We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some liked it and some did not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Tallahassee Downtown

Save Saved
You added aloft Tallahassee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
aloft Tallahassee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 59 hotels in Tallahassee
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“some liked it and some did not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We booked a block of rooms for a wedding and we found the hotel to be clean and neat, but heard a lot of negative things from friends and relatives regarding the accommodation. First, I would like to compliment the sales manager and marketing manager for their excellent help in helping me with all the prior arrangements. They were extremely helpful.
Many guests were disappointed that there are no closets and it was too small and sparse. It reminded me of hotels in Europe, so it did not bother me.
The bar was a HUGE problem...drinks were outrageously high, the bar closed so early (12:00)

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel for someone with small children. My daughter had a 3 yr. old and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
CMCK,

I do thank you for sharing your comments and hope more like us!

At your service.

Patsy M. Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    92
    40
    21
    13
See reviews for
75
43
21
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, CT
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at the aloft in Tallahassee, a chain we were unfamiliar with, but will now seek out. The contemporary look was fabulous, and we not only enjoyed our unique room and layout, but the staff was outstanding as well. As first time visitors to Tallahassee, we took advantage of the front desk staff for all our travel information needs, and the shuttle service they provided around the vicinity. We could not have been happier with the two young ladies who provided most of the info and assistance, Grace and Ashlin, as they were so helpful in making our stay so enjoyable. If our travels take us to FSU or Tallahassee again, we will surely return and recommend others to do the same.

Room Tip: Read the reviews to prepare yourself to the unique design if you have not done so as yet. We were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
MeridenTW,

Awesome Awesome read about your stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share!

Many Many thanks,

Patsy M. Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was our first overnight trip to Tallahassee and we picked the Aloft because we had stayed in others in other cities. It was great! Comfortable room with great bed. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. Can't beat the location for FSU and downtown capitol access. Will stay there whenever we go to Tallahassee!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
CHKMBK,

We do have a great location! I love that you can walk to so many places and enjoy the beautiful Florida Sunshine!

We hope to see you soon!

Patsy M. Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This was our first visit to Aloft and we absolutley loved it! We were going to visit FSU with our son.I had gone onto trip advisor and read the reviews and was excited to book our room. Every hotel should be like this. You have so much room in the bathroom with a nice long vanity. The sink looks good, but it really makes a mess when you use it. I love, love the shower stall. It is really large and the shower head is actually well above your head, unlike most hotels where you have to bend down because the shower head is too low.It is exactly what I wanted instead of the usual tub/shower with those gross shower curtains. There is a mirrored pocket door instead of the regular door to close off the toilet area. This was great because when the door is closed, you have a full length mirror right there! The beds were very comfortable ( I have a bad back and this is really important criteria for me ) and it was nice to have so much room and window shades that actually keep out the light. There is a small chaise to sit on too. The television is a little too high on the wall so when you are in the bed watching television, it's not the best view, but we weren't in the room very long. We had 2 rooms and both were very clean. We booked the rooms on the Call Street pool view on the 5th floor. You could still hear the noise from some of the traffice below, but it was much quiter than on the main street side. I loved everything about his hotel. You can have a quick light breakfast made for you ( english muffin sandwiches etc.) and receive complimentary coffee. We ended up checking out before our 2nd night since we were done with our visit to FSU and we didn't decide this until 2:30 p.m. We asked if we could check out early, even after the cleaning people had cleaned our room and it was not problem. We were not charged to check out 2 1/2 hours after the check out time. I really thought this was nice. We did give the cleaning ladies a nice tip since they had to go back into the same room again after we check out though. All in all, this is an awesome place to stay and is extremely close to FSU campus. If you like the sleek designs of Ikea and are a GREEN person, this is the place for you. They even have recycling bins in the rooms. We are going back in June and then in August to bring our son to FSU for schoool and have the rooms booked again already.

Room Tip: Stay on the 7th floor on the Call Street side with the pool view to lessen the noise from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments!!!! We wait for your return.

Patsy M. Pagán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Great beds and pillows. Staff was very helpful and friendly - at all times, not just when checking in. Nice to have free bottled water in the room. All the amenities were good and the bar was a great place for some of my group to gather before dinner. They need to "amp up" the Continental breakfast and de-emphasize the purchased items (which weren't all that great) to be more competitive with Hyatt House and others in this range. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
WOW, awesome comments!

Come back soon!


Patsy M. Pagán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake mary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

checked in by Angelique- had my reservation ready , fast , friendly , knownledgable about the area .CLean with large gym for a small hotel . We will stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
GREAT NEWS!!!! Thank you and we wait for your return:)


Patsy Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

I'm not an old geezer but I was never able to warm up to the W concept of "cool" hotels. The aloft is unmistakeably a member of the W family but its somewhat toned down approach works much better for me. The room was clean, decently sized, and had good amenities. Considering that other hotel chains charge you extra for it, the two bottles of water provided free in your room were a nice touch.

Why only three stars? If you're on the street side (like we were) the noise from very busy Monroe St is very pronounced. Better insulated windows or thicker shades would make a huge difference. The other irritation was the wireless network. It's free (the way it should be and so it's hard to complain about it) but despite "four bars" for some reason the speed of the network was unbearably slow.

I had a pretty good rate, so all in all I was not unhappy with my stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Mix579,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aloft Hotel Downtown Tallahassee! I agree with you, free bottle water in the room is a nice touch!

Hope we see you soon!

Patsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to aloft Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Tallahassee Downtown

Address: 200 North Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
#18 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Tallahassee Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your aloft Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown Hotel Tallahassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Tallahassee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.