We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you don't need maid service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2997 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Longwood, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you don't need maid service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

After staying at more than a dozen hotels in the Tallahassee area in the past three years, we decided to give the Fairfield on Apalachee Parkway a try based on their comparable rates and proximity to our destination. This was a two day stay and this was not a football weekend!

The hotel was spotless and the lobby area had a fresh and up-to-date look. The desk staff was personable and efficient. We stayed on the second floor and had two rooms facing each other across the hall. The rooms were among the best we've seen in cleanliness and appointments. The beds were comfortable and the AC was mostly unobtrusive. The hotel was very quiet.

This is where things start to come unraveled. Upon arriving in the room, we noticed the TV in one of the rooms was unplugged to both the wall and to the cable box. The TV in the other room was plugged in, but needed to be rebooted. We had to move furniture to reinstall both cable to the box and the plug to the wall. You're probably wondering why I am doing this and not hotel maintenance. Well, when I called the front desk, there was no offer to move me to other rooms, no offer to have hotel maintenance fix the problem, and no follow-up to see if I fixed the problem. Nope, just the front desk telling me to reboot the TV and connect the wires. I guess this is part of Marriott's "self-help" program.

Upon leaving the next morning, we were in town all day and did not return to our rooms until 7pm that evening. We found our rooms untouched by any maid service. No trash pick-up, no towels, no bed made, nothing. I went downstairs to the front desk and the perplexed front desk employee offered nothing more than fresh towels. Once again, the Marriott "self-help" program was put into action.

The shame of this stay is that the hotel was nice, but the service was woefully lacking, which is why it rises to an average rating. I stressed this was not a football weekend because that taxes any staff. I can accept that! But this was simply a case of staff that didn't care or were not communicating with supervision.

There are too many hotels in Tallahassee that want my business for me to try this hotel again if I plan to stay more than one day.

Room Tip: One day stay only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I want to convey my apologies for the issues you encountered during your recent visit at The Fairfield Inn Suites Tallahassee Central, and thank you for taking the time write your concerns. I am deeply sorry for any inconvenience you experienced.

I hope that you give us another opportunity. And return to our beautiful and newest Fairfield Inn Suites by Marriott in Tallahassee Florida, our staff and I will be happy to have you back as our guest and will make every effort to ensure you have a memorable time during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    49
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
56
13
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was nothing more than expected from a Fairfield, and perhaps even a little less than expected. The room was not as clean as it should have been upon arrival. Specifically, the bathroom shower had not been thoroughly cleaned, and the chair in the bedroom had obvious and glaring stains that definitely should have been taken care of before the guests arrived. On a positive note, the a/c in the rooms works very well. The fitness center is open 24 hours but only has 1 elliptical and 2 treadmills (which is basically what one would expect). The water cooler in the fitness center was empty at 6:00 a.m., so obviously no one took the time to check it either that morning or the night before. We did advise the front desk, but it was not refilled before we had left. For some reason, the lights in the fitness center would automatically turn off every 15 minutes, and then turn back on. On the bright side, the breakfast presentation was very nice. The employee who was working and taking care of it was the only one working that morning and she did a wonderful job making sure the tables were cleaned as people left, and the items were refilled as necessary. She was efficient and very pleasant to all the guests. As Fairfield goes, it was an average property and provided an adequate room for the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time this past weekend. It was probably the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. Also, the people were very nice. We had a room with a king bed which was a little small. Next time we will probably get 2 doubles just to have a little more room, but it wasn't a problem. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm simply a visual person. Provided all the service aspects of the hotel are in place (as they were here) I'm going to be looking at my surroundings which in this case were wonderfully vibrant! The blue/green combinations in my room were FRESH!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel, it has to be one of the best hotels I've stayed in and I've stayed in the Marriott, embassy suites, Hilton this hotel is definitely up there with the big name's. I would stay here again the rooms are super clean and the staff was excellent. You get what you pay for and more at the fairfield inn.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from my stay yesterday. It's been a long time since I've stayed at a Fairfield, maybe ten years, so I was impressed to see the updates that have been made by Fairfield. The hotel was clean and modern. The staff at check in, and at breakfast were attentive and helpful. The only thing I would improve on are the towels. I know it seems petty, but everything else was above average, so I guess I expected towels that were thicker, if not larger. I look forward to staying here again when I am forced to Tallahassee...Go Gators!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel while visiting FSU. Both times, the staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast included a variety of fresh choices in a clean environment. They had eggs, biscuits, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, waffles, etc. Overall, the hotel is bright, attractive and clean. I only wish they had more rooms with two beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central

Address: 2997 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a great new hotel in Tallahassee, you'll love the Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee, you're our #1 priority. We promise you'll be satisfied, or we'll make it right. That's our commitment to you. Ask us about the Fairfield 100% Guarantee. Our brand new Tallahassee, FL hotel is near Florida State University (FSU), Florida A&M University (FAMU), and Tallahassee Community College (TCC). Key businesses like Deloitte, HP, Accenture, and Ernst & Young are nearby, and we're just three miles from downtown Tallahassee and the State Capitol. Every room and suite in our hotel features free Wi-Fi and high-speed wired Internet access, a 32" flat-screen HD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, spacious work desk, and one king or two queen size beds. Suites also offer sofas - as well as extra space and privacy. Start your day with a complimentary HOT breakfast scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, muffins, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.