We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wildlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marks Lighthouse

St. Marks Lighthouse
Tallahassee, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 Attractions in Tallahassee
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 80-foot tower features a giant reflector lens and is the perfect spot for weddings.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great drive to take from Tallahassee one weekend day or early afternoon. The park is expansive and is filled with lots of different birds and plenty of alligators! A great place to pack a lunch and a blanket for a picnic! Try and stay for the sunset on the Gulf, you wont regret it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Allow time to stop along the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We drove to St Marks Lighthouse, as we had about 90 minutes to kill before an event at FSU. I wish we had more time to really enjoy St Marks. The lighthouse is at the end of a 6 mile road after you pass the toll booth ($5 for car). There are ponds on either side of the road, and we saw a small alligator on the side of one of them. The lighthouse is not open, and it was a cold, very windy day, so we snapped a few photos and then hustled back into the shelter of our car. The lighthouse is in a very pretty spot, with no other civilization for 50 miles either direction along the coast. We were glad we took the drive to St Marks lighthouse, but wish we had allowed more time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great wildlife...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When we go here we something different everytime. The wildlife is abundant, we've seen alligators, horseshoe crabs, dolphins, a baby shark, blow fish, pelicans and many more animals...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Old lighthouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The lighthouse is not open so we could go in.The lighthouse is right on the Gulf of Mexico in St. Mark's Wildlife Refuge. The scenery there is beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I bring all my out of town guests here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Buy a Duck Stamp for year round access. Something new every couple of months. Paddle the ponds, hike the trails, bike the access road.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Marks Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to St. Marks Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Marks Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.