We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
1641 West Pensacola Street, Tallahassee, FL 32304
850-575-0050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 667 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Aventura, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Not being from N. Florida, this restaurant was picked for us for lunch. We were up there for a graduation and spent a wonderful weekend. Everyone enjoyed it. The service was good. The food was good and we all had a good time. Who could ask for anything more. We all left happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Had a delicious olive tapanade appetizer. I had a steak and cheese and my son had the shrimp hoagie. Both were yummy. Very good bread!!! Would definitely return here when we visit tallahassee again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved their pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Came to Tallahassee for the last FSU home football game of 2013 season and were looking for a place to eat pizza before the game. Our friends daughter is a student and said we had to try the Mellow Mushroom. We just loved their pizza. Tasty dough. From the puffy garlic parm crust ends to the thin perfectly cooked bottom. Nice selection of topping too. Would recommend this place for sure. We loved this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Always a good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have been to the Mellow Mushroom twice and the food is always good. You can tell the ingredients are fresh and good quality and the service has always been pleasant. It is a little more expensive than your franchise places but it is worth it. My husband really likes the calzones and the kids of course love the pizza. My favorite is the Mystery Tour with pesto, feta, mozzarella, mushrooms, spinach, and jalapeños. It is so good and a definite must try, especially if you like spicy food. Mellow Mushroom is one of our new favorite places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love the Mellow.. no matter the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've been to what we fondly call "The 'Shroom" in multiples cities and states over the last twenty years - starting with the original in Atlanta in the early '90s.

No matter the city or location, this place never fails to disappoint.

I see that people are commenting on it's 'pricey'.. of course it is! The ingredients that are used are high quality. Fresh mozzarella costs more than pre shredded junk, fresh veggies and select meats aren't cheap. If you want cheap pizza.. go to Pizza Hut or Domino's. If you want quality - try Mellow Mushroom.

This place also has great options besides pizza too.. if you're a first timer, in addition to pizza, try the Greek salad with the Signature Esperanza dressing (tip, save some dressing for the pizza crust for dipping). You'll be hooked!

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.