We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Brothers Bar and Grill

Wells Brothers Bar and Grill
1710 West Tharpe Street, Tallahassee, FL 32303
850-942-6665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 679 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

simple, well done, to the point. Great variety of burgers. Also, you can build your own. The sweet potato fries are very good. Service is slow, but they tell you beforehand that they have a small kitchen and orders take a bit of time. It wasn't that bad. The only problem i had eating there was the really bad ventilation. To top it off, somehow there was an electricity outage and it became a lot worse.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    52
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

On a summer trip with the family and looked on TA to find a place to eat. We selected Monk's and boy, what a gem! Do not let the outside stop you, the food, staff and ice cold drinkks are awesome. We have burgers, ruben, salad and nachos. Everything came as requested, cooked to perfection and fresh, fresh, fresh.

Our waitress was great, she helped us move from outside on the patio to inside at a table, without any trouble. The place was packed, so enjoy a cold one your table will be available soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Small place but huge and inventive burgers! Service is good and there is music on the back deck.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fab Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Killer sweet potato fries, fine salads and pizza. I'm vegetarian and there are CHOICES instead of one possibility. Prices are very friendly too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Burgers for hipsters and foodies alike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a classic, college burger joint that has been serving up the best comfort food in town for years. Monk's serves up uniquely topped burgers and pitchers of your favorite brew and is sure to please.

The Good:
- I Haven't found a burger that I didn't like (including their veggie burger!)
- Food comes out quick and is fresh.
- Decent beer selection.

The Downsides:
- Their appetizers are underwhelming. I tried the artichoke dip (usually a safe choice at restaurants) and found it over-spiced with lemon and pepper. It was quite inedible.
- Service can be VERY slow on busy days (Then again, I don't come to Monk's for the service)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Brothers Bar and Grill also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Wells Brothers Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells Brothers Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.