We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the burger...would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Brothers Bar and Grill

Wells Brothers Bar and Grill
1710 West Tharpe Street, Tallahassee, FL 32303
850-942-6665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 666 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bellaire, Texas
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the burger...would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I ate here last night while we were travelling. The place was great for us. It was very casual and comfortable. I had a burger and my wife had a chicken wrap. The ingredients in both were fresh and prepared well. My burger was like a home made burger--big and juicy. The service was good and the prices were reasonable. I would recommend it and would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    47
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, IL
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“great college burger joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were in town for my son to visit the university, and asked for a place the students would go. It was super crowded (which always bodes well for the food). The servers were friendly and informative. The burgers (including the lipsmacker peanut and jelly burger and the california burger) were as good as advertized, and the wings were excellent. They featured a good variety of beer. It was super casual, just what we were looking for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimham1
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not as good as expected...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After the rave reviews for the best burger in town, my husband and I wanted to check out Monk's. Unfortunately we were underwhelmed! The waitress was very helpful and offered her suggestions including what I ordered, the Ad Burger with black beans, fried egg, Cajun mayo, lettuce and tomato. We ordered our burgers Medium, but the meat was VERY rare and cold. The buttered Texas Toast was a nice touch, however my bread was soggy from the juice from my fruit salad side dish. (A cup for the fruit would solve that problem.) The sweet potato fries were cold, otherwise they would have been good. All in all, the service was fine, the burger meat tasty, but I would definitely say this was not my favorite burger in town!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My daughter and I ate here during move in at FSU. Burgers are great, portions are large! sweet potato fries were best I have ever eaten. The waiter recommended the Lip smacker. This is for the adventurous...it is a burger with bacon, peanut butter & jelly! Sounds gross but my dtr tried it...I sneaked a bite and it was very good. She loved it and has since visited in jan 2013 and ordered again. A Tallahassee favorite!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delicious burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is one of the few truly good restaurants in Tallahassee. Their burgers are fresh made from high quality beef and served with delicious complements to form unique and delicious burgers. Their meat is actually good on its own accord; which is so rare in today's fast food world, and requires no mask to make it tolerable. I adore the ad burger yet anxiously await my next visit so I can try some more of their best in city burgers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Brothers Bar and Grill also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Wells Brothers Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells Brothers Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.