We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction but would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1653 Raymond Diehl Road, Tallahassee, FL 32308 (Formerly Cabot Lodge Tallahassee)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Under construction but would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed at this hotel for the first time. I travel to Tallahassee frequently but have never stayed here. The hotel is currently under construction so the lobby was devoid of chairs and frankly...everything. The check in clerk was nice but did not tell me about the free breakfast - I had to find that out later in the evening. The halls certainly show signs of wear but the room was a nice surprise and clean as a whistle. This room was very economical and within walking distance of a Village Inn, McDonalds, and Steak and Shake. The gentleman at the front desk in the evening was exceptionally nice and I am most pleased with my room. I will definitely stay here on my next visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We are so happy to hear you had a nice stay during our renovation. We are pleased to hear you will return in the future as well. We are excited to share with you our NEW look and feel in the near future as we convert into a Holiday Inn Express in the fall. Thank you for your review, but most of all your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
6
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Springs, Mo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way through. They are currently under construction but it honestly doesn't affect your stay. It will be beautiful when they are finished. The room was spacious and clean. Beds were a bit creaky but we slept fine. We did not eat the breakfast- in a hurry to get back on the road.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We appreciate your time to let us and others know you had a nice stay. We can not wait for you to return and see the finished product. We value you and your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

When I made my reservation for this hotel I did not know that it was under construction. I didn't find that out until after I had made my reservations.
I then learned that it was under construction but was reassured that all was well, just the lobby was under construction.
The first room that they gave us had dirty towels all over the place when we entered the room. The second room was musty smelling. The carpets in the halls were dirty, there were even room signs on the floor of the hall.
We were not there 15 minutes before we checked out. I lost a lot of money, but this place was totally UNACCEPTABLE !!!
I've stayed at less expensive hotels that were nicer than this. No wonder the parking lot was empty.
Save yourself the trouble .... Stay at a different hotel.
I will never go there again, even when it is turned over to Holiday Inn. The turnover should have been handled better.
They've gotten all the money they will ever get out of me.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we were not able to meet your expectations during our full renovation. We will bring this information back to our corporate team to make strides to ensure our guest have a pleasant stay during this construction phase. We do hope you will give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional stay once we are done with this conversion this fall. We value you and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I am very disappointed about my experience this weekend. I agree with all the previous negative comments. What ever brand you are under my confidence that we will have a good experience has been very tarnished. Your staff is only process focused and not guest focused. It is not the idea of renovation but lack of respect for your clients. I will not book this property in future and do not recommend anyone book this hotel now or when renovations are completed. Holiday Inn Express has been an excellent brand choice during our past trips. I understand remodeling at some point is necessary. I spent thirty five years in the services industry. The right approach I believe to have satisfied current clients and build guest loyalty, would have been to identify remodeling to us via registration or your web site. In my way of thinking you have misled us about your property.

Prior to my retirement during many business trips to Tallahassee area, unless you were booked, I always stayed at this property. The amenities and staff were excellent in the past.

One evening the elevator was out of order (no sign, you had to find out for yourself). I interrupted the front desk staffer while he was making small talk with a guest that checked in with me the day before. His response was repair had been called. I understand he probably was not an elevator repair person. I think he could have made an effort to assist the assist elderly lady with her two carry two hand bags up to her third floor room. I did! He just stood behind counter and carried on his conversation with other guest ! She had been stranding waiting for elevator before me.

When I walked down for breakfast, there were several members of a sports team being ejected from breakfast area by desk staff and shut the door to breakfast area. He stated that breakfast on weekends started at 0700. Your web site states 0630.

And please do not give me a standard staff edited response.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your comments and concerns. As you mentioned our staff, we still have the same staff from your previous stays, so I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Our website does stat we are under renovations, so we apologize you were not able to review this prior to your arrival.
As I am sure you know older hotels tend to require much more of a "face lift" as we move forward to bring you and future guest a brand new product, so sometimes we experience growing pains during this construction phase.
We do hope you will allow us another chance to give you an exceptional stay in the near future once our full renovation is complete. We appreciate you and your business. Thank you for your time to post about your experience as we will address your concerns with our staff to ensure they meet the costumer service aspect during this transition in becoming a new brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, georgia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed one night this past weekend to attend a sporting event with my son. I can understand construction but it seems they could make a little of an effort to clean up after themselves. In addition to the lobby being complete torn to pieces, the elevators could use a daily cleaning after they are done for the day. I felt nasty by the time I made it to my room. I hope I did not get a renovated room however I did have a mini fridge and microwave so I am thinking I did. The ceiling in the bathroom was patched but not painted. The mattress is the most awful thing I have ever slept on, you could feel and hear the springs just sitting on it, I could not wait to get out of bed in the morning. Breakfast was a joke, I guess because of the renovations they are having it in a tiny crowded room and the food was disgusting. The only perk was it was close to where I needed to be and the lady at the front desk was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your business during our renovation to become a Holiday Inn Express this fall. We plan to give the entire hotel a full makeover in the next few months to better serve our guest. We hope you will return this fall to see the finished product. We appreciate you and your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Everything about my stay here was awful. I was staying as part of a wedding party and from the get go things just went wrong.

From the DEMOLISHED lobby (I hope you love the smell of paint and floor stripper! Because that is what all of my clothes and hair smell like. The fumes were unbearable), to the maid service just walking in WITHOUT knocking at 8am, to the Staff not only being supremely unhelpful to actually BLAMING the bride for THEIR lack of knowledge and information, this place is a joke.

I was told they had "no idea they were doing this type of construction until the workers showed up and started ripping up the floor" Which is crap. There is no way the TOTAL renovation that is going on was "just found out about" This type of contract takes MONTHS to plan, organize, and then execute.

Besides the lobby NOT EXISTING, the elevators are full of dust and debris from the workers constantly using them, there are no baseboards on the hallways so they look unfinished and tacky, and you best not even bump the walls because you'll get paint and drywall dust all over you.

I was lucky enough to have one of the few "complete" rooms (with both a microwave and a mini fridge) but most of the wedding party had one or the other or none at all. One of the rooms even had a completely cracked toilet seat.

Thank goodness we were smart enough to move venues for getting the bridesmaids and bride ready because if we had gotten ready at this hotel ALL of our dresses, shoes, hair, etc would have been ruined.

Even after all the construction problems (Including not even being able to use the pool because the only way to get to it was blocked off by construction) the worst part was the staff. They flat out lied about the construction and did nothing to help make things more comfortable for our party. It went so far as the manager legitimately RUNNING and HIDING from us when we came to talk about things. We saw her dash in the back room as soon as we stepped off the elevator and were then told "Oh she's on a conference call and will be for a very long time...." That type of behavior is just unacceptable.

The cherry on the top of this horrible sundae was being OVER CHARGED at checkout. Our party was supposed to be paying $79/night for 3 nights, plus tax. I was charged (and it was processed and went THROUGH my bank) $326.64.... In NO WAY does that come out right. I was assured it was only "incidentals" and that it would be "returned within 5 business days" but either way it was still charged wrong and the front desk did NOTHING to help correct it.

Coming on here and reading all of the reviews, some from WEEKS ago, This just confirms that they were straight up lying to our faces about construction. $79 a night is still way too expensive for this type of construction and even more so for being disrespected so much by the staff.

All in all this hotel should just be avoided until it becomes a Holiday Inn Express this fall. And hopefully by then they will have cleaned house on the staff (I have already contacted Corporate about this behavior) and will put better effort into customer service. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again and neither should you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you and your business. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your travel expectations during our renovation process. We do hope you will allow us to host you and provide an exceptional stay when we raise our flag as the new Holiday Inn Express this fall. We always want every guest to arrive and depart happy. We will address your concerns with our team to better assist our future guest during our construction phase. We look forward to seeing you in the near future~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoy visiting under construction hotels so when I got to the cabot lodge you can imagine my enthusiasm. The room came standard with a window to look out, it also included 4 walls and limited edition custom upholstery. I didn't plan on sleeping because I had so many construction features to see so comfort was not important to me. I was able to check out the studs, take Sheetrock samples and even got to witness a masonry demonstration. As a bonus I also got to hone my janatorial skills and got a merit badge in cloroxing level 3. Overall I couldn't have asked for a better stay and recommend a stay to my fellow construction hobbyists.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your enjoyable review. We hope you will consider returning when our full renovation is complete and we become the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East

Address: 1653 Raymond Diehl Road, Tallahassee, FL 32308 (Formerly Cabot Lodge Tallahassee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into our fresh, modern, clean rooms with microwaves and refrigerators! A new look with modern inviting features and amenities awaits you each morning with a delicious complimentary breakfast. Enjoy everything from pancakes, sausage, eggs, and biscuits, to hot & cold cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, and, of course, our signature cinnamon rolls, not to mention coffee tea and juice. You can also check your morning e-mail with complimentary Wi-Fi in our business center and the day's headlines in your free morning papers. We now have an on-site fitness center to get your daily exercise while on the road. Every guest room now has a mini-fridge and microwave. Forgot something, we have it in our sundry shop. Holiday Inn Express...Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Lodge Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
Cabot Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.