We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town on business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Tallahassee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added aloft Tallahassee Downtown to your Saves list
aloft Tallahassee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Tallahassee
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“In town on business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Room was efficient and okay since I was in it by myself, but would not stay if others were going to be in the room with me. Bathroom space was not well lit and would get crowded with 2 or more people. Plus side is that it is one of the few hotels that have enough outlets for connectivity. I had plenty of places to plug in all my electronics. Room was quiet, breakfast was not many options and fairly expensive for what was offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Susan S,

One of the great things about Aloft Hotel's is that we are very computer friendly. Thank you for sharing!

Patsy Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    101
    41
    23
    13
See reviews for
80
48
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I just stayed there and honestly, I don't understand how in the world they are rated higher than a two...maybe a 2 1/2 if you get a really clean room.

If someone "referred" you to stay here...then maybe you should take a close look at how you're treating this person...probably not so good.

Definitely "dorm style" room...none of the "niceties" that a hotel would have, gray walls, gray carpet, no pictures. No closets, no drawers, no covering to hide sink pipes. No table.. but shelfs & a chair. Had shelving & curtain for clothes.

Cheap rough towels (and only bare minimum), cheap toilet paper, bar of soap not replaced daily. Shared shampoo & wash dispenser...anybody could put something in them.
Roll-up blinds/shades did not keep out the light at night and the noise very loud. Motorcycles and sirens going all night long.

Guess owners were thinking if you slap a flat-screen tv on the wall and get a bowl sink it makes up for the "cheapness"???

Housekeeping needs improved...2nd night only towels replaced...no vacuuming, I replaced toiletpaper myself, coffeepot not cleaned, counter not wiped, paper on floor.
I would definitely recommend to someone I dislike.

FYI....girls at front desk were incredibly nice, friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: No tips here....Unless you're a student you should probably look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear lovetheempress,

Thank you for sharing that my staff at the desk was helpful. I am sorry you did not like our hotel layout. We are different, and try to meet everyone's needs. Please try our sister brand Four Points.

Thanks Patsy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay. Was referred by a few people and glad that I decided to give it a try. Great that the hotel is pet friendly, and provided a bed and treats for my pooch. Not sure if it was just luck, but the other guests' pets were very well behaved too...didn't hear any barking or see any "accidents" on the property. The staff was wonderful. They provided directions and restaurant suggestions, and answered our questions at any time of the day. Was also able to use the hotel shuttle to visit a few places nearby. The room was very comfortable and neat. Yes, a bit trendy, but that's there thing, so I went with it. :-) Appreciated that we were rewarded for being GREEN...the hotel provides a voucher for each night that you don't request new linens. Pretty cool. Food at the xyz was very tasty. My only suggestions for improvement: the gym equipment iPod connections need to be repaired; wish there was a complimentary continental breakfast, not just free coffee and tea; the $5 nightly parking fee is annoying but not the end of the world. I definitely plan to return this summer. I loved it.

Room Tip: Request a "pool-facing" room so you avoid the noise on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear EmOhCee,

I love our hotel too!

Thanks !

Patsy Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Aloft Tallahassee several times while visiting FSU and every stay has been outstanding. The location is ideal, walking distance to downtown as well as the stadium. The staff is always helpful and pleasant,and the lobby and bar area is a great place to relax and hang out. I recommend this property to everyone I know travelling to Tallahassee and will continue to stay there every time I visit!

Room Tip: rooms on the inside allow for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Shelby :)

The Aloft Hotel is my favorite place in Tallahassee too! Thank you so much Shelby. My team and I really appreciate you writing about your experience at the Aloft Hotel Downtown. See you soon!

Patsy Pagan
patsy.pagan@alofthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Aloft Hotel, a Starwood Brand Hotel that I stay while on business in Downtown, Tallahassee, Florida offers great hospitality. Their front desk staff is empowered to make decissions and offer the guest exceptional service. Their bar service with food and drinks is superb. Mangement is in the lobby each morning meeting and greeting guests making sure their night's stay was as expected.
I have continued to stay here for the last six months. if you like collecting extra points for each day,
of your stay sign up for their go-green program you get either $5 cash coupon to spend at thier lobby
shop or you get the equivalent in points.

Room Tip: Prefer the inner rooms facing the parking lot and pool. Less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Britobagh,

I really appreciate you noticing the hard work my team puts into service at the Aloft Hotel. We work great as a team and love to hear feedback from guest like you! We wait for your return and again, many thanks!

Patsy Pagan
patsy.pagan@alofthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff made this hotel, every single person we worked was friendly, accommodating and a pleasure! The room was clean and functional and served its purpose. The location is in the center of it all. Great stay and time spent with family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Ldenta,

We are first happy that you could stay with us during graduation! FSU and FAMU graduations are so much fun! Exciting time for everyone.

If you have another graduate, please come back to stay with us.

Patsy Pagan
patsy.pagan@alofthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

What more can you expect as a business traveler, a modern hotel with great staff, super clean, wonderful amenities and all within a short distance by car, taxi, on foot or hotel shuttle to Florida's seat of government in Tallahassee. A must stay hotel for the discriminating business traveler or those just looking for a great hotel at a great value. Will stay again and again at ALoft.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear BVitas,

We love the business traveler. We fit your needs and enjoy providing clean, fresh & savvy environment to work in!

Thank you for sharing !

Patsy Pagan
patsy.pagan@alofthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Tallahassee Downtown

Address: 200 North Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
#15 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Tallahassee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your aloft Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Tallahassee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.