We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown to your Saves list
Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1027 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Tallahassee
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit apprehensive about our first stay in this cheap chain but we were very happy with it. Great size, clean, quiet, pool looked clean. It's in a fabulous location near downtown. I wouldn't stay anywhere else given the excellent price

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wheressharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Back in Feb I called Motel 6 group sales to set up a group reservation for the Miami/FSU game

I had 20 rooms total

For starters when I checked in I was overcharged for my room, although I did eventually get a small credit back for that.

The reservation was for 2 nights. (11/1 and 11/2) and everybody called individually to reserve their own rooms and hold them on their own CC. As I was on my way into town I began getting calls that they wouldnt let anybody check in until I got there since my name was on the group reservation. I then started to get cals from people saying they were being told that the reservation was for only 1 night and not 2. When I went to check in, I had mt printed email confirm showing it wad for 2 nights, yet Sonya behind the desk still tried to insist that it was only for 1 night.

Later on I went down to the desk and spoke with Tiffany about the rest of our group that was coming in. I gave her the names on the reservations and she verified that she had every one of them in the system. Not an hour later I get a call from somebody saying they were being told they no longer had a reservation.

I went down to the desk to find out what was going on and was confronted by the GM (Will Hill) who accused me of trying to "intimidate" their staff. After speaking with him he admitted that he cancelled the rest of our group rooms because somehow he decided that the reservation was made at the other property they have in town.

We had 16 people who were going to be staying in 4 doubles.....and he did finally agree to give them rooms at no charge.....the problem is that all of the rooms were singles. (16 people in 4 singles)

At 2:15 am I got a text from the other 6 members of our group who were also told that their reservation for 2 rooms was also cancelled. These 6 individuals wound up spending the weekend sleeping in their car.

I have never seen such incompetence and unprofessionalism in my life. The GM told me that having these rooms "blocked" was "costing them business"

Excuse me? If somebody checks in....that room generates revenue. If they dont show up, their card gets charged for not canceling and the room gets resold anyway. That made no sense to me.

Will Hill isnt qualified to run a hotel and his front desk staff tried their best, but clearly need additional training because they certainly were not prepared to handle large groups.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear NJto - We apologize for the reservation issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallahassee hotels

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I only got a room here bc i needed a hotel room for an early 6AM check in that would allow me to stay that entire day until the next morning without charging me the night before or half the night before. The clerk was VERY nice at check in!! I got to the room w my infant son and immediately went to turn the air off bc it was cold. As soon as I flipped the latch open to the AC, about 10 roaches went scattering out!!!! I called right down to the desk and they gave me a refund as well as told me the general manager was coming to inspect the room, yea right they just didn't want me to think I could pull a fast one and stay after getting my refund. I couldn't get outta there fast enough...GROSS.

PS- she did offer a new room, but we all know if one room has them then they all do and I wouldn't subject my baby to that environment, not for $42! Who could sleep after seeing that?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimchi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This is like the third or fourth time I stayed at this location. It is very affordable and the rooms are clean. I had to pay for wireless but is cheap too. Good TV reception, rooms looks in good repair and smelled clean. Highly recommended for the road warrior if your stop is between Downtown Tallahassee and I-10. Close to Chilis and. Shopping malls .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just got back from parents weekend at FSU. The only good thing about this place was the Desk Clerk Tiffany. She was a real sweetheart. I had to go out and buy a spray because the room STUNK. Woke up with a terrible headache and chest was on fire because of the mold. Blasted the A/C and left the door open to see if that would help..NOT!!!!!! I realize for the price I should not expect anything more, but come on.....Not even a blanket. Refused to use their ripped bedspreads so I had to call down for a blanket....Will def spend the money on a better place, but since it was last minute guess I had to settle for what I got..

Room Tip: Room down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aylabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I like Motel 6. I know their rates are cheap and they have decent rooms. The rooms had to be deodorized but I always carry a can of fabreeze with me. Other than that, is a good place to stay after long day driving.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were a bit hesitant to stay here after reading all of the negative reviews online. However, we needed a place to stay in Tallahassee one night after a football game. I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is an older budget hotel. However, the staff was very nice and the room was fairly clean. We saw no bugs or evidence of bugs like so many reviewers had complained of, so they must've addressed that issue. The bed was comfortable. The whole place needs some paint, new carpet, and general upgrades. They do not have free internet or free breakfast as many budget hotels do these days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
#46 of 60 in Tallahassee
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#26 of 60 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tallahassee Capital
0.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
#11 of 60 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown

Address: 1027 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Motel-6, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Tallahassee
Motel Six Tallahassee
Tallahassee Motel Six
Tallahassee Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing