures (an outdoor zip line and adventure course for kids and adults). Come enjoy the great outdoors with us at the Tallahassee Museum- where nature, history, science, and fun come together!
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A tiny museum that packs a punch in Tallahassee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently visited this museum that is hidden away from the city a bit. I found it to be an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon. The Zip lines were excellent and the visiting animal exhibit (Tiger) was also good. This museum serves a great purpose in Tallahassee in that it is a tiny outdoor animal sanctuary. Animal lovers as well as plant lovers will find this outdoor trail based museum a hit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    55
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I visited from Fort Myers, and was really impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife was visiting someone in the hospital and I found this place on TripAdvisor. I took my two year old and it was an incredible day. They have an old plantation/slave school and a church that we went through and it was really compelling. Great animal exhibits, and a really cool old timer farm. Really amazing scenic views, and they have a zip line for adults that is going to bring my behind right back to Tallahassee to do it. I couldn't believe how much work they put into a massive zipline obstacle course. They also have a poisonous snake exhibit my son was a little to comfortable looking at. Really fun place to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A place to relax and recharge your mind.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had no idea of what to expect when I went here. This place turned out to be fantastic. The boardwalk is amazing, and to see the native animal in their true habitat is just priceless. The Perky story is just so heartwarming. The old building gives you a great feel of life back then. This is a place you can't miss.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Get Out and See It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nature Trail, Live Alligator, Wolf, Otters, Farm Animals, and for those who think this is only for kids ZIP LINES! C'mon, if you haven't been you are missing out. Take the whole family, friends or whoever and GO NUTS!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great outdoor place with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Went with 7 year old and older parents. Nice historical buildings and some animals in natural habitats. My favorite was the boardwalk through the park with beautiful scenery. The zip line attraction in the park looks great even though we didn't go on it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science also viewed

 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallahassee Museum of History and Natural Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.