We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Tallahassee

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Tallahassee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2815 Lakeshore Drive West, Tallahassee, FL 32312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 59 hotels in Tallahassee
starkville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Disney World. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was really friendly. We had our dogs with us and they were welcomed as well, but you would not even know that dogs were allowed. A great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    40
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
25
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Well I just wanted to compliment you and your staff on a well run establishment. My husband and I stayed at the Tallahassee FL location and had a great stay. Your staff was always friendly and very helpful even looking up the location and street address of the nearest Gold's gym (which was free to your guests..an awesome amenity!)

I just wanted to stress that I would rate your hotel a 10 on cleanliness, friendliness, location and overall satisfaction!

I hope to stay here again soon when we travel from Massachusetts to visit our daughter who lives and works in Tallahassee.

Thanks again
Janice Ryan
Westford MA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Needed a place to stop for the night that was dog friendly and would accept a 70 lb Lab. Loved it. The suite design was well thought out and will provide a very comfortable longer stay. Very nice full kitchen set up, bathroom, small office area and sleeping quarters. I will certainly look for the Candelwood Suites chain for future trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

What a beautiful property! My family and I stayed for an entire weekend and the staff made us feel like family. The Cupboard was perfect for a late night snack and we were so pleased with the full kitchen in the room. It's perfect for a one or two night stay, or a long term stay. We will definitely be back to the hotel. Thanks to the housekeeping staff for a beautiful room that was very clean! Candlewood Suites Tallahassee is great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Room wasn't clean when we arrived - there was food in the microwave and hair on the tub. Hot water was only momentary. Pool was overtaken by locals using the hotel's barbecue grill and peeing on the side of the building on the parking lot side in plain view in the middle of the day. I probably would never let my kid swim in it. It's tiny anyway. There were always rough looking people sitting in the lobby watching TV, all times of day and night. We smelled cigarette smoke in the hallways even though there is a sign at the front desk saying it's a smoke free facility. The people above us were partying all night, we could hear them yelling, dropping hard objects on the floor and rolling something back and forth across the floor. There is no restaurant in the hotel, and not even a continental breakfast. For what we paid we should have gone to the Red Roof Inn across the street next to Cracker Barrel. I'd stick to business trips for this place.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere for this price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Tallahassee, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear ParentTripper,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Kindly be assured that all your comments is being reviewed and actions will be taken accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When we arrived, the front desk clerk was attentive and checked us in. Later, when we needed an extra blanket, because we had 5 in our group with no way to sleep 5, even though they allow you to book with 5..., she was on the phone with another staff member talking about some worthless work related gossip instead of putting this coworker on hold to help me. Everything was clean, and they did allow our pet for just $25 more per night, so all-in-all, I was happy. We stayed one night each way on a trip from the Houston area to the Florida Keys. Other encounters with staff were very good, so I'll just chalk that up to an anomaly. The place has a pool, but it is not heated and not very well maintained in the off months.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As they say - first impression is lasting! During our first stay at this hotel in September 2012, I was really impressed because of the front-desk person's very pleasant, very courteous and focused demeanor. This was the reason why we decided to stay in at this hotel again this February.

Well, the expectation was sort off shattered. We did not get the same reception, not a discourteous one though, from the front-desk clerk but it was a very bland, matter-of-fact reception. I also had to get her attention because she was chatting with another hotel staff. (This experience made me ask for Detroit, the front desk person who greeted us during our very first visit to the hotel.) I guess first impression makes all the difference in your subsequent outlook on your hotel stay.

The room was clean, but not as fresh-smelling as I remember from our first stay. The room also seemed smaller and the dishes were not complete. The beds looked the same. I am guessing we were placed at an older wing of the hotel this time, as opposed to where we had our room last September, which was probably the newer wing.

By and large, it was still a pleasant stay but not as pleasant as when Detroit was there to greet us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Tallahassee, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear L0la3,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us again. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the front desk staff. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Tallahassee you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Tallahassee

Address: 2815 Lakeshore Drive West, Tallahassee, FL 32312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
#11 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
#13 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Tallahassee 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Tallahassee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.