We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Southern Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fanny's Garden Cafe

Fanny's Garden Cafe
1600 Miccosukee Road, Tallahassee, FL
850 942 0087
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 679 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: American
Description: Part of The Goodwood Museum, Internet site can be found on Google
Restaurant details
Description: Part of The Goodwood Museum, Internet site can be found on Google
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Secret Southern Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a quaint lunch at Fanny's with a group of southern ladies. Full of southern charm, from the menu and local art to the outside seating. We sat inside because it was August. I ordered the BLT with a fried green tomato. Yum. Everyone's plate looked delicious and was served with a deviled egg and pickled okra. Portions were generous and several saved half for later. I didn't have time to tour the grounds but will soon. Can't believe I've taken so long to discover the place. Would make an excellent tour for out of town visitors. A real taste of the south. I recommend parking near the handicapp spaces ( left at the entrance) to get the full experience. Whoever decided to make people park around to the right was left brained. All practical and no pizazz. And since its so close, drop by the Purple Martin Outpost down The road to complete your garden tour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Locust Fork, Alabama, United States
1 review
“You'll want to steal the chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Upon my recent retirement, a friend invited me to celebrate with lunch at Fanny's Garden Cafe. This restaurant is tucked away on Goodwood Plantation among beautifully maintained gardens and gorgeous old oaks. The food is wonderful, the service was especially attentive with details regarding menu as well as the Plantation itself. I was blessed with other invitations to lunch before leaving Tallahassee and, when asked, I suggested Fanny's each time. What a treat! I wish I had found this little "Tallahassee secret" long before I moved. I highly recommend Fanny's and would suggest planning a long lunch. The place is relaxing and inviting ... you will not want to leave. Do yourself a favor and save room for the brownie pie.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“A great place to have lunch while visiting Goodwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We toured the house and gardens, and had lunch here. Good decision. Not a fancy place, but homey, and the service was courteous and pleasant. Soups and sandwiches are all good, as are the teas and coffees. We had the Pesto Turkey and Chicken Brie as pressed sandwiches. Lots of original art on the walls. The rooms are small (this was a guest cottage on the plantation), so quite intimate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Classic Southern Setting & Hospitality + Delightful Fare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Fanny's is housed in a former guest cottage on an 1800s plantation in the heart of Tallahassee. The setting is lovely year-round. The staff is gracious and well-versed on the menu, which changes a bit from day to day. Fare - primarily sandwiches, quiches, soups and salads - is fresh and imaginative. Servings are generous but, if you have room, desserts are delightful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great spot to catch up with old friends and enjoy a good meal. Peaceful surroundings, relaxed atmosphere. I recommend their chicken salad sandwich with a side of fresh fruit and brownie pie for dessert.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanny's Garden Cafe also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fanny's Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanny's Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.